We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe I haven't been there before.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iolani Palace

Iolani Palace
364 South King Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813
808 522 0822
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$55*
and up
Honolulu Power Pass™
Ranked #15 of 123 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The home of King Kalakaua and Queen Kapiolani in the 19th century, this palace is open on a limited basis to the public. Reservations recommended.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Can't believe I haven't been there before.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I lived in Hawaii for much of my life, but never went to Iolani Palace. Don't know why it wasn't a field trip when I was young. I highly recommend this as a great stop early in your vacation to Hawaii. I always feel that people who visit Hawaii don't have any kind of understanding about Hawaiian history and this tour will absolutely give you a baseline for that which will enhance your whole trip to Oahu. It really will. I wish we had made prior reservations so we could have gone on the guided tour but the self guided tour with the headphones was just fine (except that mine weren't working very well). Make sure that you go sit in the little theater to watch the short movie prior to your tour time as that really brings alive what you are about to see. Hint: even when you are doing the self guided tour, there are tour times you are assigned to, so don't expect to just walk in, pay and then go on in. They work hard to make sure that it is not crowded when you are in there, which is wonderful. I highly recommend this to anyone, resident or visitor if you haven't been before.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    438
    125
    18
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A visit to the palace is a nice change from the tourism of Waikiki and it is nice to learn a little about the Hawaiian Monarchy. The building has been totally restored and most rooms have been staged with original or similar furnishings. We are glad we splurged and made reservations for the guided tour. Tithe guides are very knowledgeable and can answer most any question you might have about Hawaiian history, palace construction, etc. The many photos and Crown Jewels on display in the basement area are worth a visit, and you will also see the original kitchen and much of the Royal China collection.
Anyone interested in history, architecture, or woodwork will enjoy a couple hours here but I would not recommend it for young children.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
176 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Hawaiian History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recommend the guided tour, the guides offer a great narrative on the King and Queen. They tell the story of the queens imprisionment in the palace and the fall of the monarchy. The palace is beautiful and great architecture. If you appreciate Hawaiian history this is a great place to visit. It is about a 25 minute bus ride from Waikiki. It is a short walk to china town from the palace, there are some good dim sum restaurants in china town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lolani Palace and King Kamehameha statue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Every fan of Hawaii 5 -O has to visit here. Great museum and definitely a popular Kodak spot.
Grounds are well kept and trees are beautiful. Bus transfers are in order from downtown Waikiki area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Minette, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This place is awesome! It was beautiful and had lots of interesting things! The staff were very helpful, my husband was in a wheelchair and they were very accommodating for us.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iolani Palace also viewed

 

Been to Iolani Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iolani Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.