We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iolani Palace

Iolani Palace
364 South King Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813
808 522 0822
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$55*
and up
Honolulu Power Pass™
Ranked #16 of 124 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The home of King Kalakaua and Queen Kapiolani in the 19th century, this palace is open on a limited basis to the public. Reservations recommended.
southern california
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Slice of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It is a great look at Hawaii's royal past. Wonderful way to spend an afternoon. The display of Hansen's disease resettlements was particularly moving.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    438
    125
    18
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
225 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Awesome Wood, Glad we went”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to Iolani Palace. To hear the story of what happened in Hawaii's history was very interesting. The Palace was beautiful, especially the wood. I liked the video and the grounds, too. Be sure to get your tickets early. The guided tours were all gone when we went there. I had a little trouble navigating the self guided tour. You have to pay attention to the screen to go in the right room. You have to use the elevator to go upstairs. If you need help, asked a guide. When I did, it all made sense and I had a much better time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“The Good & Bad of Hawaiian History at Iolani Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is worth a visit if only to learn about Hawaii's proud history as a kingdom. This is the only real sovereign residence in the US, so it is historic.
I recommend going on the first guided tour of the morning, so you won't be rushed through. You arrive in an empty palace, which opens up beautifully to you.
The docents are lovely & try their hardest to bring the place alive, but so much of its history & contents have been scattered to the winds an imagination is required. This is a chance to use yours - you can see some of the original work & what they've recovered in the galleries underneath after the tour.
The beauty of the koa wood is incredible.
The stories are lovely.
The fact that so much is missing still is an embarrassment to how our government treated the royal family after Hawaii became a state.
What you should know:
Ask questions! The docents have the answers - there is so much history they can't get everything in.
Bring a camera without a flash, as those are the only type of pics you can take.
Be ready to wear their oh-so-not-fashionable slippers, because the floor needs to be protected.
Bring lots of quarters, because the meters only take change - and if you want to explore the galleries you can go & refeed the meter after.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Hawaiis royal place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

You have to take either the guided tour or self guided tour round the palace which takes about an hour. They have different tours at different times so I had the guided one. The guide was very knowledgable. During this time you learn alot about the history and culture of the royal family of Hawaii. Whilst waiting for the tour there is a video which is worth seeing. This gives you more information about the history of Hawaiis royalty. Entry is a little bit more expensive than some of Honolulus attractions but its worth it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Not worth the Visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I enjoy tours and museums, so I thought this would be right up my alley. I went with two couples, so we spent $60 total ($15 admission per person) to tour. There is a self guided audio tour. First you have to get "prepared" to enter by the admissions ladies. They were rude and very unwelcoming. You have to sit down out front while they put booties over your shoes to protect the museum and the read you the rules about not touching anything. You have to wear your audio equipment EXACTLY or they won't let you in. The men in our group just wanted to look around and not listen to the audio tour. They had to wear the headphones or they weren't allowed in.

Once you are finally approved for entry, there are more "guards" inside to make sure you don't touch anything. I appreciate protecting art and culture from the past, but this was extreme the way they watched you. The audio tour was very boring, so I eventually turned it off (but leave on the headphones of they come over and put them back on you). The palace itself is very sparsely decorated with just a handful or remaining items. I was expecting to see jewelry or clothing from the royal family. There are a few pieces of antique furniture to view, but nothing to get excited about.

The overall experience took less than an hour and we walked away feeling like we could have done something more fun with our time and $60 plus parking spent. I would not put this on your "must do list" in Hawaii.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iolani Palace also viewed

 

Been to Iolani Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iolani Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.