We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pancakes in Waikiki!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cream Pot

The Cream Pot
444 Niu Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI (Waikiki)
808-429-0945
Improve this listing
Ranked #661 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Waikiki
BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Pancakes in Waikiki!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stumbled on this place and decided to try it because it was not on the main streets and looked nice from the outside. We sat out on the deck, so the atmosphere was lovely and warm. The menu is not huge, but what they do make is delicious. My husband had a burgundy stew omlette and I tried the souffle pancakes with bananas and salted caramel sauce. WOW, best pancakes I have ever had! They were fluffy and light and the sauce was amazing. My husband also said his was delicious and definately the most unusual omlette he has ever had. Our service was efficient and we got our food faster than expected. We had to wait about 10 minutes for a table but the restaurant is not that big so this was not really a surprise. I will say the servers themselves seemed a bit chaotic and rushed, but this did not really have a huge effect on us, more an observation. We actually came back again the next day because we had enjoyed it so much. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    47
    33
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The best pancake that I've every had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stumbled upon this cute little place as we were staying in the building, and our host pointed it out to us. So on the first morning we were in waikiki we decided to check this place out. We waited for a table outside, which was really nice, but you can also enjoy the food on a long communal table as well inside.
We though the souffle pancake sounded good, so we ordered it, and it turned out to be the most fluffy and soft pancake that we both have ever had!! it was so delicious that we are still talking about it.
We also ordered a side of scramble eggs and we can tell that it was expertly prepared. The only item that we didn't think were so impressive was the pumpkin soup that was room temperature which we thought was slightly odd.
We also liked their house blend of ice tea that they infused with fresh fruit
Our waitress was really attentive. Overall it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silt, CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Cream Pot is a lovely hidden gem in Waikiki, just off the beaten path. The breakfast menu is incredible. Everything was just delicious. Takes a little longer after you order but it's worth it for the delights that you get. Souffle pancakes...to die for!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Cream Pot or Crap Pot?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Honestly it was a disaster! We waited 1 hour 30mins for a table!! Finally got 2 seats on a big table to wait another 20mins to get an order taken. They didn't have what I wanted but ordered something else. We waited another 30mins for our food which came without cutlery. Had to ask for this as apparently it wasn't recognized as a problem. I then asked for another cup of coffee & was told they'd be back soon...he took other orders & wandered around aimlessly but forgot. Asked again & he said "sorry I was very busy". There were about 7 waiters but they ran the place like there were 2! I had banana crepes & my husband had banana souffle. Nice but not worth the wait or bad service.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a great little gem. We arrived at 8 and there was no wait for a a table. We were seated at the community table like Le Pain Quotidien has, but we didn't mind. The iced coffee and dark chocolate with fresh cream were to die for. Souffle pancakes and eggs Benedict with ahi were also delicious. $50 for breakfast was a little high, but totally worth it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cream Pot also viewed

Honolulu, Oahu
 

Been to The Cream Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cream Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.