We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting; nice food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honolulu Museum of Art

Honolulu Museum of Art
900 S. Beretania Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814 (Formerly Honolulu Academy of Arts)
808 532 8701
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Honolulu Museum of Art like an insider
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Oahu Card
Ranked #22 of 264 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world’s premier art museums presents international caliber special exhibitions and features a collection that includes Hokusai, van Gogh, Gauguin, Monet, Picasso and Warhol, as well as traditional Asian and Hawaiian art. Located in two of Honolulu’s most beautiful buildings, visitors enjoy two cafés, gardens, and films and concerts at the theater. Other location: Honolulu Museum of Art Spalding House
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting; nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We've eaten here several times and the atmosphere is always pleasant, the food tasty and the service excellent.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    160
    34
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Such a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a surprise and definitely worth a visit. While paying homage to Hawaii's Polynesian roots, there is also a good contemporary art section, and separate wings for Indonesian, Japanese and Chinese art.

One of the highlights was an area dedicated to Doris Duke (the worlds richest little girl in the early part of the 20th century), and her passion with islamic art and her architecture and construction of Shangri La. Her purpose built mansion near Diamond Head.

This is a great unpretentious gallery, with separate wongs and gardens and contemplation spaces. It even packs artwork from European masters that are worth a look.

Plus... there is a great cafe that caters for all palettes.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Lovely Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Even tho we went to the Museum on a day that poured (!) rain we found it quite charming and didn't expect to see paintings by renown painter and masters. We were disappointed that the cafe was closed as we had planned to have lunch there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“HMA, The kids loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We went with the school and son. The kids really enjoyed it and we thought it was worth the extra trip. If you have the time it is a good one to see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
1,701 reviews 1,701 reviews
1,148 attraction reviews
Reviews in 822 cities Reviews in 822 cities
1,779 helpful votes 1,779 helpful votes
“Intelligent,well curated small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

If you love an outdoor maze,what you will encounter here is an indoor version,replete with a warren of cloistered walkways,courtyards and quiet,low-ceilinged spaces.
This museum had its origins , as a cosequence iof a generous bequeathal by a Honolulu patron. She is spoken of in reverend terms,because she donated the large portion of her estate to the museum. I was impressed by the collection of ukiyo-e japanese prints donated by my one time favourite author, James Michner.. Its a small museum ,well curated, in not housing everything under the sun. take your time to savour the delightful paintings of local scenery and portraits.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honolulu Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Honolulu Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honolulu Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.