We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Save Saved
You added Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Saratoga Road, P.O. Box 88435, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxurious Suite Special
Ranked #1 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Trump Waikiki and were impressed with the quality and level of service. We were greeted with a refreshing drink and floral lei on arrival and taken to our room immediately (despite arriving at 9am). We had a deluxe ocean view room which was very spacious with a large kitchen and lounge area and a modern shower-room style bathroom.

The facilities are great, however we were disappointed with the pool area, being located on level 4. You couldn't see the beach from there - only the old outdated hotels directly opposite, where people sit on their balconies staring down at you. Unfortunately this hotel has no tropical or Hawaiian atmosphere to it, it really could be located in Anywhere, USA, and it would feel exactly the same. The beach is just a short walk across the road, but again, this part of the beach has none of the atmosphere you expect of Waikiki.

This is a good quality, good value hotel, but if you're after more of a "beachy" holiday, try Halekulani or Royal Hawaiian, merely for their better location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHW, Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha and thank you for staying with us! Your generous comment regarding our service is greatly appreciated, since that is what we take pride in and strive for.
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment concerning our pool and the urban surroundings and thank you for your time in bringing them to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,010
    248
    70
    17
    15
See reviews for
454
606
48
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our vacation at The Trump Waikiki started last Sunday (9th) and from the moment we arrived we felt special. We had an early flight in from Japan and arrived at the hotel at 10:00 a.m. but check-in was not until 4:00 p.m. I believe. What to do? We were tired and our 11 year old son wanted to change and go to the beach. Not to worry, Tomomi checked us in and made an extra effort to find us a room within an hour and with an upgrade to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Thank you Tomomi (Front Reception), Dean (the guy who takes cares of you when you pull-up to The Trump...just a sweet guy and runs a tight crew) and Maria (Housekeeping) for making this a great trip.

We stayed at the Royal Hawaiian last year after reading it was "the best" place in Waikiki. What a joke that was. The Trump Waikiki is "THE BEST" hotel in Hawaii. Royal Hawaiian had old feeling rooms, worthless staff, small (unbelievably small) bathrooms and noise from the mall and the bars ruined that stay. DO NOT STAY there. Stay at The Trump. No noise at all. Super new and clean rooms. If you are lucky enough to get an ocean view from the 23rd floor like we had you will appreciate Hawaii's beauty all the more. Spacious everything. The bathroom alone is the size of a small child's bedroom. Equipped with a Japanese made Euro-style washlet toilet and two sinks and a shower where water can go everywhere and noone will care. Room service came twice a day and sometimes more to clean up. They clean your dishes if you cook, like we did a few times, as well as your entire room. The washer and dryer were a great convenience. The only inconveniences were false fire alarms but that happens. Location is awesome because just out the backside on Beachwalk is Henry's which has awesome sorbet and ice cream priced extremely reasonably. The sandwiches are great there too. Back to the Trump. The pool is small as we expected before booking but it is all you need because you will spend you time at the beach. The hot tub or jacuzzi was nice while my son swam and the pool view is wonderful especially when the stars are out at night. No complaints about the pool. Stay at the The Trump Waikiki and you will not regret it. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Ocean view....really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gleason, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here and had a nice time. But, there is no beach only streets on all sides of the property.
The rooms are spectacular, however. It feels more like I'm staying in a big city hotel rather than a resort in Waikiki.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHW, Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out in commenting about your stay. We regret to learn of your disappointment in that you felt the ambience and the surroundings were too urban. Nonetheless we truly appreciate your patronage and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for six nights last week. It was a beautiful hotel and is within walking distance to the beach and high end shopping. The staff was very friendly and always willing to assist. I especially likes the gift of Honolulu Cookie Company cookies and Trump bottles water. The hotel is over-priced ( as most hotels in Hawaii are) but well worth it. I had no complaints and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Checked into Trump for 6 nights, on arrival we had booked the ocean view studio but were upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise, although understandably not ready as it was only 8:30am. The checkin procedure was very smooth and professional, great staff. The suite was well appointed with full kitchen facilities, a large fridge and freezer with ice on demand, the rooms were spotless, 2 bathrooms roomy with lots of towels great water pressure from the showers. Good views of the beach from 2 balconies.
The pool area although small was well kept, plenty of towels and an attendant on call.
Didn't get chance to sample the breakfast or any of the restaurants but I'm sure they will match the property.
Trump Waikiki is about the service, superb in all areas, going to the beach or a day trip? Here's a bag sir, with towels, water, fruit and sun screen, just return when you get back.
The hotel is positioned nicely a short walk to both the beach and the shopping areas.
All in all, a very good hotel, up there in my top 10, it deserves its rating on Tripadvisor I'm sure, but would need to stay in a few more in the area to compare.
If your budget stretches this far, book the Trump Towers Waikiki, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying on a 10 day family break at Trump Waikiki. Initially, my impression was that the hotel was not impressive looking but after settling in we are really impressed with many things. The attention to detail in the rooms, the service is very prompt, professional and nothing is a problem. The beach bags packed for the guests, beds and wonderful bathrooms. Very well situated just away from the big crowds but close to shopping precinct and beach.
While the hotel is not right on the beach it is just across the road. I will certainly be looking at the Trump Hotels for my next trip. I have had drinks at a few other hotels and they are not at the same standard this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was very pleased with my one week stay at Trump for the following reasons:

- Location: It is on quieter part of Waikiki and very close to the premium outlet shopping stores. Any closer into Waikiki it would have been too noisey. The only issue I had with noise was at the start of our stay we were on the Waikiki side of the hotel and from 7 - 9 the adjacent hotel played loud 80s rock music (Bon Jovi etc) which kept us from awake and ruined some of the romance. We complained to staff and were upgraded to a suite on facing the park. No noise and we were fortunate to get a perfect view of the fireworks at the Hilton.

- Room Size: The suites are very roomy with full size kitchen. I was also impressed with the large bathroom. We loved the individual shower heads :)

- The complimentary Hawaiian chocolates and coffee

- Buffet Breakfast: Our package included the buffet breakfast which was overall very good. I was a big fan of the smoothies (my fav. mango & banana :). The omelettes were also very good.

- BLT Steak: Very expensive but I would go again. The Popovers were exceptional!

- Trump Bathrobes are so soft.

- Happy hour beer, Californian rolls and spicy chicken wings at Wai'olu Bar

What could have improved:

- Although staff are very friendly and the service good, it could have improved. In particular the staff at Wai'olu bar spent most of the time talking to eachother instead of servicing us.

Overall the experience was very good and the hotel provides a very good staff at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: - Get a suite - Get a room facing the park (less noise & you get the perfect view of the firewo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHW, Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha and thank you for selecting us as your home away from home! We are happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay.
Thank you for your detailed insightful comments and pointing out the insconsistrency among our associates. We apologize for any discomfort you had to endure. We truly appreciate your time in bringing the matter to our attention, for it definitly provides us an opportunity to review, retrain and improve.
We hope to welcome you back again to our little corner of Paradise...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, P.O. Box 88435, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why save the best for last when you can have it all the time? And why stay anywhere else in Hawaii when you can stay at Trump International Hotel™ Waikiki Beach Walk®? This Hawaii luxury hotel is part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, making it one of the premier Honolulu hotels. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway.Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotel Collection to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attaché - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.