We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Save Saved
You added Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Saratoga Road, P.O. Box 88435, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxurious Suite Special
Ranked #1 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Accommodating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed only one night at the Trump Waikiki and were very impressed with the hotel, its location and the terrific service. The hotel provided a beach bag with towels, water and sunscreen for our day at the beach, then let us have a very late check-out to shower and clean up before we caught our flight back to the mainland. The breakfast buffet was an international affair, with a heavy Asian influence plus American favorites. The flatbreads at the bar/restaurant provided a yummy, reasonably-priced and filling dinner before check-out. Although this hotel is not on the beach, it is a one-block walk through a park to the best section of Waikiki beach. Other hotels that are "on-the-beach" really have no beach, so this location was great! We really enjoyed this hotel and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,064
    263
    71
    16
    14
See reviews for
491
623
52
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The staff is very welcoming, accommodating and pays attention to every detail. I loved that they prepared beach bags for the guests! My only complaints were that the pool was too small and the other guests already in the pool pretty much monopolized the space. Also I think the umbrellas and beach chairs should have been complementary.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The reviews have been right. This is not a high roller resort style hotel with a vast number of restaurants and special features, but everything is done very well and the staff are right up there with the very best. At some places you get the irksome impression that the staff are overly nice because they are worried about supervisors, cameras or other staff members so that there shmoozy inquiries into your health and well being become annoying. The Trump staff are caring very willing to help without you feeling like your skin is crawling.

The rooms are very well presented, but perhaps not at fine five star level. The couple of restaurants in the hotel are very expensive when you consider you can walk down the road and have equal quality food for less than half the price.

The concierge staff were knowledgeable and always willing to assist, without it seeming like a chore or with them being over the top.

If you want a resort type hotel, with all of the attending bling, then this is not the hotel for you. If you like to feel very well looked after and fell as if you have uncovered something a bit different with a touch of being 'special', then this is a very good option

Room Tip: The Waikiki beach end of the hotel gives you more substantial views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel lives up to its reputation from arrival to check-out. The service was near perfect, all staff are friendly and helpful. The only little glitches were a one-off lapse of service at the Wai'oulu Bar where we were a bit forgotten about. The other two times we dined here we had excellent service especially from Jaime. Would recommend the Wai'oulu for its really good Tapas food, and it has great views of the ocean.

The pool is excellent with amazing views. The size of the pool is relatively small compared to some other hotels but works well. The pool service is attentive and friendly especially from Angie. One of our pet peeves is screaming kids and we found this hotel to be pretty much kid free especially when compared to other places like the Embassy Suites which is over the road.

The hotel's breakfast restaurant In Yo is in a beautiful setting and has a good range of food including continental meats, cooked breakfast, fruits, and Japanese style food. We found it expensive at $33 + tax + tip per person. There are many good and cheaper options just a moments walk away.

The room (we were on level 12 room #1214) was very well presented. It had the mini kitchen was well appointed (full range of cooking equipment). A great bathroom with twin basins. This room also had a balcony (Lanai). TV is large, bed is good. The view was city which overlooked the pool of another hotel which was fine. If you do want a view of the ocean go for "ocean view". You will overlook a park through to the ocean. The sunsets are beautiful and the night view is also good with the lit up buildings across the park.

The Hilton lets off fireworks every Friday at 7:45pm so if you are in a room on the park side (the Bar and pool also see this) you'll get a brilliant display! We went to the beach and watched from there which is also excellent.

Overall we would definitely go back to the Trump Hotel.

Room Tip: Higher the better. Ocean side a preference if you can. Balcony a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What an amazing place! We knew when we arrived at the airport and told the taxi dispatcher that we were staying at the Trump and she said, "ooh, wow, nice" that we were in for something special! We arrived and were given a shell lei, a cool towel, and a drink. The big airy check-in on the 6th floor is delightful, and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome!

