We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Polynesian Artifacts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Museum

Bishop Museum
1525 Bernice Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96817
808 847 3511
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$55*
and up
Honolulu Power Pass™
Ranked #11 of 124 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: History Museums, Gardens, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum founded by banker Charles R. Bishop in 1889 is famous for its Polynesian artifacts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Larchmont, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Interesting Polynesian Artifacts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The main hall with Polynesian artifacts was very enlightening and we really learned a lot about the history of Hawaii. It is well worth spending a couple of hours here.

We found the science hall and the planetarium show to be kind of juvenile for a 30 something couple, but I know kids would like them and would highly recommend this for families. If you're just adults, I say spend 2 hours in the main hall and call it a morning.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    318
    79
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This took me for a complete surprise. Allow yourself a whole day if you can to see everything including displays and shows. For those interested in Hawaiian history, there is a fair bit of reading but well worth learning Hawaii's story. Lots of other things to see; volcano demonstrations, dinosaurs, planetarium, hula presentation, and more.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice museum and campus.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I didn't have children with me, but there were lots of families there and it seemed like a great place for kids. Good schedule of shows and many different offerings. The lava flow demonstration was the highlight.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Kapalama treasure trove of history of Hawaii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I went to the recent exhibit of Immigrants and the 442nd Medal of Honor recipients. I've grown up in Honolulu, and have uncles who served in the 442nd, and this was still a revelation to me. The exhibits made me proud to be a descendant of heroes, and that includes my grandparents who immigrated from Japan. I saw some of the hardships they endured in the photos on display. I've never been disappointed when I've visited this museum. The main exhibit hall has the history of the islands from the first canoes, native birds and plants, and costumes of the warriors and ali'i (royalty). The museum is close by the Kamehameha School campus, which was also endowed by the Bishop family. My wish is that the Hawaiian culture and traditions will continue to be shared with present and future generations.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“History Preserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We toured the museum in a private tour and concentrated on the original historic portion. The building itself is a marvel of interior design and the displays are tasteful and easy to read. Elevators are available for handicapped access to the three stories and the restroom facilities in the lower level are very clean and well appointed for a public space. Our guide was a volunteer and completely knew the collection and had delightful interpretive stories to make the exhibits come alive. Many of the docents are retired University of Hawaii professors and have a great teaching manner. We only had about two hours for our visit and it was just enough for an overview not an in-depth exploration.
I plan to go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bishop Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.