We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Save Saved
You added Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Saratoga Road, P.O. Box 88435, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxurious Suite Special
Ranked #1 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel, great views, amazing honeymoon experience. Watch the fireworks from the hotel restaurant every weekend. Walking distance from most of the best restaurants IMO. On the first night, definitely check out hula dancing at House Without a Key across the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,031
    252
    69
    17
    15
See reviews for
465
614
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Every single employee we came in contact with from the moment my husband and I pulled up to this hotel welcomed us and congratulated us on our wedding. The staff was beyond helpful...even sending a bell hop up to our room the night before we were checking out to weigh our luggage (we had done some Christmas shopping). When we checked in we were instantly upgraded to a full ocean view room, where a box of cookies (Honolulu Cookie Company) and a bottle of champagne greeted us! The valet gave us great tips on where to go on the North Shore, down to which shrimp trucks were the best to stop at (we were not disappointed). Before we even checked in we had contacted the concierge to help with dinner reservations at Alan Wong's, which he secured without a problem. He also let them know we were celebrating our honeymoon, which resulted in being greeted with congratulations from the hostess and a personalized menu singed by Alan Wong and his staff.

Thank you Trump International for making our honeymoon stay so lovely!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

WE stayed here for new year - we had amazing vacation!

First of all - location cannot be better - just next to everything important - but not directly on the beach so you save yourself all the mess of dirty public areas and too many people in public areas...

The hotel is really high style - rooms are huge and room showers are very large and comfortable. Beds are among the best I ever slept on!!

Hotel audience is mixed - 50%+ are Japanese, and ages are mixed between young families and couples.

The hotel is well managed and service was impeccable - anything we needed was addressed immediately and at best quality.

Public areas are a bit small - pool is beautiful with amazing direct Waikiki views - but size is a bit small. only 1 small Jacuzzi that can be packed at times, and no sauna.

Although hotel is not directly on beach - they provide you with beach bag with everything you need every time you want to go to the beach, and you can rent beds and umbrella for $40 / day (a bit overpriced but at least you have the option!).

Bottom line - I would highly recommend this hotel for its location, service, and room quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Trump Waikiki for five nights over Christmas. For the most part, it is a great addition to the Waikiki strip - great location, modern, luxurious, and with excellent staff. Highly recommended...
The hotel is not right on Waikiki Beach but it is only a block away, just across the street from the Outrigger Reef. This is the perfect place to be close to all the action, both on the beach and in the restaurants and shops. You couldn't have a better location unless you want to be near Diamond Head or the zoo.
My room was a deluxe studio ocean view, and it was very nice. Unlike The Donald, the room is surprisingly muted. The bathroom is almost completely white, with marble floors and counters and white walls with no pictures. A bit bland, and I didn't like the faucet taps or the fact there was only one towel hook. It also has an open room shower, which might put some people off but I didn't mind.
The living quarters were also conservatively decorated but much nicer with some tasteful art and furnishings. A very well equiped kitchen, large living room and private lanai with a nice view completed the picture. All in all, very nice.
The hotel had three restaurants, one for breakfast/lunch, Wai'Olu for dinner and drinks, plus a steakhouse which I didn't try. Wai'Olu is surprisingly affordable for a Trump property restaurant. It's more of a small plate, tapas style restaurant but the food was very good, and you HAVE to try their Mai Tai, which apparantly won a world's best award and I can see why, it was outstanding.
Nearby excellent restaurants include Nobu, Roy's, Ocean House and others in high end properties Halekalani and Royal Hawaiian. Starbucks is across the street at the Outrigger, and EggsNThings is just up the road for breakfast (very busy!). And there are tons of casual eateries nearby as well. Certainly no lacking for choice!
The hotel itself doesn't have any shops, but you are only a block off the main strip.
Service throughout was top notch and friendly in the warm Hawaiian way, this is not a formal city so hawaiian shirts and shorts are perfectly acceptable. You will love your time in Honolulu!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Truly, this is my new favorite hotel.....the service is superb, the people who work at the hotel seem sincere and as though they truly care about their guests. The building is state of the art with all of the modern amenities you can expect at a tip-top hotel!

The only thing I didn't like is that there were babies and children in the bar/lounge...I really don't want to listen to a crying baby when I am drinking my 5'oclock martini...aren't some places sacred????!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We travelled recently with our 4 month old daughter. Pre-reservation requirements of baby cot and other essentials were well honored, and the room, quality of attention and overall feeling was at the highest standard. We got 2-3 calls during our stay to see if all was fine, and even the request for a hand shower in the shower room was met with a technician changing the setting and adapting a hand shower. A first class experience. And the tall lady at the reception on the ground floor was so welcoming and warm. One of our best experiences. We`ll be back in six months

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, WA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights and had no complaints. Staff is some of the friendliest we've encountered in 20+ years of visiting Hawaii. The valets especially are very helpful and genuinely nice people. My husband and I had some treatments at the spa and found our therapists to be very good.

One weird detail: I could touch the ceiling of our bathroom and I'm 5ft 4in so I'm guessing the ceiling was only 7ft. The ceiling popped up a bit in the bedroom and sitting area, but overall the feeling it gave was still a little bit claustrophobic. Taller people might not be comfortable in this setting.

Even though this is not a beach-front hotel, in the public areas such as the lobby bar the designers did a wonderful job of capitalizing on views over the treetops of the neighboring park. The hotel does give off a big city, Manhattan type of vibe but that's in keeping with the Trump brand. In my opinion the architects did the absolute best they could with this piece of property, to maximize views and minimize the impact of other buildings.

Is this the #1 hotel in all of Honolulu? Personally I would put it at #3 behind the Halekulani and the Kahala, but that is based on my love of those two properties and not anything particularly wrong with the Trump. It is definitely one of the best hotels in Honolulu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, P.O. Box 88435, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why save the best for last when you can have it all the time? And why stay anywhere else in Hawaii when you can stay at Trump International Hotel™ Waikiki Beach Walk®? This Hawaii luxury hotel is part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, making it one of the premier Honolulu hotels. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway.Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotel Collection to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attaché - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.