We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Museum

Bishop Museum
1525 Bernice Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96817
808 847 3511
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$55*
and up
Honolulu Power Pass™
Ranked #11 of 123 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: History Museums, Gardens, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum founded by banker Charles R. Bishop in 1889 is famous for its Polynesian artifacts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Make sure to stop by here...learn about the history of this beautiful state. Main Hall is great. Wish there was more to see in the other areas.

Kinda pricey but I know it's going to preservation so that is ok.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    314
    79
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Learn more about Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I think it would be a terrific spot for any one who wishes to know more about the culture, arts and history of Hawaii

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“See some History of the Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We went to the Polynesian and Hawaiian parts of the museum. There were some young children who danced under the giant whale skeleton and we saw the yellow feathered cape worn my King Kameamea and the last little grass shack in Hawaii. Upstairs were more things to see and they had two people who told stories and showed us how to use some primitive instruments. Two flat stones were like castanets and a nose flute that had a really haunting sound and went with the story that was told. It was a little harder to get to by bus and we had to walk two or three blocks from the bus stop. But on our way we were stopped by a local woman who reached over her fence and gave us each a beautiful fresh flower lei!! Then when we were walking back to the bus stop afterwards, she saw us again and showed us that we were heading the wrong way and told us which way to go to get the bus. Such friendly people and such a wonderful museum!! Well worth the trouble of getting there.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must see!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

With all the traditional Hawaii things to do: luau, snorkeling, volcanoes, beaches, etc. this was a real high light! One can get the true history of the native Hawaiians here. The exhibits are well done & expansive. The docents are helpful and well prepared.(we got our first taste of bread fruit!) And the interpreter that "talked story" & taught us a seated hula was incredible!!! We highly recommend this experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Hawaiian History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I truly enjoyed my visit to the Bishop Museum. I learned a lot about the history of Hawaii, the culture and people. If you want to see some rare bits of Hawaii, then check this place out. I loved the top level with all the hawaiian cloaks. If you don't like stairs, then make sure somebody points out the elevators.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bishop Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.