We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bang for your Buck!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Banyan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Banyan to your Saves list
Waikiki Banyan
201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
calgary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Bang for your Buck!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Once again, we had the best time ever in Honolulu. I highly recommend the Waikiki Banyan. Close to the beach, 1.5 blk walk, close to Burger King, McDonalds, shopping, Food Pantry Grocery store. We stayed on the 36th floor with a breath taking view of the ocean, Diamond Head and the city! We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and they provided us with a box of chocolates and a bottle of champagne along with a personalized card from the manager! Great for visitors of all ages...The staff is wonderful!!!!! We always recommend it and will continue to! We had clean towels every day and they clearly post clean bed linens every 3rd day, but you could easily request it if you wanted it more often. They have a barbq area, very very clean, great pool with lots of chairs for everyone! Can't wait to go again! **Expedia rep at the front desk, very easy to book any kind of tour you want and they are very experienced**

Room Tip: 3606, great room and an awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    157
    63
    14
    10
See reviews for
182
54
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I would return despite how my title sounds. The room was very average. Definitely could use some updating. The Murphy Bed was extremely uncomfortable to the point that my 17 year old daughter slept in the middle of me and my 71 year old mom on the king bed. The king bed was beyond comfortable - extremely super duper comfortable. The room was clean and the room amenities were fine. As for the staff - there is no staff. Like another reviewer put - you can go to the 4th floor on Tuesday for linen exchange and that is your only contact with staff. I asked at the front desk if they could print my boarding passes. I was directed to the coffee shop where they charge to use the internet and $0.40 per page to print. Very disappointing. I have never been shoved away for boarding passes and it's not like you can print them ahead of time. The coffee shop was excellent though. They have the BEST coffee and the guy who works there remembers you! I can't remember what else I asked the front desk for but that was a NO too. Also, if you plan on using the bbq area, bring quarters. It costs $2 per hour and it only takes quarters. Also, be sure to bring all necessary utensils and plates. If you ask the guy at the snack bar for paper plates he charges $0.25 per paper plate. I know it sounds like I am nit-picking.... but it all adds up. I have been to 2 star motels and 5 star luxury hotels..... I have never been nit-picked for quarters before or denied the printing of boarding passes. Other than that... the hotel is in a great location and that is why I would return. The room was comfortable enough. Just keep in mind that you are on your own and you will do fine and have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta Brithish Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Just returned from 10 great days at the Waikiki Banyan. We stayed in suite 2107. The Condo owner Debbie was fantastic to deal with. She even phoned half way through the trip to see how everything was going. The Condo is well kept and newly remodeled. We rented it through VRBO.com and it was a great family experience. Next time back in Waikiki this will be our home away from home again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Shame the company spoils a good hotel.situated in the Aston the rooms need a lot of renovation ,no change of linen for the week,you book in on the 4th floor in a small office then you are on your own the hotel staff a very helpful but the hawaian holidays staff only turn up on Tuesday's for towel exchange we had an 22-30 departure and asked to use a room to shower and were given a key to the pool changing rooms .we booked through interval and I don't know why they have this property on there books

Room Tip: Use the Aston if you wish to use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon Hill, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

While I always rent from a private owner (Cyndi Brisbo #168800 on www.VRBO.com), it is in the Banyan itself. The hotel is about a block and a half from the beach at the Diamond Head end of Kalakaua Ave. (main street that runs along the beach through Waikiki). The hotel has a wonderful pool with Tennis courts, BBQ grills, Jacuzzi, and a Snack Shack. The lobby has a nice open air effect with a Koi Pond and small waterfall. Down the hall is a Coffee Shop, ATM machine, and a little convenient store. The rooms come with a full kitchen that are well stocked. There is a big ABC store on the block (24hr.?) where you can get all your beach needs, snacks, drinks, ETOH, ect. Rooms are spacious enough and corner rooms are bigger. This has become the only place I stay anymore. Great value. Often times, you can get the rooms cheaper on VRBO, which is what I do, but they are "self-service). I forgot to mention, there are washer/dryers on each floor and a free parking garage, which is a HUGE benefit.

Room Tip: Tower II has the best views of the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in Tower 1, #1607, we found this condo through vrbo (independant owner), the condo was clean, extra bed linens & towels, the basic cooking utensils and condiments were provided. We didn't have a car so the condo's location was perfect walking distance to the Waikiki area & beach, close to Kuhio (major street for transit), as well as great amenities, outdoor swimming pool area, basketball court, laundry, BBQ grill for use (pay per use) and we had a partial view of diamond head. We enjoyed our visit in Honolulu and would return to this condo for future visits.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Banyan last year and had such a great time that we decided to come back to Oahu and stay with a private owner this year. We could not have been more pleased. My wife and I have 2 teenage daughters and the condo was perfect for us. It is not a fancy place by Wikiki standards but it's clean, elevators are efficient, and there's a patio area to play tennis, basketball, BBQ,and swim. It's close enough that you can walk Waikiki beach ( 2 blocks). Internet access varies by room. If this is importtant to you (it was to us (remember teenage girls) ask specific questions about type (Wireless or Wired) and is there a extra charge. There is a cafe on the Lobby level that has free access if you make a purchase also. Parking is convenient and a reasonable price ($60-70 per week with In/Out privelages). Going through a private owner the parking pass is often included at no extra cost (it was for our stay). If you have a family and like a little room to move around in save a little by eating in for some of your meals, check out the Banyan.

Room Tip: Research private owner rooms for examples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Banyan

Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 bedroom 1 bath condos at the Waikiki Banyan. Each unit sleeps 5. All units have been beautifully refurbished and offer high quality furnishings as well as high thread count sheets and ultra soft bath towels for your comfort. All units have ocean views and come with free parking...free internet access as well as beach chairs, beach towels, beach umbrellas, boogie boards and sand toys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Banyan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.