We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one place I make sure I visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honolulu Museum of Art

Honolulu Museum of Art
900 S. Beretania Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814 (Formerly Honolulu Academy of Arts)
808 532 8701
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #13 of 161 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Art Museums
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the world’s premier art museums presents international caliber special exhibitions and features a collection that includes Hokusai, van Gogh, Gauguin, Monet, Picasso and Warhol, as well as traditional Asian and Hawaiian art. Located in two of Honolulu’s most beautiful buildings, visitors enjoy two cafés, gardens, and films and concerts at the theater. Other location: Honolulu Museum of Art Spalding House
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The one place I make sure I visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have visited Oahu frequently for 45 years, and always look forward to visiting the museum (still strange to call it that, instead of the academy of arts). The courtyards and arched walkways take me to another state of mind every time. We usually stay for just an hour or two, visiting just a couple galleries each time. If there's time, we have lunch, and visit the museum shop. I've found some wonderful, reasonably priced scarves and other gifts there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    130
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waimea, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hawaii's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The museum, itself, is a work of art. This is one of the best art museums, anywhere. With an excellent permanent collection, it also appeals to all age groups with visiting collections from around the world.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great museum in the middle of Honolulu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went to the museum for a change from the beach and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's small but has a really nice selection of a variety of periods. We really enjoyed the Chinese and Asian sections. We had a nice lunch at the cafe, not cheap but relaxing and set right in front of a beautiful water feature. Great find and would definitely recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Astounding display of art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

An impressive collection of world-class art of all types! The buildings were beautiful and arranged around a center courtyard garden. The outdoor restaurant was perfect for relaxing and having a delicious lunch. The museum is definitely worth a visit for all art lovers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Take a cab, take the bus, this is a worthwhile place to visit in Honolulu. The restaurant is very nice and always part of our visit. Check out their current exhibits and plan on at least a couple hours plus lunch. A favorite spot for us.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honolulu Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Honolulu Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honolulu Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.