We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honolulu Zoo

Honolulu Zoo
151 Kapahulu Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)
808 971 7171
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$55*
and up
Ranked #32 of 124 Attractions in Honolulu
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From pink flamingos to African giraffes, the Honolulu Zoo is home to a little bit of everything from the animal kingdom. Its animal population includes more than 64 reptile, 38 mammal and 160 bird species. The 42-acre facility is organized into three tropical ecological zones: Tropical Rainforests, Pacific Islands and the African Savanna. Among its highlights is a new $12-million, 1.5-acre Asian tropical elephant exhibit that includes a 7,260-squre-foot holding area and two 55,000-gallon pools.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Makati, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was very clean but the map was a bit confusing. Weather was great so it was a good day for a walk. There's a petting area for animals. Little kids will definitely enjoy it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    453
    143
    39
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go see the beautiful animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed agreat afternoon of fun, viewing and interacting with creatures from around the globe. I was especially tickled to watch the turtles (my favorite) and my wife really enjoyed the elphants, zebras and giraffes. The zoo seems well run, the animals well cared fro. The entire site was filled with families enjoying the day out. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small but a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The first thing I noticed was that the staff was very friendly and professional. Cost was about $14 and there are plenty of animals to see. There are plenty of places to stop and get refreshments or just catch a little shade. Very easy to navigate there are maps posted throughout the park, and if an animal is not there the staff post a sign so you don't stand there for a long time looking for an animal that is not there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Zoo with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The zoo is ok, we have a zoo in Memphis which I would say the zoo here is actually better as far as the various types of animals. However, the zoo here has a great view of diamond head in the back ground. They have a nice keike(childrens)zoo. You can pet pigs and goats. The zoo was never crowded, we have been there 2 times. Of course the temp was perfect and the staff was very friendly.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent six days in honolulu and we spent a couple of hours travelling around the zoo. It is very nicely setup and was an enjoyable couple of hours. would recommend

Visited May 2013

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honolulu Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Honolulu Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honolulu Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.