We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Garden Waikiki to your Saves list
Royal Garden Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   440 Olohana Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very clean, which is most important to me! We stayed in a studio with a kitchenette, which is nice to make small meals like breakfast. Walking distance to the beach and all of Waikiki. My two gripes are: 1. parking is $30 per night, even though booking websites advertise it as $25 per night (which is insane anyway) 2. the street noise is quite excessive, especially when the trash is picked up daily and when large vans and trucks are backing up in front of the hotel at ungodly hours like 4am, this happens A LOT. We were on the 11th floor and we were definitely disturbed by it.

*TIP: if you end up staying here park on Ala Wei next to the canal for free but, read the signs about street cleaning and move your car to avoid being towed

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    133
    36
    15
    22
See reviews for
55
156
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The title that came up when I searched for this hotel was "Wyndham Vacation Resorts Royal Garden at Waikiki." It's not exactly a resort...but definitely a nice hotel. Off the main strip in Waikiki, it's pretty quiet and has ammenities such as a microwave, fridge, business center, laundry room, gym, and pool. I didn't get to see the pool as we spent most of our time at the beach, but it looked to be pretty small. Convenient location- walking distance to the main strip in Waikiki and about a 1/2 mile walk to Waikiki beach (not a far walk at all).

I'm not sure if this is the Hotel's fault or Hotwire's fault, but the hotel did oversell their rooms, which caused a huge headache for me and the bf. I booked through Hotire and received an email just as I landed that my hotel (booked through hotwire) would not accept our reservation and to call 1-866-430-4981, but the person didn't know anything about the situation and transferred me. I got transferred about 3-4 times before someone finally understood the situation and started to look for a new hotel for us. There was only a place that was about $2000 a night, per the rep, and so they were able to negotiate with our original hotel to accept our reservation.

I spent about perhaps an hour, if not more- most of it on hold, trying to figure things out. It was extremely frustrating, confusing, and to top it off, I had just gotten off the plane and hadn't eaten since 3am Arizona time (it was about 12:30pm HI time). It would have been nice if we were alerted at least 24 hours in advance to deal with the situation then.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level Contributor
233 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We only had a studio during our stay, and since we didn't spend a lot of time in it, it was adequate. The room itself was about the size of a hotel room with the kitchen area making it a little bigger. The bed was super hard & made getting a good night sleep very difficult. (unless you like super-firm beds). We stayed on the 9th floor & it was very noisy. There were sirens at all hours, loud motorcycles, etc... We talked to other guests & it seems the higher your floor, the less you'll be bothered by the noise. The view at night time is beautiful from the balcony. The building itself is very nice, with a lot of amenities. There is a computer room, laundry room (free), exercise room, etc... The beach is about a 10 minute walk, if that, & shops & restaurants are all within walking distance. The best thing this place has going for it is the staff. Awesome people! They were all so friendly & always went out of their way to help us & make us feel welcome. Even if everything else had been negative, the staff would have more than made up for it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less outside noise & rooms on the North side would probably be quieter, also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, OR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a studio room with a kitchenette and it was great for 2 people. Enough room for a couple, but not more than 2 people. They offered free wireless internet, but we had consistently bad reception and it only worked about 1/2 of the time. On site laundry was nice, but there are only about 8 or 10 washers/dryers, so we ran into a line and ended up drying clothes on a line once. The rooms come with a nice HDTV flat screen, DVD player, and sound system to hook up your Ipods. All in all, a great place if you want to be in Waikiki. It was only about a 5 minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: If one person of a couple likes to sleep in, the studio may be a bit tight unless the early riser de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeoville, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What makes this a real gem is its staff, my kudo goes out to Aaron and Joemar, they went above and beyond helping these 2 sick girls feel welcome. The reservations we made got cancelled due to miscommunication from their res center, Aaron and Joe worked on securing the only room in the hotel for us due to Pro Footbal weekend.

Joe and Joemar also were able to secure the room we had originally booked the next day but we liked the patio that came with our room.

