We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunset Cruise on the Waikiki Rigger!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Rigger

Waikiki Rigger
2161 Kalia Road, Between the Waikiki Shore and the Halekulani Hotel, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Outrigger Catamaran) (Waikiki)
(808) 922-2210
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #81 of 295 Activities in Honolulu
Type: Boat Tours
Attraction Details
Monroe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Sunset Cruise on the Waikiki Rigger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My hubby and I had a terrific time, the Captain and his First Mate, Chris, were really friendly. They played 70s and 80s music and the drinks were free for the Sunset Cruise. For $5 you can buy a nice sized acrylic shaker mug, filled with their own delicious concoction (YUM!). My mug was never empty the whole cruise...Chris was really attentive to all the passengers beverage requests. You won't need shoes or sandals...they are kept in a tub while on the sail and you get them back upon arriving back on shore. Captain is timely about starting the sail, and he called out some flyboys for being late ;) I agree that you can expect to get wet, so don't wear your good clothes! It was super easy to book online, you'll receive a confirmation email shortly thereafter. You can also get your picture taken and for $15 they will have it printed and in a paper frame ready when you get back. We really liked our picture, the photographer did a good job, so we actually purchased ours. We recommend that you try the Waikiki Rigger!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    21
    5
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Expect to get wet!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Fun time on the Cat. We went out on a sunny afternoon and had a blast. There was not alot of people so we were free to move around. From sitting on the mesh and getting soaked to standing on the side and enjoying the view, with the music cranked up, it was a great time.

Cocktails were resonable $8 for a big rum drink and $3 for a wine

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Do it. You will love it. Return visitors get a 10% discount. Absolutely a fantastic experience. Out with the winds pushing you past Diamond Head and enjoying a cocktail. Where else would you want to be. One of the main highlights of our visit to Waikiki. Brilliant

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“more than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

we took the 10am 2.5 hour snorkel sail this week and were pleasantly surprised but how much we enjoyed it. We used to sail ourselves so going on a group toruist sail was not my husband's idea of a good time but he was the first to say what a great time he had! Capt Mike can be thought of as gruff but i think he's actually just trying to get a group of non-sailing folks safely to the snorkel spot and back to shore again without losing anyone! I think MIke is just a quiet sailor, not an extroverted entertainer. His crew was one young guy, Travis. He was an eager young guy with plenty of experience with customer service. When we were snorkeling Mike was standing on the bow watching all of his passengers making sure everyone was ok. Travis was on his surfboard pointing out where the turtles were swimming. We were lucky to see some huge turtles though the visability was a little murkey. After snorkeling, once we were sailing again, a pod of dolphins came up to us adn swam with us for about 10 min. It was perfect. The drinks were a great price. Overall, a great excursion.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I decided on our last night in Waikiki to do the sunset cruise. It featured an open bar (I think they charge $3 a drink on their earlier cruises), including their "Rigger Cocktail" which goes down pretty easy. The crew was great, and the view of Waikiki from the Catamaran after the sun had set was awesome. The only thing we never really had was the sunset as it was fairly overcast. If you happen to have a beautiful sunny day and are looking for something to do, you should definitely check this out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikiki Rigger also viewed

 

Been to Waikiki Rigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Rigger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.