We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great saty if just a bit on $ side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Save Saved
You added Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Saratoga Road, P.O. Box 88435, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxurious Suite Special
Ranked #1 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great saty if just a bit on $ side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed in April 2012 for 10 nights for honeymoon.

On arrival we were upgraded to 1 bdrm suite with partial ocean view up high, which had nice view South (away from Diamond Head). We were up about 20 floors and higher floors are recommended.

The room was beautiful, large, and very clean and well looked after. Bathroom and bed were some of the larger we had seen, and additional extras (including bottle of champagne on arrival) all welcomed nd extra touches. The Trump branded everything in the room also was amusing but all products top quality.

Hotel itself is a 10-15 minute stroll from the main restaurants (and maybe 25 minute walk to Ala Moana shopping centre if you fancy it, 5 mins by cab or 10 minute shuttle bus). The distance was handy as after all of the big servings you get it was nice to walk some of it off (the starter at least). Located rIght on the beach also on a quieter spot, and being at the quieter side has its benefits given crowds further up at the main hotels. Plenty of abc stores on doorstop of the hotel.

Concierge and staff were all professional and friendly, and went out of their way to help (with complimentary towels and water to beach, and snack pack etc).

Breakfast at the hotel was okay if not a bit overpriced (same as spa, however it is a hotel so somewhat expected). Westin, Hilton and Sofitel breakfast buffet have it over Trump in this respect. Gym is fantastic and good equipment, and bar lovely with sunset views and nice ambience. A tip for visitors would be 'eggs n things' which is on the same road as Trump hotel and very local and ridiculous meals, and affordable (12 egg omelette anyone? Think man vs food but very nice).

The only main issue would be price. We got a reasonable rate for our stay from an online website, and given it was a special occassion were happy to pay a little extra. That said, looking at the rates today to plan a trip back in September this year we were shocked - at over $350 a night for basic rates it seems overpriced (and this said having stayed at many similar level hotels around the world). Curiously, when we stayed the hotel was practically empty - we would have put it at 40% capacity at best being generous. It was a ghost town most of the time we were there which we found surprising for such a beautiful hotel. Whilst not giving the place away I am sure there is room on the price to bring more people in.

It is a lovely hotel and we would recommend to others provided you can find a decent rate ($300 or under for studio room with views feels right).

Room Tip: Go high and seek water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    903
    231
    68
    15
    14
See reviews for
399
563
47
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I recently had 8 nights at the Trump International. From the moment we arrived our stay was exceptional. The staff were attentive and alway eager to help. The beach bag provided when we went to the beach was very adequate. It contained towels, sunscreen, bottled water and fruit. We never used a towel twice, they seemed to be changed 3 times a day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the Trump and were impressed by the personal service and attention by the staff. The front desk and concierge was helpful, and friendly greeting us by name. We were upgraded to a one bedroom and den which was beautiful with a large kitchen, two bathrooms and two balconies. At the end of our stay we were also given access to a hospitality room which was much appreciated as we were able to enjoy another day at the beach prior to a late departure.
We were provided daily beach bags which included towels, water, sunscreen and fruit which was great to keep the sand out of the room and a hassle free preparation for the beach.
We also dined at the BLT and it was our favourite meal of the trip. The 80's music was fun and the steaks were excellent.
Overall a great trip, would love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had made two bookings for our holiday - one at the Halekulani and the other at Trump. The only reason we were not certain about the Trump hotel was the fact that the hotel is not on the beach. We decided to go with the Trump booking and cancel the Halekulani and we were very pleased with our decision. The Trump is practically on the beach and the other aspects of this hotel definitely make up for the perceived advantage some of its competitors may enjoy by being located directly on the beach. Those on-the-beach hotels were consistently packed with both hotel and non-hotel guests - way too busy to relax - the Trump was less busy and had much more of a relaxing feel to it.

The pre-arrival information from the hotel was useful and allowed us to have some restaurants and tours booked prior to our arrival. The hotel also organised our airport transfers - we had the same driver for both transfers and he too was very friendly and helpful.

As everyone notes, the service at this hotel is what sets it apart. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this hotel. The hotel arranged a number of dinner bookings for us at very short notice and also arranged a great morning of snorkelling at Hanauma Bay (highly recommended), again at very short notice.

