We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only royal palace in the US” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iolani Palace

Iolani Palace
364 South King Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813
808 522 0822
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$39*
and up
Honolulu City Ghost Haunts Walking Tour
Ranked #15 of 281 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The home of King Kalakaua and Queen Kapiolani in the 19th century, this palace is open on a limited basis to the public. Reservations recommended.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The only royal palace in the US”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is interesting if you like old grand houses, or you are interested in the Hawaiian monarchy. You definitely won't see anything like it elsewhere in the US. Catty-corner from the Palace is the HI State Art Museum, rather good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    973
    542
    149
    21
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DETROIT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've been to Iolani Palace several times and have always learned something new. Get your tickets outside the palace (guard shack) and be prepared to put soft footies over your shoes. The docents are very well prepared to show you around the two-story palace. Parking on the street is fairly easy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Informative tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Though reluctant at first I was really glad I went on this tour. The cost is about $18 for an audio guided tour where you can take your time and go at your own pace. I learned a lot about the past and what took place in this palace. Definitely worth it at least one time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nicely done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A very interesting part of the history. What a beautiful palace! We took the self guided tour using the supplied electronic equipment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Who doesn't like a palace?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very interesting place to visit if you like history and you like learning about Queens and Kings. There's nothing I disliked, however I could see small children getting bored as there is no place to run around.It is basically a museum and parents should consider that before bringing the young ones!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iolani Palace also viewed

 

Been to Iolani Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iolani Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.