We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Honolulu Zoo

Honolulu Zoo
151 Kapahulu Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)
808 971 7171
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$55*
and up
Ranked #32 of 123 Attractions in Honolulu
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From pink flamingos to African giraffes, the Honolulu Zoo is home to a little bit of everything from the animal kingdom. Its animal population includes more than 64 reptile, 38 mammal and 160 bird species. The 42-acre facility is organized into three tropical ecological zones: Tropical Rainforests, Pacific Islands and the African Savanna. Among its highlights is a new $12-million, 1.5-acre Asian tropical elephant exhibit that includes a 7,260-squre-foot holding area and two 55,000-gallon pools.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Living in Canada and have spent time at the Calgary Zoo and Toronto Zoo , I felt this fell below my expectations, very few animals, but not sure if maybe with climate it was not feasible, grounds were clean, but would probably not go again

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    451
    143
    38
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Downtown Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed a few minutes walk from the Zoo, which is super conveniently located toward the end of the Waikiki Beach strip. A pleasant few hours strolling around and particularly liked seeing the flamingos. Zoo is a little tired looking, and some cages (the Kookaburra's!) are too small :( however, worth a visit at $14 and smaller children always love it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely little zoo.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We go to this zoo every time we visit Oahu. It is a lovely little zoo, beautifully set out and the animals seem to be looked after. The gardens in which the zoo is set are lovely and well tended and there always seems to be some improvement going on. There is a new elephant enclosure and the signage is well set out and informative. There are plenty of places to get something to drink or eat and there is a lovely little petting zoo for the minis, where they can get up close and personal with some friendly goats. There is a well stocked shop on the grounds with lots to please adults and children. I think it is well worth the money. It is cheaper than some zoos of the same size in the UK.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Several exhibits were closed. Most that were open you couldn't even find the animal and the petting zoo closed earlier than the actual zoo. Probably the worst zoo experience I have had. Plus the parking lot is extra small so we had to park elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth a look..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you haven't seen African animals before, then it is worth going to the Honolulu zoo as they have a very good African exhibit. Of course, nothing compares to the animals in their natural habitat. The entry fee was quite inexpensive compared to zoo's in Australia; $14 per adult. It is a small zoo and I felt the animal enclosures could be larger and have more vegetation.

Take your own food and water as it is expensive at the zoo, and the food selection is not very good.

If you want to see a large, well run and animal focussed zoo, then you need to go to the Western Plains Zoo, at Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honolulu Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Honolulu Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honolulu Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.