We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iolani Palace

Iolani Palace
364 South King Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813
808 522 0822
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #14 of 155 attractions in Honolulu
Type: Historic Sites, Specialty Museums, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The home of King Kalakaua and Queen Kapiolani in the 19th century, this palace is open on a limited basis to the public. Reservations recommended.
Canberra
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The tour guide was very informative on local history. Amazing to see "mod cons" like an electric light and flushing toilets. Also an impressive diamond butterfly brooch amongst other things.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    370
    107
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Hawaiian History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I'm so happy that we decided to hop on a bus from Waikiki to go to the Palace. If you love history, you will enjoy this. We opted for the audio self tour, which was very informative. We visited all the rooms, including the second story. They are still in the process of finding the original furnishings that were previously sold. You will see the quilt that the Queen made when she was imprisoned. Quite nice. We also visited the basement, which was still full of the history of the Palace, and jewelry. This is not for everyone, but if you like history, it's for you.
While we were waiting for entry, we went across the street to see, and take pictures, of the statue of King Kamehameha in front of the Supreme Court Building. If you watch the new Hawaii 50, you will recognize this landmark. We also were able to listen to the Royal Hawaiian Band, that was performing on the grassy area near the front of the Palace. What a bonus.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was a very pleasant surprise. The Palace is beautiful. I did an audio tour which was very informative. We were permitted to view many rooms in the palace. It was well worth the trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Take a walk through history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you are interested in 19th century Hawaii and its rulers, you will enjoy this trip. The tour guides are very knowledgeable and you will find a great deal that is interesting on this tour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a popular attraction so you may have a 30 or more minute wait before being allowed to enter.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iolani Palace also viewed

 

Been to Iolani Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iolani Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Iolani Palace to your Saves list