We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House - Waikiki

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Waikiki
226 Lewers Street #L-233, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
808-440-7910
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Waikiki is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 1,915 restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Kalakaua Ave
North Tonawanda, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Pricey but definitely one of the best meals I've had! Should make a reservation though, we had one and were seated right away, but lots of people were waiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    278
    114
    50
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“happy hour, happy price, happy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Not sure if anyone interested in happy hour? Just happened on the Ruth Chris Waikiki HH this week. $7 for a bunch of different appetizers (each) and a few drinks at $7 each as well. Not a bad price for great food and strong lychee martini. We sat at the bar and had an excellent bartender/server. He informed us of the special HH dinner for $45. Included a salad, huge ribeye steak and a choice of side. We chose the broccoli. What was really nice...the dinner is served "pupu" style where the meat is sliced for you. And, you can split the dinner easily between two people with no surcharge. Overall a very nice experience!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top notch steak house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been here several times and it never fails to impress. From the very smart décor, a small outdoor eating area, a well kept bar and a really terrific restaurant. The prices are steep, most steaks are near or in the 40 dollar range, I find that typical in most high end places. The service is very attentive and they will explain the menu well. The sides are all nice, seared ahi tuna was really good, and believe it or not they even have a great macaroni and cheese sides. Most sides can be shared and the deserts if there is room are great. Every time I go I have a great meal. I will keep going.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“very expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Value for money not staff were lovely but slightly robotic a steak and a few lettuce leaves costs $50 per head just for the steak add a couple of wines and our final bill $170 with no appetiszers and stuck in the back corner on a high stool much better options available. If you ordered one ribeye for 2 and salad which would be heaps it would then be much better value but ask to be seated outside

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Expensive but worth it. Not a place for kids if yours aren't behaved and you aren't prepared to pay the cost. We took our kids at age 9 and 12 and they loved it. The staff bent over backwards for them and they had the offer of seconds if they wanted it. However, the portions were just right and they didn't need any. The wait staff knew exactly what to recommend for the children and what they could share to cut on costs and still be satisfied at the end. It was pricey but worth it to show our kids what fantastic food tasted like.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House - Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House - Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.