We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Banyan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Banyan to your Saves list
Waikiki Banyan
201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Caloundra, Australia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Booked on line through Koko Resorts. We had booked 2508 after seeing Trip Advisor reviews however we discovered ripped curtains so we went to Koko management ( who were already on their way to arrange another unit) and they moved us up 5 floors to 3012. We were so glad as this apartment had much better furnishings than the other. Don't expect 5 star though, the complex is old and the public areas are tired. The location is superb, just one block from the beach with eateries close by.
Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    157
    62
    14
    10
See reviews for
182
54
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We've stayed here 4 times now, the last time renting through Koko resorts. If you are sure you are going to stay here, it's great deal. Koko offers free parking, use of beach towels, sand chairs, boogie boards, etc. there is a large choice of 1bedrooms, some recently refurbished.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We rented privately and had an awesome condo on the 36th floor! The view was fantastic and included the ocean and Waikiki Beach, Diamondhead crater and the City. The location of this property is great too. Just two short blocks to the water and shops and restaurants. For the price it was a great deal. Our unit also included free parking which was a huge bonus. The reason I would give it just a little above average has to do with the common facilities. There is a nice little coffee shop in the building and a small store for sundries. When I say little and small, that is what I mean. The pool area was frankly kind of yucky. It is surrounded by green indoor/outdoor carpeting which is even more disgusting when it is wet. It was busy when we were there so the pool was being used a lot. By mid afternoon, the pool seemed dirty and the area around the pool had lots of litter and clutter. It was not a pleasant place to relax. There is also a small store near the pool that was very unimpressive. The pros for us were the actual unit and the location. The cons were basically the common facilities including the laundry, the pool and recreation area and the stores.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Me & three of my friends just got back from our 6 night stay in Room 1412 - Tower 1. We booked our accommodation through KoKo Resorts (http://www.kokoresorts.com) and what a great experience that was. Did it all online and then when we arrived just went straight up to our room, punched in the code at the door and we were in. Didn't have to talk to anyone, need a key or tip anyone - was just so easy. Inside the room was great, there were three single beds in the bedroom which were comfy and a great sofa bed in the lounge area. The kitchen was big and the ocean view was lovely from the balcony . The bathroom was fairly small though, especially for four people and there were some unnecessary "Hawaiian" decorations, but overall we thought it was great value. KoKo Resorts have an office on Level 5 and here you can get fresh towels, extra toilet paper, soap, etc. They also have chairs & boogie boards for the beach - all for free! The hotel is a short stroll to the beach and all the shops on the main drag. There is also a bus & trolley stop just across the street. We caught bus 8 to the Ala Moana Center for $2.50 and if you are ready to come back within 2.5 hours the return fare is free. We shopped up a storm though and spent several days there! I must also recommend the little coffee shop downstairs in the Banyon. Lovely coffee and highly recommend the homemade banana muffins - just beautiful. They also have the internet if needed, but free WiFi and parking was included in our room, so that was an added bonus. We hired a car through Budget, but we actually booked it online over there as it was quite a lot cheaper than walking in off the street. Driving around was pretty easy and the local people are all really friendly. So overall we would definitely recommend the Waikiki Banyon. Its not 5 star by any means and it could do with a bit of a makeover, but we wanted to spend our money on shopping, not hotel luxury, so it was perfect for us. We will definitely come back here next time and book through Koko Resorts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We booked our unit through CIMY Hawaii. They offer a choice of Waikiki Banyan condos at varying prices. You can see photos of all their units at www.cimyhawaii.com. Because CIMY's prices are so good, you should book early. I hesitated before putting down a deposit on one unit and by the next day someone else had booked it. Fortunately, Unit 1714 in Tower 2 then became available. Unit 1714 is one of the larger one-bedroom condos on the 17th floor. It has a view of Waikiki beach from the living room sliding glass door and a view of Diamond Head from the small kitchen window. Although Tower 2 offers the best views of Waikiki Beach, part of our view was blocked by another high rise building. For the best view you need to book a much higher floor, but then the cost will be higher too. We paid only $105 a night, plus a one-time $50 cleaning fee. Parking was included, which was a big bonus, since parking in the Waikiki area is exorbitant. Unit 1714 was beautifully decorated and the kitchen had granite counters. The only downside was the bedroom was very small, but that seems to be the case with all the condos at the Waikiki Banyan. The location is great. Four blocks inland from the beach. All areas of Waikiki within walking distance. Yet close enough to an alternate street to drive to other areas of Honolulu while avoiding the constant traffic on the streets next to the beach. CIMY Hawaii has an office on the fourth floor of Tower 1 and is very responsive. Although we didn't have a chance to try it, we were told that the little snack stand (offering udon noodles and other Asian dishes) by the Waikiki Banyan pool is very good.

