We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wyndam Royal Garden Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Royal Garden Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Royal Garden Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Olohana Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Discount
Ranked #25 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wyndam Royal Garden Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The pictures on-line do not do justice to this fine property. As much as I hate my timeshare, Wyndam has wonderful hotel. You walk in the doors and; the staff is very friendly, the lobby is great, and the room are nice. We rented a Studio and 1-bedroom and both rooms are fully equiped. I rate the 'value' as average because it's a timeshare.

Room Tip: 1-Bedroom Presidential Suite, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    84
    28
    14
    20
See reviews for
37
88
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at the Royal Garden and had a lovely time. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the grounds are clean and well kept. The only down side is the location. A little ways from many of the shops and in amongst some seedy buildings. But all in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room was very nice. We had a small kitchenette (microwave, fridge, coffee pot, sink, dishes) which was nice. We would pick up groceries from the ABC store and stored them in our fridge. We really only ever bought breakfast food because you couldn't really cook anything. The only reason I can't give this place a 5 star rating is because it lacked a restaurant and valet parking was a little costly. We ended up not using the car as much as we thought we would because the hotel is relatively close to shops and restaurants. We just found it easier to walk to most places. With that said the people working the valet were VERY nice. We loved that we could book excursions through our hotel too. They were very helpful -- we just wish we could have had room service which would have been nice on our honeymoon. We were gifted our stay (minus timeshare transfer fee) so we can't complain much! Definitely was an amazing deal for us! Next time we'd want to stay closer to the beach or outside of the city where it's more open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our 3 week trip to the islands. I was able to get a discount price on the room thru another website and was very satisfied with our stay. The rooms were fairly spacious, very clean and had a great balcony on which to sit and have a glass of wine at the end of a long day. The small kitchenette was a plus. I always try to reserve rooms with a small refrigerator. I cannot say enough good things about the staff. Every single one of the that we had any dealings with at all were unfailing friendly, helpful & knowledgable. This friendliness extends to the valet that handled our car to the front desk to the concierge desk. We booked both a Pearl Harbor tour and a submarine tour with their excellent help. I would definitely stay at this hotel again - especially if I can get another discounted rate!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great stay at Royal Garden. The room was very clean and modern. Although it is not as close to the beach but it's only a few blocks away. A little walk to everything. The valet parking is a little high compare to the other hotels. Staff were nice and friendly. Bed was very comfy and
massage shower heads were relaxing. We used our timeshare points so don't know how the price comparison would be. I will go back to Royal Garden again at anytime. But I have to book it way in advance since it is a very popular place for vacationers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean - all the staff is very nice. It had a complete kitchenette, but the downside is that there really are no grocery stores nearby that we found. There are a ton of convenience stores. There are WalMarts, etc., but not that we found in walking distance (so, could have been, we just didn't find it!) We are East Coasters, so were wide awake at 2 am with the time change - it would have been nice if the gym were open 24 hours. It opened at 7 am and closed at 10 or 11 pm. There is a nice, free laundry with 10 or 12 machines. I was aware of this from reading other reviewers, so took the Tide pods with me on vacation, and did all our laundry the morning before we came home. That was great!! Business center was nice - 3 computers to use with printers There is no restaurant on site. You will be offered to go to Wyndham's time share presentation - we went early in the AM since we were up and received $100 & free breakfast buffet at the Shorebird - so we put the gift card towards a nice dinner at Duke's & the breakfast buffet was awesome. Easy walk to the beach, helps work off those dinners! Nice little pub on the way back - Bamboozle that had great drink specials until 8 pm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff was amazing. They were super helpful with all our needs. I would definitely stay at this location again. This location is not right by the beach rather it is closer to the lake side. The hotel is clean and the price/night is certainly reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Garden Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Waikiki

Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 440 Olohana Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Garden Waikiki 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Garden at Waikiki offers hotel rooms with a variety of views; and one- and two-bedroom suites featuring large bedrooms with plenty of closets and storage space, spacious living areas, Italian marble bathrooms with separate shower and bathtub, and private lanais and balconies. Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a romantic getaway or extended family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Royal Garden Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.