We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best museum on Oahu - worth overy penny. Just go or miss out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Museum

Bishop Museum
1525 Bernice Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96817
808 847 3511
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #11 of 155 attractions in Honolulu
Type: History Museums, Museums, Specialty Museums, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum founded by banker Charles R. Bishop in 1889 is famous for its Polynesian artifacts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“By far the best museum on Oahu - worth overy penny. Just go or miss out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I cannot believe I have visited Oahu for 20 years and not been here. WOW. This is one fantastic place. I would love to go again and again (and will on future trips!). Do not miss this on your visit.
You get there by bus number 2 from Waikiki (40 minutes). It's closed on Tuesdays and expensive ($19.95 for adults, $14.95 for 4-12 year olds). But it is worth it. We spent 6 hours and did not get to see everything. My 4-year old wanted to go again the next day. There is something for everyone. The Hawaiian Hall is simply amazing - beautifully presented, informative and extensive. So much to see and look at and the building is just superb. We didn't make it to the planetarium which is a shame. We were lucky enough to see the dinosaur exhibit which is on until 15 September and a hit with kids, animated life size robotic dinosaurs that look so real the little ones got frightened at the beginning! Beautiful gardens and grounds. Nice cafe to take a break with great sandwiches or bring a picnic and sit under the trees.
The Science Centre is simply terrific, you get to walk through a smoking volcanoe, make lava, go underground, walk through the tunnel of creation, there are animal species to look at, things to touch, climb up on, drawers to open, tunnels to explore - interesting for adults and superb for kids. I haven't seen a better museum apart from Te Papa in Wellington in NZ.
To top it off, there is a presentation of some sort just about every 30 minutes in every single building, so you could spend all day listening to Hawaii's history, make lave, watch a planetarium show etc. etc.
Great views from the grounds over Waikiki.
Met some locals with kids who go weekly!
Do not miss this!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    269
    61
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach
2 reviews
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Bishop Museum is a great place to take my kids. I always make sure to visit every year during their dinosaur exhibit. The staff is always friendly and my kids love how the dinosaurs move with motion detectors. My little toddler was completely terrified at first, but by the end, he didn't want to leave. There's alway different exhibits going on in conjunction to the dinosaur exhibit so it's really worth the money!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great start to our vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Bishop Museum was the first thing we did on our first full day in Hawaii. If you want to ease in to your vacation, the museum is a good place to start. It's not too big of a museum and the whole place can be seen in about 2 hours. The museum is a great place to learn Hawaiian history. We started off with a 25 minute docent tour which gave very informative background information on the museum itself. Don't skip the planetarium which was just upgraded with new equipment. This was actually my favorite part. Tip: try to get a seat in the middle to avoid twisting your neck. Also, flash photography is permitted. Not a bad start to our vacation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing collection of Hawaiian artifacts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

No way you could see it all in one day so we concentrated on the Hawaiian Hall. I learned so much Hawaiian history here and was impressed with the ingenuity and artistry of the Hawaiian people. Highlight for me was the kapa. Kapa is a fabric that was made by Polynesians from the bark of certain species of trees and shrubs, even hibiscus. The highest quality kapa in Polynesia was produced in the Hawaiian Islands. Amazing how they pounded it thin, creating a large piece from many pieces seamlessly. Hawaiian kapa also displayed the greatest variety of colors, design and texture. The feather capes are also amazing. So much more. A must see when you visit Oahu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went the other day. Saw a storyteller which was actually good. Nice exhibits and the planetarium show was an added bonus.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bishop Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bishop Museum to your Saves list