We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Style & Service in the Epicentre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Save Saved
You added Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Saratoga Road, P.O. Box 88435, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxurious Suite Special
Ranked #1 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Modern Style & Service in the Epicentre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Trump is a welcoming recent addition to the ageing colonies of mega hotel complexes in Waikiki that mainly were created for the 80's mass tourism patronage of conservative japanese and US mainland families escaping the poverty crime stricken illusion of the Carribean and mexico in good Ol' reliable USA.
The Position is excellent behind just a 110 yard walk across the road to a family friendly stretch sandy beach which is shared by the busy and bustling Outrigger Reef and the stylish old world luxury charm of the Halekulani Hotel. Within walking distance of the hotel,, ie 100-500 yards is a multitude of restaurants, shops, convenience stores, bars, ext, so boredom will not set in for most types of travellers.
The check in courteous and efficient with a peaceful outdoor lounge available for arriving guests to get comfortable after a long flight from the US mainland, Australia and Asia. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious, with many equipped with a kitchen that was serviced and cleaned daily by the obliging and friendly housekeeping staff. Room service and requests were promptly catered to with a smile, with most requests that a young family ( 2 adults and 2 kids of 4 & 6) would require such as ice, milk, assistance on how to use the room, ect. The outlook of the rooms were superior on the parkside as they did not receive the noise of adjoining hotel which seemed to have noisy family orientated loud music every night in the July holidays, which did not seem to bother us to much as the guests seemed to enjoy themselves.
The facilities of the hotel cater well to the 5 star traveller, with the main gripe being as mentioned by many other fellow travellers and even the management humbly acknowledge the fault....the small pool. Now Mr Trump, you should have been less greedy in trying to fit as many apartments & rooms in the hotel and allowed for a larger pool that caters for the large amounts of guests who dont all want to go the sandy crowded beach. The pool is about 50ft x 10ft, and is more of a glorified lap pool that has to cope with the demands of hyperactive children seeking energy expansion, sun worshipping couples, parents entertaining the kids and the odd mature couple observing the chaos. The small spa is very cosy and quite social as we all packed in there to get some warmth when the deck area had no sun ( it only has sun the afternoon due to its orientation). The next facility that was less than desired was the gym. It was an afterthought by the developer, it seems like an unwanted office space was converted into a tiny indoor gym, but at least they offered you one.
The food offerings at breakfast which was served in outdoor cafe on the pool floor, was not large, but the quality was very decent for the region. The advantage of the Trump was the attachment of the franchised BLT steak and seafood restaurant which offered a world class standard of meat and seafood grill dishes with excellent service. We found this place excellent and very accommodating for a family seeking quality food ( expect to pay for it though!). We tried the nearby famous restaurant of Roy's, which was too noisy, crowded and vibrant for my liking with the food somewhat quite average for the price. Stick to the classy BLT in my opinion for a all round experience and even Nobu ( 100 yards away).
Overall the experience in comparison to the other 5 star hotels was excellent, with only the much pricier Halekulani being superior in food offerings and ambience, but more suitable to well heeled conservative travellers seeking peace in the epicentre of Waikiki. The Trump probably offers the best value in the Waikiki in terms of luxury, position, service and price, however it would receive five stars from me only if the developer was not so greedy and constructed a larger pool and a proper spacious gym with sauna.

