We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ATTENTION TO DETAIL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Save Saved
You added Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Saratoga Road, P.O. Box 88435, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxurious Suite Special
Ranked #1 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“ATTENTION TO DETAIL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wow this hotel is amazing!
Staff are so friendly, attentative and efficient!
Rooms are nice, very clean and cleaned everyday. Everyday, a staff member will ask you if you would like your bed turned and provide you with bottled water.
If you are off to the beach, trump will provide you with a beach bag, fresh fruit, water, towels and sunscreen.
Even sitting by the trump pool is nice (although not big and probably more like a lap pool) staff will continually ask you for drinks, food, clean up after you, make sure the pool area is always tidy and even provide you with free samples of smoothies!
The buffet breakfast was very yummy, lots of great food to cater for everyone!

I really can't fault this place, no wonder is it number 1 on trip advisor in Waikiki, it deserves to be! You get treated like royalty in this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpWaikikiHonolulu, Director of Residences at Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We certainly try our best to attend to every guests' need while they are here - or even before they arrive. Our attaché department's main goal is to reach out to each and every guest to insure that any needs or requests are fulfilled before they begin their vacation (and then again as they are departing!) . In this way, we hope that you feel very special before, during and after your trip!

Additionally, although we also recognize that most guests love the beaches in Hawaii, we know they like to visit the pool. Therefore, when you return, please be sure to check out the enhancements of the area and amenities that will be in place in the next few weeks.

MAHALO again - we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,012
    250
    70
    17
    15
See reviews for
457
607
48
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon for 2 weeks and I hope this review does it justice as it was absolutely perfect in every possible way.

From start to finish we were made to feel like VIPs, the staff could not do enough for us. Upon arrival we were greeted with leis, fruit infused water and towels to freshen up. We were also upgraded to a deluxe sea view room. The room itself was great. It was large, clean and so well equipped. Including a coffee maker, blender, rice cooker, etc. We were given sparkling wine, cookies and chocolates throughout our stay.

I recommend eating at Wai'olu on a Friday night, the food is tapas style and the sushi is some of the best we've had. On Friday's you can watch the fireworks (from another hotel) from this terrace and the live music is fantastic.

It's the little things that really make this hotel stand out as a cut above the rest. After turn down the radio is always on with Hawaiian music playing, every member of staff greets you with a smile, the beach bags which other reviewers have mentioned, the concierge service is superb, lifts are always ready waiting on the ground floor, more fruit infused water by the pool... I just cannot put into words how outstanding the service is at this hotel making it a clear cut above the rest.

We will definitely return one day and also look into choosing trump hotels at other locations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpWaikikiHonolulu, Director of Residences at Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy that you chose to spend such a special occasion with us - and even more excited that we were able to be a part of "that something special".

We're also glad you had a chance to enjoy the live music and Friday night fireworks - it's really exciting for guests to have that chance to watch them from Wai'olu, ~ and it definitely can be the fantastic end to a spectacular vacation.

Once again, MAHALO! We hope to see you soon...maybe even before you celebrate your First Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarraville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel has it all - exceptional staff (service really is something else), great location close to restaurants, the beach, the shopping, plus a novel pool on level 6 overlooking Waikiki. A lot of the hotels in Waikiki seem squashed in so that you may end up with a window view of the hotel next door. Trump sits out by itself so there are no such problems.

The room was big - we stayed in a deluxe partial ocean view studio, which had its own kitchen. This is a massive drawcard as we could have an amazing self made breakfast on our balcony whenever we woke. The staff were great with our daughter, bringing her some little treats when we arrived and certainly making us feel very special and welcome after a long and tiring flight.

The finishing of the room is impeccable and every little detail seemed to have been addressed. We got a stay 4 nights, pay 3 deal and I think for what we got it was great value. As an overall package and at the price we paid I really can't fault it. Exceptional!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed for three nights in April and loved our room, the location, service, and amenities! The kitchen was fully equipped (even a wine chiller) but lacked a blender. (However the staff was eager to find one for us!) Loved the washer/dryer; BIG tvs; stereo; mini island in the kitchen; etc.
All the employees we encountered were very friendly. We were upgraded to a two-bedroom suite with a lovely view of the beach and sunsets.
It was a super location for shopping and although it's not on the beach, it was an easy walk and we had a great view of Diamond Head.
The only thing we weren't crazy about was the layout of the bathroom. It's an open shower concept and the water went flying everywhere. We asked for a shower curtain to block the water (and view of someone showering) from the sink area/dressing/closets.
Had a great treatment in the Spa and enjoyed appetizers in the lobby level bar. The bar also boasts the "world's best mai tai" and it was worth the $14.50!!
Enjoyed our stay and would love to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights last week in a Deluxe Ocean View room. I can't speak highly enough of the service, quality and the "little extras" that has Trump at the top of the Waikiki Hotel ratings.

