We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Royal Garden Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Garden Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Olohana Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lumberton, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here only one night, as we rented a home on the beach for a week. We had a 2 bedroom/2bth presidential with full kitchen & laundry. Wow! We were pleasantly surprised at how gorgeous it was! Very tastefully decorated & tons of room! Upscale furnishings, comfy beds & the master bath was huge. Nice ocean/city views from living/kitchen/bedroom areas. We were somewhat disappointed that the spare room had a king bed; would've rather had two twins for teens. Staff was very friendly & helpful. There is a valet charge of $30 a day (yikes) but parking in Waikiki is awful so I guess that's why. Location wasn't the best, but we walked downtown in no time & the beach didn't seem that far. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Presidential suites are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    91
    30
    13
    18
See reviews for
42
96
16
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Royal Garden was a great place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a studio. It was very clean and comfortable. It was nice to have a small kitchen in the room. It was about a half mile walk from the beach, shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Royal Garden is a Wyndham Timeshare, however it really is a hotel without the timeshare amenities. The rooms are well appointed (recently refurbished) with comfortable beds. They all have a microwave and a small refrigerator. Bathrooms are small but OK. The location is on the canal side of Waikiki and about a twenty minute walk to the beach. If touring and sightseeing is your goal the Royal Garden is fine. If you are looking for the beach scene you will be sadly disappointed. The doormen are wonderful as are the Expedia girls. Vits, on the corner, is a great place for breakfast, lunch, and/or dinner. Good prices and food. Ask for Wendy at breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side actually have a balcony and if you are lucky you can see Diamondhead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Even though this was a timeshare stay for us, it felt like an upscale hotel. Renovated rooms, very clean, and quiet for the most part (heard a party going on above us one night). Very nice staff. One tip is that you can park on the street overnight on certain nights for free. Otherwise you can valet park for a fee on site. Close to bus stations and about 20 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The pictures on-line do not do justice to this fine property. As much as I hate my timeshare, Wyndam has wonderful hotel. You walk in the doors and; the staff is very friendly, the lobby is great, and the room are nice. We rented a Studio and 1-bedroom and both rooms are fully equiped. I rate the 'value' as average because it's a timeshare.

Room Tip: 1-Bedroom Presidential Suite, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at the Royal Garden and had a lovely time. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the grounds are clean and well kept. The only down side is the location. A little ways from many of the shops and in amongst some seedy buildings. But all in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room was very nice. We had a small kitchenette (microwave, fridge, coffee pot, sink, dishes) which was nice. We would pick up groceries from the ABC store and stored them in our fridge. We really only ever bought breakfast food because you couldn't really cook anything. The only reason I can't give this place a 5 star rating is because it lacked a restaurant and valet parking was a little costly. We ended up not using the car as much as we thought we would because the hotel is relatively close to shops and restaurants. We just found it easier to walk to most places. With that said the people working the valet were VERY nice. We loved that we could book excursions through our hotel too. They were very helpful -- we just wish we could have had room service which would have been nice on our honeymoon. We were gifted our stay (minus timeshare transfer fee) so we can't complain much! Definitely was an amazing deal for us! Next time we'd want to stay closer to the beach or outside of the city where it's more open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Garden Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Waikiki

Address: 440 Olohana Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Garden Waikiki 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Garden at Waikiki offers hotel rooms with a variety of views; and one- and two-bedroom suites featuring large bedrooms with plenty of closets and storage space, spacious living areas, Italian marble bathrooms with separate shower and bathtub, and private lanais and balconies. Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a romantic getaway or extended family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Royal Garden Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.