We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my my day at this Zoo.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honolulu Zoo

Honolulu Zoo
151 Kapahulu Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)
808 971 7171
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$55*
and up
Ranked #31 of 123 Attractions in Honolulu
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From pink flamingos to African giraffes, the Honolulu Zoo is home to a little bit of everything from the animal kingdom. Its animal population includes more than 64 reptile, 38 mammal and 160 bird species. The 42-acre facility is organized into three tropical ecological zones: Tropical Rainforests, Pacific Islands and the African Savanna. Among its highlights is a new $12-million, 1.5-acre Asian tropical elephant exhibit that includes a 7,260-squre-foot holding area and two 55,000-gallon pools.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Guadalupita
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I enjoyed my my day at this Zoo.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The zoo itself was kinda small, but it had some good animals to see. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Honolulu. It was quite clean. I really appreciate the Military Discount!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    453
    143
    39
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have been to this zoo many times. Last year we brought a family membership and were able to go in with two adults and four children. A great bargain. We then used the pass 11 months later.. I love the giraffes. You have a great view of them. The zoo did a good job of designing the zoo around huge natural rocks. Go in the morning when it is cooler. The Zoo opens at 9:00 am. There is a great selection of animals. Take a casual walk throughout the soon. You can rent wheelchairs.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent for Kids: Go As Soon As It Opens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a must-see event if you have children or are young at heart. The animals are spectacular, the gift shop is full of great toys and a water sprayer with a fan that makes the heat bearable. If your children actually stay in them, there are also strollers that you can I rent, otherwise get ready for some exercise, when you are carrying your kid around in your arms.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Not a must but very relaxing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

this is a very nice little zoo. they were working on a few exhibits so the flow wasn't great we had to backtrack a few times. Overall a nice day

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Little Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I would recommend this zoo…..for the entry fee…a small $14….it's worth the look around….we went right in the middle of a hot day….so animals were just under shaded tress and rocks etc so i would recommend going 1st thing in the morning….great variety of animals….great way to spend a couple hours without spending too much money!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honolulu Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Honolulu Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honolulu Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.