The room itself had a a small table, small sink and micro and a fridge. The TV is a nice size and in the evening we could see the lights on the hill where the people live. The area around the hotel is why its not a five star, The apartment building next to the hotel and to the ABC stores is kinda run down and debris was scattered arounf the lawn. It looked like it was garbage day but the garbage was never picked up.They were working on fixing the place up whe we were leaving so that might be an improvement

There are busses and free trolleys nearby. We took a trolley to Hilo Hattie and the bus driver gave a tour of all the local areas getting there, Hilo Hattie is a recommended spot for all the local flair in shopping from shirts to hula dancing girls. What fun

The beach is a six block walk but it was pleasant and walked by the Trump hotel which has been here for about a year.. Breakfast place we walked by has a 45 minute wait on any given day so we opted for Dennys. Tried and true.

We enjoyed dinner at the cheese factory only to discover that they had a fire in the kitchen a few days later hope all is well as it was delish. We had th salmon. I had the godiva chocolate cheesecake and my friend had the strawberry cheesecake both to die for.

We had lunch at the Hard Rock cafe, You walk in to their gift shop first then take the elavator or walk up the stairs. Their menu is good and you could be seated inside or out. Macaroni and cheese was good but a little spicy for my taste. They have an awesome guitar collection of the walls on the ceiling of the place.

Oh I forgot to mention the lobby of the hotel has the most beautiful chandeliers ever. They have several but the main one in the center of the lobby is awesome, whoever found them found some real gems there,

Overall I would recommend this hotel/timeshare because of their staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Wonderful boutique style lodgings located near Ala Wai Canal in Honolulu's ,Waikiki district. Our unit was a large one bedroom studio with a canal view Lanai. The unit came with a Queen sized bed located next to large sliding glass door/floor to ceiling window. This allowed for to greeting the day by watching the sin rise over the Koʻolau Range mountains. The adjoining kitchen area ,with its efficient sized refrigerator and microwave is perfect for making yourself a cup of Kona coffee from your complimentary stock. After freshening up in the unit's good sized on-suite which like the rest of the studio have been recently been renovated,a sit on the Lanai watching the goings on of the neighbourhood is a relaxing way to start the day.
The Royal Garden features a nice pool area with nearby grills. It is shaded during the day so the water was on the cool side.
While staying @ R.G.W ,one is a short walk to Ft .De Russy Beach Park,Ainahau Triangle,Ala Wai Park and trolley /transit stops to Waikiki Beach ,Diamond Head and all the other tourist destinations in Waikiki.
The staff is wonderful and welcoming. They will make you feel like Ohana (this so typically Hawaiian). Ask at the concierge desk ,when wanting to book excursions or make dinner reservations or even ask for local maps or car rentals.. The staff is again quite wonderful.
There are several ABC stores in the general area ,as well as restaurants. Be warned prices are expensive! A better deal is a bit of a hike to the Food Pantry on Kuhio Ave,still pricey but not as much as the ABC'S.
The area around the RGH seems a bit sketchy but we experienced no problems ,even when returning in the late evening. There is on site security and the resort is quite quiet in the evening and overnight.
I will say the Royal Garden Waikiki is a great value whilst on vacation in Honolulu.
Aloha!

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view,we had a canal view,nice but I hear the view on the other side are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Honolulu was just a several day stop over between Islands to see Pearl Harbor. Since it was only 2 nights on a 2 week vacation we just looked for something reasonably priced in an expensive city. We feared we would be staying in a run down old facility. What a pleasant surprise my wife and I had. A lovely quiet suite, in a great location, with very friendly staff is what awaited us. Wish we could have taken this place with us on the other Islands.

Room Tip: Did not have there own resteraunt but there are many within a short walk. Do not have daily maid s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.4 mi away
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
0.2 mi away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Waikiki

Address: 440 Olohana Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Garden Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Garden at Waikiki offers hotel rooms with a variety of views; and one- and two-bedroom suites featuring large bedrooms with plenty of closets and storage space, spacious living areas, Italian marble bathrooms with separate shower and bathtub, and private lanais and balconies. Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a romantic getaway or extended family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Garden Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.