We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only royal palace in the US” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iolani Palace

Iolani Palace
364 South King Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813
808 522 0822
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #15 of 155 attractions in Honolulu
Type: Historic Sites, Specialty Museums, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The home of King Kalakaua and Queen Kapiolani in the 19th century, this palace is open on a limited basis to the public. Reservations recommended.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The only royal palace in the US”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is interesting if you like old grand houses, or you are interested in the Hawaiian monarchy. You definitely won't see anything like it elsewhere in the US. Catty-corner from the Palace is the HI State Art Museum, rather good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    368
    107
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DETROIT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've been to Iolani Palace several times and have always learned something new. Get your tickets outside the palace (guard shack) and be prepared to put soft footies over your shoes. The docents are very well prepared to show you around the two-story palace. Parking on the street is fairly easy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Informative tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Though reluctant at first I was really glad I went on this tour. The cost is about $18 for an audio guided tour where you can take your time and go at your own pace. I learned a lot about the past and what took place in this palace. Definitely worth it at least one time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nicely done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A very interesting part of the history. What a beautiful palace! We took the self guided tour using the supplied electronic equipment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Who doesn't like a palace?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very interesting place to visit if you like history and you like learning about Queens and Kings. There's nothing I disliked, however I could see small children getting bored as there is no place to run around.It is basically a museum and parents should consider that before bringing the young ones!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iolani Palace also viewed

 

Been to Iolani Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iolani Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Iolani Palace to your Saves list