We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard so much fun, we went twice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf HNL

Surf HNL
1020 Auahi St., Building 4, Suite 4, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814 (Formerly Girls Who Surf) (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
+1 808-371-8917
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$83*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Have ever dreamed of you and your family surfing while on vacation in Hawaii? Get surfing today with our lessons at Surf HNL! We specialize in serving families and guests of Waikiki and Ko Olina, and those staying around Oahu. Each of our programs helps you access real open ocean surf. Surf HNL focuses on teaching: at uncrowded beaches, beginner surfers, intermediate surfers, athletes, children, families, and multi-lesson programs. Improve your performance and decrease the risk of injury with our fun and knowledgeable instructors. Advanced reservations are required.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hard so much fun, we went twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

It was a great experience for our 10 year old and 13 year old. I would recommend private lessons for kids at this age. Instructors were great! Erika and Nui the first day hooked us to come back, and Eric and Michael on the second day proved that this is a top rate service company.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    12
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ask for Stephanie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I couldn't have asked for a better experience. Stephanie, Chris, and Dan took amazing care of me and made sure that I not only caught waves, but also that I felt confident, comfortable, and totally proud of myself !!(which is quite generous, considering that Stephanie did all the work and made it ridiculously simple.) I'm looking forward to my next lesson!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great paddle boarding experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just want to say thanks to Steph, Katie and Nui for an amazing day paddle boarding! We had tried paddle boarding before and hadn't been able to stand up. After a lesson, we went out and got right up on our boards! What an incredible day! We had so much fun and would recommend these instructors to anyone who wants to learn to paddle board in an afternoon. We saw giant turtles swimming by us in the cove where they took us! Excellent instructors!!! Such a great day!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
“"Wonderful Experience & Instructor"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our 5 year old wanted to try surfing and "GWS" was one of the suggestions from our hotel. We signed up for the 9am session and Stephanie was the instructor.Stephanie was extremly knowledgeable and spend a great deal of time working with our little one on the shore before going into the water. Once in the water Steph had her on the nose of the board and she had a blast for the entire hour. They were able to hit a bunch of waves and expose our 5 year old to the world of surfing. "GWS" also snapped some great pictures for us to purchase. We will definetly be setting up more lessons with Stephanie when we are in Hawaii in the future and would highly recommend them and her for anyone looking for surfing lessons. Aloha!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“Great experience, wonderful instructor !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Wonderful experience, and great beach! This was my daughters first time to surf and she loved it so much we went back for another day. Brian was her instructor and he was awesome!! (We requested him the second time as well.). He was really good with her and treated her/ us like good friends vs just a customer.
Thanks again for the memories,
Eliska and Taige

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf HNL also viewed

 

Been to Surf HNL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf HNL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.