We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but not a lot to see” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iolani Palace

Iolani Palace
364 South King Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813
808 522 0822
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$39*
and up
Honolulu City Ghost Haunts Walking Tour
Ranked #18 of 242 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The home of King Kalakaua and Queen Kapiolani in the 19th century, this palace is open on a limited basis to the public. Reservations recommended.
England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting but not a lot to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Worth a visit - we were lucky as it was a holiday celebration and got in free but only 3/4 rooms to see

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,060
    588
    164
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am so glad that I took time out to visit the palace on this trip. My friend and I really enjoyed it, though we had a little giggle at wearing the shoe covers, but it is worth it to protect the gorgeous carpets and beautiful wooden floors. It is a great way to really appreciate that the Hawaiian Royalty were greatly respected by other monarchies, and how sad it was when the Royal family was stripped of power. A truly beautiful place to visit. We went on The Bus, very easy to find.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The palace is beutifully restored”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Compared with a few years ago, the Palace is now beautifully restored. We really enjoy history and the Palace provides a lot of insight. The courthouse museum across the street is also worth a stop. The volunteer there was very knowledgeable, especially about the WWII connections.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We toured the island of Oahu and this stop was a very enjoyable part of that trip. The role of this facility in the history of the island was very helpful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
342 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Go to Friday concert on lawn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Although we did not take the tour of the palace, the architecture is beautiful. We arrived on a Friday around noon and the Royal Hawaiian Band was performing. We pulled up a chair under the giant shade tree and spent a wonderful hour relaxing to their soothing music and seeing the beauty of the dancer with her graceful movement.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iolani Palace also viewed

 

Been to Iolani Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iolani Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.