We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxurious Suite Special
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Medina, WA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights and had no complaints. Staff is some of the friendliest we've encountered in 20+ years of visiting Hawaii. The valets especially are very helpful and genuinely nice people. My husband and I had some treatments at the spa and found our therapists to be very good.

One weird detail: I could touch the ceiling of our bathroom and I'm 5ft 4in so I'm guessing the ceiling was only 7ft. The ceiling popped up a bit in the bedroom and sitting area, but overall the feeling it gave was still a little bit claustrophobic. Taller people might not be comfortable in this setting.

Even though this is not a beach-front hotel, in the public areas such as the lobby bar the designers did a wonderful job of capitalizing on views over the treetops of the neighboring park. The hotel does give off a big city, Manhattan type of vibe but that's in keeping with the Trump brand. In my opinion the architects did the absolute best they could with this piece of property, to maximize views and minimize the impact of other buildings.

Is this the #1 hotel in all of Honolulu? Personally I would put it at #3 behind the Halekulani and the Kahala, but that is based on my love of those two properties and not anything particularly wrong with the Trump. It is definitely one of the best hotels in Honolulu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    294
    79
    18
    17
See reviews for
546
698
58
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed for 4 nights. We booked a 2 bedroomed suite. The facilities of the suite where excellent, although we didn't used most of them (eg the kitchen). The main bathroom was wonderful and we loved the spa bath. The little extras where nice eg bags for the beach (including apples, water and sun cream) and shoe cleaning, although you are obviously getting what you pay for! The children where well treated. The staff where very accommodating. Location wise, the hotel is well placed and in walking distance to good shops and restaurants. The only thing I was uncomfortable with was the number of people running around after us eg three people came to attend to the suite twice a day. I found this a little intrusive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days to celebrate a milestone birthday. From the time we arrived until we left, we experienced exemplary service by the staff. Everyone was so very warm and friendly. Concierge was super helpful with every request. As others have experienced, we were also upgraded from a deluxe studio to a 1 bedroom suite. Gorgeous room, my DH did not want to leave. Food in the lounge was wonderful and the mai tai really was the best I had, after sampling many on three islands. We also liked the location, Waikiki is only steps away. You are also very close to Roy's, the Halekulani's restaurants and Duke's.
The only quibble with this magnificent hotel is that housekeeping was not quite up to the rest of the wonderful service at the hotel.
Should note that the charge for overnight valet parking is $30.
The Trump is our first choice whenever we return to Waikiki.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the Trump Waikiki for 5 nights in June 2012. It was our first trip to Hawaii so we did not know what exactly to expect. We booked online several months in advance and were in touch with a hotel concierge beforehand who was very helpful in suggesting activities and accommodating our room request. We arrived and were greeted to a nice welcome from a friendly staff. We booked a studio room but were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite overlooking the beach.

The room was really nice and far exceeded our expectations. The full kitchen was incredible. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was beautiful and it also had a washer and dryer which was really nice. The only downside to the room was noise from the street which we could hear fairly easily even up on the 18th floor. This did not bother us at all and it was just average background street noise. The room gets 5 stars from us.

The food all around was great. We ate breakfast at the hotel every day, once getting room service and the other days at the buffet downstairs. Both were outstanding. We also got room service for dinner one night and a late night snack another time. The room service overall was tasty and reasonable priced for what you get. They did confuse our orders with another room on two occasions but otherwise the service was respectable. We also had a few drinks at the bar downstairs where they offer the "world's best mai tai." It is not your average mai tai and I thought it was excellent. The bar overall was nice. The food gets 5 stars from us.

As should be the case with any 5 star hotel, the service is what makes this hotel great. There were small glitches here and there such as with the room service but overall there were no problems at all. Everyone went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Julia and Dean were the two most helpful and made our stay truly memorable. The next time we are in Honolulu, I don't think there's any question about where we'll stay. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at many fine hotels, but I think this one tops them all for customer service. At many higher-end establishments, there is a bit of an attitude, bu here, everyine seemed genuinely friendly and eager to help and make us feel welcome. The concierges were top-notch (concierge service starts before you arrive, with a welcoming email/attachments with pages of restaurant and activity recommendations, and prompt and personal answers to any questions you might have). Leis upon arrival, beach bags for loan every am, filled with towels, water, fresh fruit, suntan lotion. Very well appointed rooms and excellent, twice daily housekeeping service (especially nice knowing you can come back sandy after a day at the beach, take a shower before dinner, and come back later that eveving and find the room freshly made up again for you!)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

SUMMARY: Stayed in a 2-bedroom Ocean View Trump Floor Suite, then a 3-bedroom Ocean Front Suite. This being my third year in a row staying at the Trump Waikiki during the December holiday season, I can say they have upheld their quality of service which reflects their top position on Trip Advisor for hotels on Oahu.

NEGATIVE: Not a big one, but you can see the wear of the carpets in the rooms. When I first stayed here, they were a bit more lush and brighter.

POSITIVE: The welcome/bell service/check-in were impressive as always with lei's and infused water and hand towels. Welcome back cards in the kitchen in both suites -- one with a complimentary birthday dessert and the other with complimentary champagne for an anniversay celebration. The two-bedroom suites are not ocean front, but still a very good view. The 3-bedroom suite have the true ocean front and are breathtaking -- sunset from the room is absolutely beautiful (see picture). The Trump Floor is naturally on the top floors of the hotel and do have a richer decor -- ours came with a whole slew of island snacks, fruit baskets, and stocked fridge of freshly squeezed oj, canned drinks, and bottled water.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My review ever! I always thought if I typed a review it would be to warn people about a bad experience but the Trump Waikiki impressed me so much, that my first review is to compliment the awesome staff at Trump. We traveled with our two daughters (7&9) and they loved the one bedroom suite with ocean view. We returned every night to find there separate pull out beds completely made with there favorite bears already tucked in and a remote control beside them, a bottle of Hawaiin artisan water at there bedside. Complimentary beach bags, boogie boards etc are handed to you with a smile every day as you head out to the beach (just across the street). Room service delivered delicious hot meals literally within ten minutes and I still don't know how they can do that!? The infinity pool is certainly not a resort style pool but our girls still loved it, and we enjoyed the hot tub on a rare cool rainy day. They offer you kindles, IPods etc. with the pool side service (another extra nice touch). I recommend the ocean view room, beautiful views and front row seats to the Friday night fireworks show from your balcony. To summarize, you will find the Trump to be more expensive than nearby hotels, but worth every penny.

Tyler C.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why save the best for last when you can have it all the time? And why stay anywhere else in Hawaii when you can stay at Trump International Hotel™ Waikiki Beach Walk®? This Hawaii luxury hotel is part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, making it one of the premier Honolulu hotels. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway.Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotel Collection to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attaché - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.