We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
1137 11th Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
(808) 735-1122
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #488 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If i blinked i would have missed it. But thanks to a friend, I tried it for the first time.

We brought our own wine, and sat down to eat. Started off with the samosas at the suggest of our waitress. It was very good.. upon first look, i thought they were going to be heavy and oily, but to my surprise, they were neither. Just a really good way to start our meal.

We each chose a dish and decided to share. So we ended up with lamb curry and lamb vindaloo, and requested the spicy versions of both. We shared a bowl of rice and an order of naan bread. Both dishes were very flavorful and mouth wateringly delish.

I'm definitely glad my friend told me about this place and will be going back with more friends next time. And maybe.. just maybe I'll be game enough to try the "nepali heat" version of the curry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hana, Maui
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

On my first visit the food and service were OK but the next time, the cook /chef had just quit and foolishly we waited for an hour to find out the cook had quit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Food fit for a Dalai Lama in Heart of Honolulu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

An authentic Himalayan experience in Hawaii ... with a master chef in the kitchen, the food is clean, well proportioned, nan was perfect, the interiors in very comfortable and authentic... but the prize is eating with a view from the balcony toward Manoa Valley overlooking historic Waialae Ave a very trendy part of today's Honolulu. The service was perfect.. professional, the chef came out to see what we thought of the MADRAS MADNESS: Combination of lamb, shrimp, salmon and paneer cooked in a medium to hot sauce prepared with tomatoes and coconut milk... and the SHERPA CHICKEN CHILI: Boneless chicken battered then cooked with bell pepper, onions, pineapple, and a touch of mildly spiced tomato sauce, LAMB BIRYANI: Lamb pieces cooked with curry seasoned basmati rice, cashew nuts, raisins and peas, SAAG PANNER: Ground spinach cooked with homemade cheese, ginger root and mild spices.
$12... great for a group.. plenty outdoor seating in the back and a stage for presenting some Indian musicians and even dance party.. love the atmosphere, and the food a delightful chef secret balance between India, Tibet, Nepal and Chinese influences.. clean spirit.. there is no MSG... but there is plenty of love, care, time and aloha in this preparation and creation of these culinary gifts... that you could eat almost every day as there are so many options and tastes and no need for so much meat.. highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We like the food at this restaurant; however, I should warn against the tables on the lani (porch) that faces the street. Last night as we began to enjoy their good food on that lani the occasional whiffs of garbage from the dumpster just below did not go well with that food and dulled my appetite a bit. Their Inside area or their other lani should be free of the unpleasant stench by the street.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLAND
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed setting and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

On site (previous review of their catering service) enjoyed the many menu choices (Indian and Nepalise),many vegetarian items, servers were most pleasant and attentive. One of lanai locations still pleasant in cooler ,breezy weather.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalayan Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.