We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying Ones Respect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific

National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific
2177 Puowaina Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813 (Downtown Honolulu)
808-532-3720
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #5 of 155 attractions in Honolulu
Type: Cemeteries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The resting place for more than 25,000 victims of three American Wars - World War II, Korean War and Vietnam War – this is truly the “Cemetery of Heroes.” Punchbowl was formed some 75,000 to 100,000 years ago during the Honolulu period of secondary volcanic activity. A crater resulted from the ejection of hot lava through cracks in the old coral reefs that, at the time, extended to the foot of the Koolau Mountain Range. Of special note is a monument honoring Hawaii-born astronaut Ellison Onizuka, who perished aboard the Challenger space shuttle in 1986. Also noteworthy are the Courts of the Missing, white stone tablets bearing the names of those missing in action from World War II.
Pearl City, Hawaii
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Paying Ones Respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Such a tranquil, reflective place to pay your respect to those who made the ultimate sacrifice. And the view of Honolulu from the lookout is a bonus.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    740
    266
    55
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Such a Beautiful, Fitting Memorial...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would strongly suggest that anyone visiting Oahu take the time to visit. On our final day on this beautiful island paradise, we made a point to visit this Memorial Cemetery, as our way of paying respect to those who paid The Supreme Sacrifice. I will not go into a description as it has been so well covered by my fellow contributors, and full information can be found on the internet. If you plan to visit, I would suggest that you read about it; it will make you visit more interesting.When you are there, maybe say a little prayer or take a moment to bow your head in respect. After doing so, take in the absolutely breathtaking view of Honolulu at the lookout.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This memorial is located in Punchbowl Crater and can be found very easily by following the VA signs through the neighborhood. The memorial is a cemetery that holds the graves of those who died in the military and is very peaceful and serene. The grounds are beautifully kept and the front has a marvelous statue and mosaic with names of all who died carved on the walls. If you rent a car you are able to get out and walk, however, if you take a tour bus through the cemetery you are not allowed to get out. I do recommend renting a car and going to see the cemetery, as it also gives you a fantastic view that overlooks Honolulu. Lastly, every hour until 3pm, they hold a ceremony at the cemetery which is worth watching.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caringbah, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful view & surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Located in the Punchbowl Crater, we visited this Cemetery as part of a "city highlights" tour after visiting Pearl Harbour. It has beautiful views, the grounds are impeccably kept and there is a fantastic mosaic mural along the walls depicting maps of the wars. The guide was an interesting local Hawaiian gentleman who was a little hard to understand and it took him bit to remember some of the facts about the place but was still a great place!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Must stop especially after visit to Pearl Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We made a quick stop here after visiting Pearl Harbor & glad we did. It was so peaceful & beautiful. Be sure to walk up the steps to visit the small chapel behind the statue and the murals that explain the attacks on Pearl Harbor. We were here right after Memorial Day and they had American flags perfectly lined up on the graves as soon as you enter the cemetery. Not to be missed!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific also viewed

 

Been to National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific to your Saves list