We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honolulu Zoo

Honolulu Zoo
151 Kapahulu Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)
808 971 7171
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #36 of 157 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From pink flamingos to African giraffes, the Honolulu Zoo is home to a little bit of everything from the animal kingdom. Its animal population includes more than 64 reptile, 38 mammal and 160 bird species. The 42-acre facility is organized into three tropical ecological zones: Tropical Rainforests, Pacific Islands and the African Savanna. Among its highlights is a new $12-million, 1.5-acre Asian tropical elephant exhibit that includes a 7,260-squre-foot holding area and two 55,000-gallon pools.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you have kids makes for a nice way to spend a few hours. Was well priced, clean and plenty of animals to see.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    402
    127
    33
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Do the night tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

So on the weekends the zoo offers a guided night tour and the groups are about 15 people. My tour guide was awesome! I wish I remembered his name, he was a male on the shorter side, dark hair. I went twice during my six day vacation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beach Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

nice zoo a nice day from the beach and crowd only zoo that I have been to that the wife says she would visit again I think it because its in Hawai'i. been to some nice zoo's around the world this one is one of the tops

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient and fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a wonderful short day there. It was walking distance from the hotel and my kids had a lovely time. It is large enough to be interesting, but not overwhelming in size. Though the animals were nice, I really enjoyed the plants they had.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This zoo was OK. Unfortunately many of the exhibits were empty. The zoo was doing some construction so the paths through the park were blocked in a number of areas. We went on a Monday so we found parking and there were no crowds. It's not one of the best zoos we've been to but our son was excited about going. It wasn't worth the cost of $14 per adult and $6 per child. There are plenty of other things on the island I would do rather than go here... We won't be going back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honolulu Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Honolulu Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honolulu Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.