Room Tip: Avoid the side that faces the Embassy Suites, as its noisy and the outlook is not so inspiring as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHW, Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us! We appreciate your time in sharing in details and in depth your overall favorable experience during your residence. Thank you for your candid feedback regarding the pool and the gym, which we understand were setbacks for your otherwise enjoyable holiday in Waikiki.
We hope to welcome you back again in the not so distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,031
    253
    69
    17
    15
See reviews for
466
614
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights, 3 couples sharing a 3 bedroom ocean view apartment. The apartment was fantastic, located on the 33rd floor with amazing views. It was spacious and completely suited our requirements. We didn't feel like we were on top of each other but had the benefit of a kitchen so we could do some cooking. The pool was lovely with good views, warm water and a fantastic spa. All staff were attentive, extremely helpful and knowledgable. We loved being close to Waikiki but far enough away to have some peace and quiet. We could not fault anything and would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHW, Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had a ball! Thank you for staying with us and recommending us to future guests. The detailed recollection of your experience will definitely serve as an insightful advise for future guests and we truly appreciate your taking the time out in doing so.
We are grateful to learn that you felt our associates provided the service you had expected.
Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Trump is well suited for younger and older couples and small families as it exudes serenity and calm. Of course the service and quality exceeds that of a 5 star hotel. We stayed 9 days and things we find annoying at other hotels are covered here. There are enough towels to last two days if ever needed. Your room is serviced immediately on request, so when you return you can relax. The evening turn down service is available if you need it. We had a full kitchen if you have a cook in the family!! Located on the edge of the Waikiki hotels it's quiet at night and you don't hear your neighbours. The pool is suitable for a dip but if your kids want to have water fights perhaps a resort would be best suited. Once you've had your dip the pool staff will look after you with drinks, food, sunscreen, or anything else your heart desires. The hotel is not on Waikiki beach front but is a hop skip and a jump away...and not an issue. Maybe Trump will purchase the outrigger in front of the hotel and build a walkway between the two..... Be sure to try BLT it's just like the Melbourne Rockpool. The breakfast was a feast and the whole experience will be hard to beat, makes sense the the hotel is #1.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHW, Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us during your most recent trip to Waikiki and sharing in details and in depths your experience with us. We are happy to learn that we were able to "wow" you! We hope to welcome you back again soon in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

If feels like home..so comfortable. We totally loved staying at Trump. Especially after long day of outdoor activities, we wanted to make sure we find the place that makes us feel comfortable. And yes it was. We were so ready to go back to our clean, comfortable hotel to relax our rest of days. All staffs are super friendly, greet you by your surname... Guest service were excellent and fast. They sure know how to make you feel special and welcome. You can order your own smoothie's at the breakfast buffet. Best Mai Tai cocktail @ the Lounge. There're comparison to lots of other hotels in Waikiki...crowded and low quality food restaurants. We were so pleased and glad to stay at Trump's. Can't wait for our next trip to Trump's Las Vegas soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHW, Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us! We are very pleased to learn that you were made to feel as if you were at home during your residence. We appreciate your time in commenting on your stay and for your kind and warm regards to our associates for the service we provide.
We hope you will enjoy your time at our sister property in Las Vegas, but look forward to welcoming you back "home"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

One of the best guest services we experienced with our travels. Our 5 day stay was relaxing and very enjoyable and though there are quite a few rooms in the hotel it did not feel crowed, especially the pool area. The staff ensured that you were always looked after and surprisingly called you by your surname. We had an ocean view on a high floor looking over Kahanamoku beach where the sun sets, which was remarkable. Rooms are modern and have all the amenities needed with fairly good internet speed and with a well equipped kitchenette, an added bonus.
It is located just a few minutes from the beach where the hotel supplies a beach bag with towels and water.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHW, Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Trump Waikiki! We appreciate your precious time in commenting on your experience with us which we understand all in all to be satisfactory. Thank you for your complements regarding our service, for that is what we strive for each and every day.
We hope to welcome you back should your journeys bring you to the Islands again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is fantastic, I would highly recommend it. The pool, while not that big, is great. The lounge chairs are comfortable and the service from the pool staff is unbelievable. It's a bit pricier than alternatives, but it's overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHW, Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Mahalo nui loa for staying with us! And we appreciate your recommendation to future guests. We are pleased to learn that our pool associates in particular were able to provide the service you so much deserve. Please come back and see us again... a hui hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife & I have been to Honolulu on several times. We like to try & stay at new locations when we visit. Out of all the places where we have stayed the Trump is my recommendation of where to stay. The staff are very friendly & go out of their to assist in anyway. The rooms are tidy & immaculate

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHW, Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for crowning us as your "best hotel in Honolulu"! It definitely means a lot to us knowing that you are frequent travelers to Oahu. We truly appreciate your time in highlighting our associates and your experience and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Islands. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, P.O. Box 88435, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why save the best for last when you can have it all the time? And why stay anywhere else in Hawaii when you can stay at Trump International Hotel™ Waikiki Beach Walk®? This Hawaii luxury hotel is part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, making it one of the premier Honolulu hotels. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway.Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotel Collection to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attaché - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.