We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun to visit .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Aquarium

Waikiki Aquarium
2777 Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)
808 923 9741
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 123 Attractions in Honolulu
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Learn about sea life in Hawaii here.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Beaumont, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun to visit .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A small aquarium well worth the visit as it acquaints you with Hawaiian species of fish. Very educational for both adults and children. It was a nice cool place to visit. Friendly and knowledgeable staff as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    228
    144
    30
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you are into coral fish, a MUST go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

It's easy to go to the Aquarium if you staying in the Waikiki area. There are buses either stop by the aquarium or the zoo, which is only a 10 mins walk to get there.

The aquarium is not big, you can finish in an hour, or if you love sea life, 2 hours most. The admission fee is cheap and worth.

Don't expect you can see all kinds of big sea animals like dolphins, big sharks, etc. The biggest one is a monk seal, which you can only found in Hawaii. But if you are into fish, especially coral fish, this is a MUST GO! The water quality of fish aquarium is super, fishes are maintained so well. There are fishes you may not find that in other aquariums, especially the "Peppermint Angel Fish". This is the only one you can find in aquariums around the world. It lives in very deep sea so it's not easy to get.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small but complete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Waikiki Aquarium offers a great variety of all species in the area with a voice program that provides a lot of details about each exhibition. You can see there live corals over a 100 years old. The fee is tiny and you can easily spend a couple of hours before even notice. I would definitely visit again with my children.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We loved the aquarium! The displays were beautiful, all the different colours and sea creatures. Fascinating! The audio tour was also great. It was so nice to be able to move through the displays at your own pace. Our favorites were the shark tank and the moon jellies. When paired with a trip to the Honolulu Zoo, my husband and I had a great afternoon learning all about creatures on land and sea! Would definitely recommend!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Sp
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

as we walkwt through the aquarium we had seen so much different and colorfull unerground scenaries. it is easy ,beautifull and I learned lot of bew things.Worth the price

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikiki Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Waikiki Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.