We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspirational and Educational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific

National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific
2177 Puowaina Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813
808-532-3720
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$44*
and up
Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl...
Ranked #6 of 288 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The resting place for more than 25,000 victims of three American Wars - World War II, Korean War and Vietnam War – this is truly the “Cemetery of Heroes.” Punchbowl was formed some 75,000 to 100,000 years ago during the Honolulu period of secondary volcanic activity. A crater resulted from the ejection of hot lava through cracks in the old coral reefs that, at the time, extended to the foot of the Koolau Mountain Range. Of special note is a monument honoring Hawaii-born astronaut Ellison Onizuka, who perished aboard the Challenger space shuttle in 1986. Also noteworthy are the Courts of the Missing, white stone tablets bearing the names of those missing in action from World War II.
Ennis, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Inspirational and Educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been here many times and it is truly inspirational. I enjoy taking art photos here. The mosaics are beautiful and the chapel is like an artwork itself. The mosaic depictions of WWII are highly educational. This is a place of tranquility and reflection.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,078
    396
    78
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Paying Ones Respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Such a tranquil, reflective place to pay your respect to those who made the ultimate sacrifice. And the view of Honolulu from the lookout is a bonus.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Such a Beautiful, Fitting Memorial...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would strongly suggest that anyone visiting Oahu take the time to visit. On our final day on this beautiful island paradise, we made a point to visit this Memorial Cemetery, as our way of paying respect to those who paid The Supreme Sacrifice. I will not go into a description as it has been so well covered by my fellow contributors, and full information can be found on the internet. If you plan to visit, I would suggest that you read about it; it will make you visit more interesting.When you are there, maybe say a little prayer or take a moment to bow your head in respect. After doing so, take in the absolutely breathtaking view of Honolulu at the lookout.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This memorial is located in Punchbowl Crater and can be found very easily by following the VA signs through the neighborhood. The memorial is a cemetery that holds the graves of those who died in the military and is very peaceful and serene. The grounds are beautifully kept and the front has a marvelous statue and mosaic with names of all who died carved on the walls. If you rent a car you are able to get out and walk, however, if you take a tour bus through the cemetery you are not allowed to get out. I do recommend renting a car and going to see the cemetery, as it also gives you a fantastic view that overlooks Honolulu. Lastly, every hour until 3pm, they hold a ceremony at the cemetery which is worth watching.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful view & surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Located in the Punchbowl Crater, we visited this Cemetery as part of a "city highlights" tour after visiting Pearl Harbour. It has beautiful views, the grounds are impeccably kept and there is a fantastic mosaic mural along the walls depicting maps of the wars. The guide was an interesting local Hawaiian gentleman who was a little hard to understand and it took him bit to remember some of the facts about the place but was still a great place!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific also viewed

 

Been to National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.