We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice folks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liliha Bakery

Liliha Bakery
515 N Kuakini St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96817-2202
808-531-1651
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 1,967 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Small eating area. Their famous Coco puffs were overrated. Large menu options. Staff were very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    70
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Outstanding baked items”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I were in Honolulu for a week, and a friend who was living there recommended this bakery. It did not seem to be located in any of the traditional tourist areas. However, we found that it was well worth visiting. The quality of the baked items was simply outstanding. We were there on a Sunday afternoon, and the bakery was crowded with locals. I took that as a good sign that it was something not to be missed. My wife really loved the cream puffs. If you are looking for some scrumptious baked items, you will like this bakery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“24 hours of choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A great place to snag a late-night sweet or something more substantial if the mood takes you. Definitely try the cream puffs from the baker and the butter rolls and banana pancakes from the diner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coco puffs are delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

It was overwhelmingly delicious. It was completely unexpected for me because I'm not much of a dessert person but I loved it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amazing bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Though we lived just up the road from the Liliha Bakery for a year, we never made it in to eat at the diner, only got stuff from the bakery. Even without trying the diner's food (which looked and smelled great) this is still a place we recommend to everyone. The creme puffs and coco puffs are probably our favorite, but everything we tried was awesome. Pre-made waffle batter was also noteworthy.
There's often a line, but the staff moves through the customers quickly, and its definitely worth the 5-10 minutes to get your order. If your just getting prepackaged or frozen pastries, you can also skip the line waiting to get the fresh stuff from under the counter.
The location is a little out of the way for many tourists, but its not far off of H1, and you don't have to go too deep into the smaller roads.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liliha Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Liliha Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liliha Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.