We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We visited 3 times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapiolani Park

Kapiolani Park
3902 Paki Ave., P.O. Box 3059, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)
808 545 4344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 155 attractions in Honolulu
Type: Parks, Beaches
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Many of Hawaii’s alii (royalty) lived in Waikiki and King Kalakaua selected a 300-acre track of land at the base of Diamond Head for a public park in 1867. Today, it is a gathering place that thrives with walkers, runners, tennis enthusiasts and picnickers. Grab lunch on Kalakaua Avenue and enjoy it in one of the shaded picnic areas scattered around this colorful park.
Iowa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We visited 3 times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent 2 weeks in Hawaii, and found ourselves going back to Kapiolani Park. Nice park, & place to relax and people watch.

Take time to find this Park - well worth it..pack a picnic lunch & enjoy the day.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    202
    40
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscatine, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Fine arts festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a beautiful and huge park. There is so much here. I am always glad when we are on the island for the arts festival. So much fun to see all the beautiful pieces

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The Central Park of Honolulu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our hotel (Queen Kapiolani) was right by this park - great "escape" from the city for walks, etc. Nice landscaping, park, zoo, and the banyon trees were amazing. Great to be near this park while still right on the edge of the high rises

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Love it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I stumbled upon this fantastic park while exploring Waikiki one morning. Beautiful views of Diamondhead and the Pacific Ocean.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Big park, overrun with squatters?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Seem to be a lot of homeless hanging around, garbage everywhere, not really a good place for families any more.
We don't go there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapiolani Park also viewed

 

Been to Kapiolani Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapiolani Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kapiolani Park to your Saves list