We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fun day at the zoo” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Honolulu Zoo

Honolulu Zoo
151 Kapahulu Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)
808 971 7171
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #35 of 155 attractions in Honolulu
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From pink flamingos to African giraffes, the Honolulu Zoo is home to a little bit of everything from the animal kingdom. Its animal population includes more than 64 reptile, 38 mammal and 160 bird species. The 42-acre facility is organized into three tropical ecological zones: Tropical Rainforests, Pacific Islands and the African Savanna. Among its highlights is a new $12-million, 1.5-acre Asian tropical elephant exhibit that includes a 7,260-squre-foot holding area and two 55,000-gallon pools.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not a fun day at the zoo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We headed to the zoo looking forward to seeing lots of animals. But, we left after 15 minutes. Very disappointing. Many of the exhibits were closed. The animals we did see were far behind and were difficult to get a good view.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    385
    122
    30
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant escape from the Waikiki crowds.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have been to Hawaii four times. Each time I include the Honolulu Zoo in my itinerary. Who would expect that a zoo located in the midst of Waikiki could provide a respite from the noise and crowds. There are many positives about this zoo. The location is perfect for anyone staying in or around Waikiki. It is within easy walking distance of most of the hotels and for those who rather forgo the walk the bus is a good solution. Visitors are allowed to bring their own food and drink in which makes it a more affordable visit since one does not have to purchase costly snacks from the vendors. The zoo's paths are paved and well maintained. In addition to animals there are many small gardens including a children's garden with several whimsical statues. There is also a playground...great for letting parents rest while the children burn off some energy. The zoo is not overly large but allow for several hours as it does get hot and rest stops may be needed.
I toyed with giving the Honolulu Zoo a very good rating as opposed to the good one I chose. I do love this zoo and have enjoyed it each time I have visited. This time around I discovered the admission price had increased to $14 age 13 and up, $6 age 3-12 and free under the age of 2. That is a bit pricey for a family outing. On this last visit many of the animals were simply not on display. No indication if is is because they were elsewhere. Some of the exhibits looked as if they had not been inhabited for a while. There appeared to be a decline in the zoo's upkeep compared to previous visits. It is still worth a visit and I will visit again on my next trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Small but cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went to the zoo because we were looking for something quick and easy to do. The zoo looked small but it's actually a lot bigger than it looks. The zoo has a large selection of birds that were owned by Hawaiian royalty, as well as a nice selection of other animals that I have never seen before. It takes an hour or so to get around the zoo if you stroll and take pictures. If you're looking for something to do for an hour or so it's a nice place to visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Zoo in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a great afternoon here....really close to the main drag- took us 5 mins in a taxi from the Outrigger Waikiki on the beach.It was set out well, a good size to walk around-great afternoon out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lots of animals, birds, butterflies and dragonflies at this location! I find the drinks here to be pricey - eg. pop, lemonade, etc. but friendly staff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honolulu Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Honolulu Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honolulu Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Honolulu Zoo to your Saves list