The service at Trump is probably the best we have experienced from any hotel we have stayed in the world. It is friendly, relaxed and efficient. The words "can't" "no" and "sorry" are not part of the vocabulary of the staff at this hotel. I am sure there must be some sort of capital punishment applied if any member of staff is heard to be using any of those words! Every staff member we encountered demonstrated initiative in everything they did.

We stayed in a two bedroom suite with den. The suite was spacious and very well appointed. Everything we came to need during our stay was there - everything from an ice-cream scoop to a wine stopper! We had an uninterrupted view of the ocean from our suite located on the Hilton side and it was brilliant - this is the case for all rooms facing this direction as there is only a park adjacent to the hotel on that side. As a bonus, you can also enjoy the fireworks display (courtesy of the Hilton hotel) from your deck every Friday night. I think the views from the rooms on the Diamond Head side may be impaired by the many buildings on that side of the hotel unless perhaps you were staying on the very top floors.

The beach bags (with towel, bottled water and fruit) provided each day as you headed off to the beach were great. Just drop the bags off at the Concierge desk upon your return - no worries.

We also discovered a great little Italian restaurant, Arancino - at 255 Beachwalk Avenue, just across the street from the Hotel on the Daimond Head side - convenient and great food.

The only minor negative was that there was often a long wait for the elevators and a congestion of guests accumulating in the lobby as a result.

If we returned to Waikiki, I am sure we would not stay anywhere else but the Trump. The Trump deserves its Number 1 ranking on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Request a High Floor room on the Hilton side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was my first visit/stay at this hotel with my family. The accomodations were outstanding!!....I was EXTREMELY impressed with the customer service there. The valet, concierge, attache, housekeeping, reception ...each and every one of the employees in each department were super friendly, smiling all the time, were genuinely interested in making our stay exceptional....ALL AROUND EXCEPTIONAL!! We will definitely be back! The spa services were great, the food and service at the BLT steakhouse was yummy! Thank you for paying attention to EVERY detail to make our stay THE BEST!

The Faucher Family...

Room Tip: Choose the high floors (was in 3605...GORGEOUS views). Incredible room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a short 4 day trip to Waikiki. From the minute we arrived everything was perfect. First we got upgraded. I admit this certainly improves your mood at any hotel but the room was more than we needed and we would have been happy with the room we originally booked. Room was clean with comfortable bed, great hot water pressure and lots of towels and toiletries. Service was excellent.

For anyone worried that this is not on the beach I would not let that deter you. After walking by many of the very crowded hotels on the beach I really appreciated the peace and quiet you find at the trump. When we went to the beach, which we did often, it is a short walk across the street. The trump gives you a great bag everyday with towels and a few extras to use on the beach. And like all the other guest in Waikiki, weather your hotel is on the beach or not, you have to rent chairs and umbrella for the day.

I do recommend walking down to the Hale Koa beach to rent chairs instead of the desk provided by Trump. The hotel is for military guest but anyone can rent chairs/umbrellas and sit on the beach. There are fewer hotels on this side and there is more space to spread out.

We are already planning our return trip this summer. This time we will be bringing the kids and the trump has several rooms with pull out couches that will be perfect for our children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stay here in July last year for our honeymoon and what a treat it was. When we arrived we were given drinks and shown around the hotel like royalty. They upgraded us as a wedding gift from the hotel. And it didn't stop there. We went up to our room to find champaign, chocolates and a letter congratulating us on our marriage. The room was big and beautiful with a kitchen, and a big bathroom (one day I want to renovate my house to have this bathroom). It also had a balcony with the view of Waikiki Beach. As I recall on Friday nights there is a lovely fireworks show that we watched from the balcony it was a perfect spot. We were given a bag of goodies to take to the beach which consisted of towels and fruit which was a nice touch. The staff provided exceptional service even gave us a call to check if we needed anything a couple of hours after check in. When we were leaving they hired a limousine to take us to the airport. I don't think I have ever been treated so well by any hotel. This hotel is a standard above the rest.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, P.O. Box 88435, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why save the best for last when you can have it all the time? And why stay anywhere else in Hawaii when you can stay at Trump International Hotel™ Waikiki Beach Walk®? This Hawaii luxury hotel is part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, making it one of the premier Honolulu hotels. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway.Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotel Collection to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attaché - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.