We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Garden Waikiki to your Saves list
Royal Garden Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   440 Olohana Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I should start by saying that Aaron at the front desk was so nice. He has a lot of energy and is ready to help any way he can. We stayed in 1512 it was a corner unit with a pretty good view. We had a view of the mountains to the right and if you looked between a couple of buildings you could see Waikiki beach. There is not a lot of drawer space, so keep that in mind. I left some things in my suitcase so they needed to be ironed. The iron leaked all over, I called the desk and they had housekeeping bring me a new one in about 5 minutes. They do not have a hot tub at this location which I was a little disappointed about after an 8 hour flight. All in all it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    133
    36
    15
    22
See reviews for
54
156
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We really liked the location of this resort. It is away from the crowd yet only a few minutes walk to all the shops and restaurants. The $25 parking fee seems high for the area. We had a studio which is adequate for our travel needs. The free Wi-fi is nice. There is also a media room with three PCs. We printed our boarding passes before we checked out. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I couldn't get the Wyndham by the beach so I had to settle for this location and at the end, it was okay.
The staff is excellent... they open the door everytime we walk up and say "Welcome Back!" Front desk is helpful and the Concierge, even though they try to get you to one of the presentations, are not pushy and willing to give you directions. Only maid service on Wednesdays... which was a bummer... and they do not do dishes. Speaking of dishes... only two of each and no range in the room. It says "suite" but it's the size of a regular room... small area for the fridge, sink, toaster, microwave and coffee maker.
Loved the balcony! the sunrise is beautiful then it gets too bright to be out there... our scenery was very nice with the tall buildings in front, the canal with the mountains on the left and the ocean a distant right side. The NOISE IS BAD! You are in downtown! I was on the 9th floor and the honking, electric saws, motorcycle racing, back up beeping from the trucks, sirens, etc woke me up several times even with the balcony door closed!
You are a few minutes from the bus stops, shops, ABC Store, Vit's Steakhouse (good cheap breakfast and happy hour drinks) and BEACH! Love being close to everything.
No restaurant nor bar in the hotel... they give you coffee at the front desk and there is always cold water when you return.
Safe in the closet... some drawer space and hangers for your clothes. Bathroom is small and a little dark but full mirror by the front door so you can see what you look like before you leave the room. This hotel is only 2 years old (renovated) so it's pretty modern and the furniture is nice... Lobby has chandeliers and nice art frescoes on the ceiling. Small pool, sauna room but no hot tub... Everything is very neat and clean... A-1 for cleanliness!
I would come back and request a room on a higher floor. Aloha!

Room Tip: Request higher floor... the higher the better to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

we jumped over from Maui , i wasnt impressed with location ,however rooms are immaculate , media room top notch , small workout room but adequate, laundry . it was close and easy to walk for shopping purpose. staff was fantastic. if i were to return to this area again i would stay with no hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Gardens during the second week of our honeymoon in Hawaii. We had just stayed at a pretty lack-luster resort through RCI in Kauai, so our expectations were pretty low. The Royal Gardens has clearly been renovated - the lobby is really nice and the rooms were also well done. Everything was really clean and up to date and the front desk was pretty helpful.

A few dings: the timeshare folks downstairs were mildly aggressive. On our first morning in the hotel, we even had a gal call our room at 8am to ask if we'd want to join a timeshare sales meeting. Uh, no? Especially if you call me at 8am on vacation. Pretty inconsiderate. Also, the hotel has a pool - but no hot tub. Kind of a bummer - since you really don't need a pool given the beach is a 10 minute walk away.

The location of this hotel is pretty great - just a few minutes from the main street in Waikiki - we could pretty much walk everywhere. We did rent a car for two days to visit other parts of the island and that seemed totally sufficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is now owned by Wyndham and is a timeshare property. It is in a fabulous location between the Ala Wai canal and Waikiki Beach. It's close to the Hale Koa (for the military and DoD personnel) and is in walking distance to the shops, restaurants, everything. The staff is so graceous and professional and the rooms are spacious, modern, and very clean. We stayed for two weeks and enjoyed every moment. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the front of the building. These rooms have the larger balconies and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I cannot complain anything about this resort. It's walking distance to the busy street of Kalakaua ave. but it's located in a quiet part of Waikiki. Out family felt safe in the area and the staff was really friendly and made sure we were taken care of. Rooms were renovated and looks modern. We did not get to use the amenities of the resort so I cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.2 mi away
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Waikiki

Address: 440 Olohana Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Garden Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Garden at Waikiki offers hotel rooms with a variety of views; and one- and two-bedroom suites featuring large bedrooms with plenty of closets and storage space, spacious living areas, Italian marble bathrooms with separate shower and bathtub, and private lanais and balconies. Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a romantic getaway or extended family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Garden Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.