Although checkin is at 4pm, our room was ready at noon. The only slight glitch was that, although it was on the 20th floor, it seemed to be a Partial Deluxe Ocean view room (the view was impeded by the ocean front hotels), not the full Ocean view that I had booked. I made a quick call to reception, and we were moved a couple of hours later to a room on the Saratoga side, which had a much better view and was a little larger ... a lot better for the 3 of us.

Every staff member who we came in contact with had a friendly Aloha, and everything from checkin to checkout was super efficient. The little extras were also a nice touch ... the beach bag, the welcome cake pops and cookies for our daughter, the call from reception 10 minutes after we moved rooms to make sure everything was OK with the new room, the call from the attaché to welcome us to the Hotel, the complimentary Trump beach area and umbrellas ... these are the type of things that set the Trump apart.

Both the service and quality were exceptional and we would love to return some day.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the Saratoga road side - much better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes: location, service, cleanliness, amenities, appointments.

Location - the hotel is located at the heart of Waikiki beach. Although the hotel is not absolute waterfront, it is merely a street away and a two minute walk to the beach.

Room - the room had everything we needed - a balcony with views of the beach, a stove, a bath, a nice shower, and a fully equipped kitchen. It is beautifully appointed. Wifi signal is strong and fast!

Cleanliness - super clean, no issues here. I think hotel staff tidy up and will turn your bed twice a day.

Service - Superb! Nothing is too difficult. Planning a day at the beach, drop by the concierge and grab your beach bag that contains beach towels, sunscreen and a bottle of water.

What a great hotel this is!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed in April 2012 for 10 nights for honeymoon.

On arrival we were upgraded to 1 bdrm suite with partial ocean view up high, which had nice view South (away from Diamond Head). We were up about 20 floors and higher floors are recommended.

The room was beautiful, large, and very clean and well looked after. Bathroom and bed were some of the larger we had seen, and additional extras (including bottle of champagne on arrival) all welcomed nd extra touches. The Trump branded everything in the room also was amusing but all products top quality.

Hotel itself is a 10-15 minute stroll from the main restaurants (and maybe 25 minute walk to Ala Moana shopping centre if you fancy it, 5 mins by cab or 10 minute shuttle bus). The distance was handy as after all of the big servings you get it was nice to walk some of it off (the starter at least). Located rIght on the beach also on a quieter spot, and being at the quieter side has its benefits given crowds further up at the main hotels. Plenty of abc stores on doorstop of the hotel.

Concierge and staff were all professional and friendly, and went out of their way to help (with complimentary towels and water to beach, and snack pack etc).

Breakfast at the hotel was okay if not a bit overpriced (same as spa, however it is a hotel so somewhat expected). Westin, Hilton and Sofitel breakfast buffet have it over Trump in this respect. Gym is fantastic and good equipment, and bar lovely with sunset views and nice ambience. A tip for visitors would be 'eggs n things' which is on the same road as Trump hotel and very local and ridiculous meals, and affordable (12 egg omelette anyone? Think man vs food but very nice).

The only main issue would be price. We got a reasonable rate for our stay from an online website, and given it was a special occassion were happy to pay a little extra. That said, looking at the rates today to plan a trip back in September this year we were shocked - at over $350 a night for basic rates it seems overpriced (and this said having stayed at many similar level hotels around the world). Curiously, when we stayed the hotel was practically empty - we would have put it at 40% capacity at best being generous. It was a ghost town most of the time we were there which we found surprising for such a beautiful hotel. Whilst not giving the place away I am sure there is room on the price to bring more people in.

It is a lovely hotel and we would recommend to others provided you can find a decent rate ($300 or under for studio room with views feels right).

Room Tip: Go high and seek water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, P.O. Box 88435, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why save the best for last when you can have it all the time? And why stay anywhere else in Hawaii when you can stay at Trump International Hotel™ Waikiki Beach Walk®? This Hawaii luxury hotel is part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, making it one of the premier Honolulu hotels. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway.Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotel Collection to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attaché - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.