We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service! 10 days in heaven at Waikiki Trump” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxurious Suite Special
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service! 10 days in heaven at Waikiki Trump”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the moment we stepped into the cab to leave for the airport we were treated to outstanding service. Most high end hotels do not welcome families like this one. Both our daughters (9 & 12) were attended to as though they were paying customers as well.

Rooms were impeccably clean, food was amazing, location was perfect and I can't say enough about the service. Valet, bellhop, house keeping, pool staff and guest services get a 10+ from me.

I 100% recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    294
    79
    18
    17
See reviews for
546
698
58
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Reading some reviews after booking the hotel for our recent trip, I nearly canceled the reservation thinking it wasn't fit for families. So glad we decided to stick with it because Trump Waikiki and staff goes above and beyond to make children feel welcomed. By now you've read that upon arrival, you are greeted with leis and shell necklaces, then on the lobby floor, with water and cold towel. Excellent touch. As everyone else shared, beach bags stocked with water and fruit were also extremely appreciated. What I want to focus this review on is the "little things" they did to pre-empt your asks and make your stay even better!

First, my son loved the seal stuffed animal and activity set upon arrival in the room. The fruit plate was also very much appreciated. He loved having his own robe and slipper (adorable touch!) along with mommy and daddy's. What was most impressive was that they even gave us a stool in the bathroom to help him reach the sink...not even Disney Aulani did that!

The pool is not your typical large, resort pool, but it actually was quite well designed for kids, with plenty of shallow "landing" areas for young ones to soak their bodies. The fact that it wasn't a deep or large pool make it easy for you to stay close to your children, whether you're next to the pool, or in the hot tub. Very few guests were in the pool when we were there (most were tanning) so our son and other kids enjoyed their time in there.

Every time we got inside the car, every door was held open, and everyone offered to help with directions. When it was pouring, we were given very nice umbrellas to carry along, and they also made sure to cover us while we walked to the car. The staff members all stopped to say hi whenever my son wanted to chat with them.

The hotel is just a few steps from Eggs n' Things and several delicious Japanese restaurants (through back alley). And 2 blocks away, you'll find yourself in the heart of Waikiki with tons of shops, restaurants and tourists. The beach immediately in front of the hotel (cross the street) is a bit rocky but make a left turn, walk a bit more, you'll find yourself in much softer sand. For us, that wasn't a big deal at all to walk in the water a bit! Why would it be? The weather is gorgeous!

As a family, we had to stock up on milk, snacks, cereal, juices, etc. The kitchenettes came in SO handy!! We loved having a kitchen in a luxury hotel (versus having to rent an old condo). Balconies were huge too which made it easy for my husband and I to sneak out and enjoy some wine while our kid sleeps. The housekeeping was meticulous-- twice a day, and anything you used in the kitchen, is washed immediately or refilled.

If you need reservations for dining, don't even hesitate to use the Attache service. They truly take care of you! They also installed a Wii in our room since we have a little guy.

Finally, extra thanks to Dean, Dori and Ebi (?) who went out of their way to make us feel welcomed!

Room Tip: Partial ocean view room is only slightly more expensive than garden view...it's worth it. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here at the Trump, it is everything and more than the reviews I have read.
From the moment stepped out of our airport transfer we have been greeted with wonderful hospitality.
Dennis on the concierge desk, so helpful and kind. We had a lovely evening at the Wai olu restaurant which was amazing!
The food was extra special, but in particular Jamie our waitress was just gorgeous, so attentive. Also last night in the Wai olu lounge the musician Johnna made a refreshing change to the usual Hawaiian singers, again amazing and so friendly. Our room is just as other reviewers have mentioned, views special but to the point you don't want to leave! This hotel is the reason many Australians keep coming back to Hawaii. Love it, don't bother thinking about booking any other hotel this is it!
And thank you to all the wonderful staff at the hotel! Mahalo

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came to the Trump Hotel for our 10th anniversary. It was a fantastic stay! The staff here are remarkably friendly, and very attentive to every need. The hotel itself while not on the beach, is only a couple minute walk to the beach. One of the nice surprises was that the hotel provides a beach bag that has sunblock, towels, water and fruit. My wife and I did rent a car, but in retrospect it probably wasn't needed. Even when we went to the Polynesian cultural Center and North Shore area, we took a a shuttle tour that was available directly through the PCC. I highly recommend that by the way. The valet fee is a little excessive, I actually prefer to park my own car, but it was nice not have to look for parking in the busy Waikiki Beach area.

For anybody looking to stay at the Trump Hotel, I can definitely say you will not be disappointed. It did feel just a bit formal for a beach vacation though. I think next time we may try the Outrigger, or even the Royal Hawaiian. Both of those felt a little bit more Hawaiian, while the trump had a more city feel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Trump International Hotel is a tranquil oasis where understated elegance meets sheer indulgence .Upon arrival, we received beautiful leis and were promptly checked in. By the time we have reached our room, the bell boy was already there greeting us with a box of Hawaiian cookies. Our spacious room on 20th floor had all the necessary comforts: soft bed, high quality linens, wonderful bathroom amenities, free and fast wi-fi. The small kitchen was well equipped adding to the homey atmosphere. The hotel also provides great beach bags with towels, cold water, fresh fruit, and even sunscreen! I loved it so much, I bought one!

The infinity pool however is very small, waist-deep and very narrow. The pool area is also small and very crowded.

Dinning - Wai'olu lounge has beautiful views but the food is extremely mediocre and overpriced. It is the only area of the hotel where the service is spotty. If you want to give them a try, take advantage of the happy hours specials between 3 and 6. BLT Steak downstairs is open only for dinner. We had dinner there twice and absolutely loved it! Great food, impressive wine selection and wonderful service.
Overall, great hotel, impeccable service. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a dinner at BLT! Sit on the lovely patio and let the staff to treat you like a roy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is still as good as the first time we stayed here shortly after it opened. Excellent staff, great service and the personal touch. They even stored some mail from 18 months ago. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My daughter & i didn't stay @ the hotel,but we were made to feel very welcome as casual diners.We had a buffet breakfast here & the quality was second to none!Many people wouldn't know that you can ask & be welcome to go to the dining room like this.Our accomodation wasn't high-end,so the chance to treat ourselves was one we couldn't miss.Staff treated us as one of their guests & the food was amazing.

Room Tip: We stayed elsewhere,but if breakfast was anything to go by,i'd say all rooms would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why save the best for last when you can have it all the time? And why stay anywhere else in Hawaii when you can stay at Trump International Hotel™ Waikiki Beach Walk®? This Hawaii luxury hotel is part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, making it one of the premier Honolulu hotels. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway.Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotel Collection to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attaché - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.