We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxurious Suite Special
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We recently stayed at the trump for 2 nights at the start of our honeymoon. The room was well appointed, the staff all friendly and accommodating, and the restaurant/bar on the lobby level had great food and drinks! Especially the Mai tai!!!

The only downfall was the pool, which is reasonably small and filled with kiddies! My husband was at one point climbed all over!!! But at the end of the day did this really bother us? Not particularly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    287
    77
    18
    17
See reviews for
533
682
56
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

this is a great place. we stayed in a 2 br suite for 2 nights. even though it's not on the beach (quick one block walk), it's out of the general waikiki fray, which is good for us, and service is the absolute tops. room service was super fast, good quality, staff were absolutely great on every level. lobby "bar" is surprisingly ok, overlooking the urban landscape. not that i would hang there, but it was fine for a cocktail & lunch waiting for check-in.

the room was a very nice condo-style place, beautiful view of the ocean, serene decor, well-appointed kitchen. excellent combination of condo accommodations and serious hotel services.

the pool was only so-so, but for an urban environ, it was fine, and the kids had a good time. order a mai tai - they're great - chill in the hot tub, chat with tourists from all over the world....pretty nice.

can't wait to go back, this will be our new home away from home in honolulu. highest recommendation.

Room Tip: high floor, ocean view is what we had. totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We were looking for a quality, luxury hotel and usually book through the AMEX Platinum card program. This Trump isn't affiliated with AMEX so we took a chance that the Trump would be better than the Halekalani where we stayed 2 years ago, and it was. Its newer, cleaner, more modern (technology), and the rooms are spacious and much better equipped with a kitchen, large bathrooms and washer/dryer. The personal touches are notable including the treats (cookies/chocolate and fresh juices) left for us upon entering the room, the gourmet coffee and user friendly coffee pot (with milk in the fridge), and a couple of DVD's left for my son to watch. The toiletries were great too. Oh, and lots of free bottled water.

We joined the Trump Program (free) which offers an upgrade if available -- granted to us when we checked in -- and free wi-fi -- a luxury I'm now expecting at hotels (I've stopped staying at the Four Seasons for that reason alone). We traveled with our 8 year old son and were pleasantly surprised that the pool and pool deck were lovely (from the reviews, we were concerned it would be too small and cramped.) Even though the beach is a minimal walk, its close and the concierge sends you off with towels, water, and a fruit snack. The restaurant serves a fabulous breakfast buffet (which costs $32 for adults and $16 for kids but our son was often comp'ed) and the location of the hotel is ideal with close proximity to great shopping, restaurants and major roads to get out of town.

I've been reading Trip Advisor reviews for 3 years now and it was this hotel that prompted me to finally write my first review. We were impressed.

Room Tip: partial ocean view is perfectly fine. Request a higher floor since the nearby hotels have outdoor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAWAII
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

If you are a first time visitor thinking this is an oceanfront property based on the pictures, you would be wrong. The Trump is a beautiful tall hotel, surrounded by very busy streets and over a block from the beach. That being said, the rooms and all the amenities are first class. However, the beachfront, resort like, laid back relaxing atmosphere is non existent. Luxury sterile is how I would put it. I tried to like this place a lot, but you still have to exit the hotel, cross a road and walk through a path (or through an alley.......shortcut) to get to the beach. The HALEKULANI across the street and on the beach is a fantastic resort.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Very warm welcome at the Trump. Only stayed one night; Oct 31st, last year. I arrived in the morning, but they managed to get a room ready for me shortly after noon. I got a nice view on an upper floor that included a view of the ocean. Hotel room has loads of space as well as the bathroom.
Nice pool area.
Because my flight out was late the following evening, they gave me a 4 p.m. checkout, at no extra charge. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Trump was AMAZING!!!!! I can totally understand why it is number one. We arrived very early and we had a lovely breakfast while we waited for our room to be ready. They were able to get our room ready much earlier than anticipated and after a long flight it was greatly appriciated.

The room (Ocean view) was wonderful. Kitchen and bathroom were fantastic and the view was amazing. They also have very comfy beds.

It is a very easy walk to the beach and to the shops. We even walked to Ala Moana (Which is a longer walk).

Can't wait to go back :)

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View Room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed in three different hotels in Waikiki, and this by far, was the best experience. Although the last hotel we stayed at was an oceanfront room at The Outrigger Reef with a beautiful view, and The Trump is not oceanfront (across the street from the beach), the staff, service, experience, and the million "little details" at The Trump, definitely make up for the oceanfront room. Every member of the staff from the bellhop to the conceirage to the cleaning staff are amazing - they anticipate your every need (including pamphlets for running routes, beach bags, and information on everything you could imagine). The turn down service is a real treat, too. All things considered, including that it's not oceanfront hotel and the pool area is a bit small, if you are looking for a quieter hotel but still experience Waikiki, The Trump is the way to go. I will rave about this place for years to come!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why save the best for last when you can have it all the time? And why stay anywhere else in Hawaii when you can stay at Trump International Hotel™ Waikiki Beach Walk®? This Hawaii luxury hotel is part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, making it one of the premier Honolulu hotels. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway.Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotel Collection to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attaché - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.