Room Tip: Get a condo in Tower 2 on a high floor for the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Enjoyed our 8 nights at the Banyan Waikiki in unit 704. This unit is managed by Captain Cook Resorts. We were asked to call ahead and were greeted by Byron Wickard at the property. Even though there was plenty of parking, he made a great effort to direct us to an available parking spot. (He jogged into the lot and up the ramps to direct us -- wow!) Once in the unit he gave us an overview of the unit and details of the property. Thanks Bryon for being a great host.

Location: Just one block from Kuhio Beach, and minutes from San Souci, Kapiolani Park, the zoo and virtually everything else.

The unit: Newly updated and clean. New tile floors and furniture. Checkout Captain Cook Resorts http://www.captaincookresorts.com/Unit.mvc/Details/62518 There are two double beds and a double sleeper sofa, so theorectically, you can sleep 5. I would recommend four adults maximum or two adults and children. The "bedroom" can be closed-off with a sliding door.You overlook the roof-top grill/swimming pool area, so there may be some light noise from fellow tourist/residents. **This is Waikiki so be prepared to hear sirens, chatter, et al. I'm a city dweller and live on a busy street, so sleep was not a problem.

Kitchen: Full-sized refrigerater, oven and microwave. All you need to cook meals and store leftovers.

Bathroom: toilet and bath are in one room seperated by slider door. May be a bit tight for the typical American; the toilet is 9 inches from the tub. The sink/vanity is large with ample storage. Two hairdryers available, as well as some cleaning supplies.

Bedroom: houses two double beds, a dresser and large nightstand that can be used as a dresser. Closet has safe, iron, ironing board, boogie boards, two sets of snorkels (fins 9-13 mens only), beach toys, and loads of extra towels.

Pool area: the pool is small and designed more for the kiddies, but nice to splash around. Mornings and early afternoon best for sunning.

Parking lot: spaces were always available. The attendants were friendly. Park on level three (or waste time trolling) near the elevator banks and you can get to and from unit 704 in a jiffy.

Other: Coin-operated laundry ($1.50 to wash or dry) and trash disposal is past the elevators and down the hall

Even though the unit is located across the from the elevators it was quiet throughout our stay. This is a lower unit, but you still get a peek-a-boo view of the water and Diamond Head (see pics). Overall, a great value and excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Waikiki Banyan!! Dang, how do I rate this place. First off, I get the condo here through my Dad's friend who owns a couple of them. I make my yearly visits here and I love the place. Based off my Dad's friends condo's they are super nice and really roomy. It's more of an apartment than a hotel. I just went back again a couple of months ago and there was 6 of us who stayed in the room. It was more than enough room for everyone. Ya the 1 bathroom sucks but it's cool. While someone's in the shower just relax on the lanai and look at the water or diamond head and inhale the tropical air.

The location is convienent too. It's not in the middle of Waiks (Waikiki) so you can get out of town easily to escape the busy town life and enjoy other parts of the island. When it's time to settle down at night, the location goes in your favor as well because there are restaurants and shops that are all within walking distance and of course you have to experience walking on Kalakaua at night, especially if your a first timer on O'ahu.

Back to the property..to me it's great! The pool area has artficial grass around it which is cool. There is a basketball court available to play ball on and my favorite part...the BBQ area down below that has BBQ grills for your use. Basically it's like a washing machine. You put 4 quarters in and the bbq grill turns on and you start cooking!

Pretty good way to save money plus who wouldn't want to bbq in hawaii!! Get some fresh coconuts and your game! My Dad throws down some steaks, shrimp, and other food mixed in with some lomi salmon, tako poki and we grub. Of course you have to have a can of guava or lilikoi juice on hand!

5 star rating for ME on the banyan. Again, the rooms I stay in are privately owned by my Dad's friend so my rooms are probably different from the others. If anyone is looking to rent a condo for a great price I will be more than happy to link you up with my Dad's friend. He'll work with you so you and your family can have a great Hawaiian stay. Aloha folks!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Banyan

Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 bedroom 1 bath condos at the Waikiki Banyan. Each unit sleeps 5. All units have been beautifully refurbished and offer high quality furnishings as well as high thread count sheets and ultra soft bath towels for your comfort. All units have ocean views and come with free parking...free internet access as well as beach chairs, beach towels, beach umbrellas, boogie boards and sand toys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Banyan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.