We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Museum

Bishop Museum
1525 Bernice Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96817
808 847 3511
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Bishop Museum like an insider
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Oahu Card
Ranked #14 of 264 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum founded by banker Charles R. Bishop in 1889 is famous for its Polynesian artifacts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ewa Beach
2 reviews
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Bishop Museum is a great place to take my kids. I always make sure to visit every year during their dinosaur exhibit. The staff is always friendly and my kids love how the dinosaurs move with motion detectors. My little toddler was completely terrified at first, but by the end, he didn't want to leave. There's alway different exhibits going on in conjunction to the dinosaur exhibit so it's really worth the money!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    740
    350
    85
    21
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great start to our vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Bishop Museum was the first thing we did on our first full day in Hawaii. If you want to ease in to your vacation, the museum is a good place to start. It's not too big of a museum and the whole place can be seen in about 2 hours. The museum is a great place to learn Hawaiian history. We started off with a 25 minute docent tour which gave very informative background information on the museum itself. Don't skip the planetarium which was just upgraded with new equipment. This was actually my favorite part. Tip: try to get a seat in the middle to avoid twisting your neck. Also, flash photography is permitted. Not a bad start to our vacation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing collection of Hawaiian artifacts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

No way you could see it all in one day so we concentrated on the Hawaiian Hall. I learned so much Hawaiian history here and was impressed with the ingenuity and artistry of the Hawaiian people. Highlight for me was the kapa. Kapa is a fabric that was made by Polynesians from the bark of certain species of trees and shrubs, even hibiscus. The highest quality kapa in Polynesia was produced in the Hawaiian Islands. Amazing how they pounded it thin, creating a large piece from many pieces seamlessly. Hawaiian kapa also displayed the greatest variety of colors, design and texture. The feather capes are also amazing. So much more. A must see when you visit Oahu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went the other day. Saw a storyteller which was actually good. Nice exhibits and the planetarium show was an added bonus.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hawaiian History at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The museum is a plethora of displays noting the history of the Hawaiians in the islands and how they arrived here. I would put this on a "must see list" for anyone going to Honolulu. Not only is the museum interesting, the grounds are also so beautiful and tranquil. You will see many native plants on the grounds. They have activities from time to time on the grounds for families. If you are interested in Hawaiiana and not just in Hawaii for a tan, you must visit the museum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bishop Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.