From there, we were shown our room, a wonderful partial ocean view one bedroom. We had an immense foyer, a washer and dryer, a full kitchen, an enormous bathroom, a decent sized bedroom, and a wonderful living area to rest in. I was shocked to find not only a box of Honolulu Company cookies, but also a piece of birthday cake with a personal message! Really thoughtful.

It truly doesn't get better than this. The pool was really nice and relaxing, great views of the sunset and absolute amazing pool side staff that were super nice and helped me get rid of my vog headache! They give you a beach bag to take to the beach with you with towels, bottles of water, sunscreen, and fruit. Everything you could ever need! We asked for extra towels and were given them no problem. The concierge helped us book tours and delivered the vouchers right to our room. The nightly turn down service was delightful and it was great coming home to a clean room every night after our afternoon showers from being at the beach all day.

You really really can't go wrong here. It was such an amazing stay and I appreciate all of the staff for their hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a wonderful hotel--they truly spoiled us--best hospitality of any hotel I have ever been to, EVER. We stayed there October 26-30, 2012. We booked a one-bedroom city view and were given a complimentary upgrage to a one-bedroom plus den (two full bathrooms) with a full oceanview along with a $50 meal voucher. My 6 year old's comment when she flopped into bed after watching the Friday night fireworks from our room summed it up the best: Ahhh, home sweet hotel! Even our 9 month old was comfy in the full crib (not a pack and play)! The only problem that we had was that our refrigerator must have stopped working in the middle of the night of our second night and most of our groceries had to be thrown out. They were VERY prompt about fixing it--the fan had to be replaced and it was fixed and back to normal refrigerator temperature within 4 hours of my phone call notifying them that it was not working. I was a little sad they didn't offer to replace our groceries, and I am sure they would if I had asked, but I was too sheepish to ask--the value that we got with the room, the service, and the extras such as the complimentary upgrade and meal voucher, stuffed animal, cakepops and Wii for the kiddo, fully stocked beachbags whenever we wanted, etc. surely surpassed the $50 lost in groceries! I would stay there again in a heartbeat if we returned to Oahu and Trump hotels will be first on my list if we travel to any other city where there is one. We stayed at three different hotels during our trip to Hawaii--one in Maui that felt like a normal hotel, the Trump which I wished I could have stayed in longer because it felt like a vacation home, and a third on in Oahu that made me ready to go back to my own home in Minnesota. I guess my only "complaint" is of our own doing--this is now the standard of service my family will want to compare everything else to!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had an absolutely amazing stay with partner and 2 friends. Trump was recommended by a friend of a friend. So glad we took her advice! We stayed for 4 nights in a Superior Studio with partial Ocean View. Whilst our friends stayed in a Deluxe Studio with an Ocean View. Our room had everything you needed and it was quite spacious. The deluxe was larger & complete with sofa & coffee table, the extra space came in handy as we were ordered back to our rooms for a night due to a Tsunami warning. The deluxe room comfortably housed the 4 of us for room service and TV watching. I really can't fault Trump International. The service was impeccable! From the moment we exited our cab we were greeted with warm smiles and eager staff ready to assist. We were given Lei's and at check in watermelon infused water and a cool hand towel to clean our hands. We were given early check in and a room on a high floor. The rooms were extremely clean, the bed was divine, house cleaning was always very thorough. The location was good - only one block back from the beach ( we had stayed at Sheraton Waikiki at the beginning of our trip which was right on the beach) so I did find myself comparing a little regarding the distance. The Wai'Olu bar had tasty light meals and lovely drinks. We always made a point to try and have a drink at sunset before we headed off for dinner. This hotel has it all, yes the inifinity pool is small but never had a problem with pool crowding and we weren't at Waikik primarily to swim in the pool. If you are after a touch of class far from the madding crowd this place is for you! This stay truly was the highlight of our holiday and we will be returning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, P.O. Box 88435, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why save the best for last when you can have it all the time? And why stay anywhere else in Hawaii when you can stay at Trump International Hotel™ Waikiki Beach Walk®? This Hawaii luxury hotel is part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, making it one of the premier Honolulu hotels. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway.Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotel Collection to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attaché - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;