We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night in all vacation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Breakers Hotel to your Saves list
Breakers Hotel
250 Beachwalk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worst night in all vacation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night during a tour all around hawaii and had very bad experience.
Incredibly noisy aircon, strong smell of the nearby japanese restaurant kitchen, no light in the room. We probably get a bad room because of the short stay but this has been the worst place we have been.
Spend 30 dollars more and at least you will sleep without earplugs.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    68
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
46
43
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I can't believe that such a reasonably priced, friendly hotel is located right in the heart of the most over-priced, crowded section of Oahu. This was my first time to Hawaii and I can only say that Waikiki Beach is basically downtown Manhattan perched next to a beautiful ocean: very crowded (even though I was there in off-peak season, October) with lots and lots of high-priced stores, restaurants, bars, and hotels. The Breakers Hotel was a welcome relief as it is well-priced, has a kitchenette (so I could eat at a reasonable price), and is not a 35 story hotel (Breakers is two stories tall). The rooms were nice, Japanese style with the sliding doors and a patio, and hotel was quiet. My only concern is that the rooms were a little bit rundown, but I think this is easily understandable given the reasonableness of the price. I would definitely, without hesitation, go back to the Breakers on my next trip.

Room Tip: I had a room in the back, away from the front entrance to hotel which faces a relatively busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place is a real gem. First, the location -- it's perfect. About one block from the beach, one block from all the great restaurants, shops, bars & cafes of Kalikaua Avenue, and one block away from a major bus stop on Saratoga that can take you virtually anywhere on the island (such as Pearl Harbour). The hotel itself is run by a very friendly group of people who believe in keeping things the way they are. It's a low rise (two story) motel type property that reminds you more of the 60s. They even use typewriters at the front desk (I love it!). Our room was very clean, the lanai was wonderful, great pool ambience makes for a perfect place to relax and have a beer after a long day. This would be first choice to stay when we return next time. Even my 14-year old son raved about the place, so it's teenager tested! This place is a terrific choice compared to the many boxy high-rise hotels everywhere in Waikiki. I really really hope that they can hold on to the property and keep it unique for many years to come.

Shah Rukh says: They have a very nice Japanese restaurant on the property that serves fine food. Try it!

Shah Rukh's tips: The rooms on the second floor looking out to the pool have a really nice ambience, though they cost a bit more. Try to avoid the rooms toward the back of the hotel since it tends to get a bit noisy in the morning due to traffic on Saratoga.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a very charming small hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Waikiki feels like a large shopping mall, so it was nice to stay somewhere that felt family owned. The rooms are very outdated, but impeccably clean and the grounds are very nice. The staff was kind and helpful. Would highly recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syndey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. The rooms are good enough. Beds are comfortable showers strong and plenty of hot water and towels.

Our room 124 was next to the hotel restaurant which meant we got some noise in the evening but it was ok.

The AC is good but a little noisey better to use the fans and open the louvres

Close to all the shops, restaurants and beach without being in the high rises.

The grounds and pool are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you like family this is the place to stay. Regulars come back every year and it's easy to see why. I'm from Haw'aii and travel back annually to spend time with family. Oahu is known as the "Gathering Place" and this hotel is a wonderful place to experience that. It's a refuge in the heart of Waikiki. Lots of family's and friends stay there. You'll find them around the pool at all hours of the day. Although the rooms are comfortable, there's no internet and remotes to encourage you to stay in them. The kitchenettes make it convenient to prepare meals and drinks for family and friends to share in the pool area which has wireless connection. It's very relaxing. I stayed recently with my daughters and their friend for five nights and we all had a great time. The hotel design is Japanese as are many of it's guests, but that just adds to the exended family feel.
It's not perfect. Bath water can take a while to warm, parking is limited and it's a bit hard to make a reservation. However, the imperfections just makes the place feel more like a home away from home. Oh, and if you go, pay attention to the detail and care given to the landscaping. It's worth appreciating.

Room Tip: Get a room near the pool. A bit louder perhaps, but the lanai's overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The decore is dated, but everything else is phenomenal...

You won't find this kind of thing anymore, it's a sea of concrete in Waikiki... This place has a pool surrounded by 2 floor walkups... The only thing I'd see changed would be a little more soundproofing.

The owner of this place isn't interested in a property that generates maximum revenue, their interested in owning a place worth visiting :)

Room Tip: Get 'seaside' or 'coolside' (facing the ocean), preferably on the 2nd floor... The L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Hotel

Address: 250 Beachwalk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Breakers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Honolulu
Breakers Hawaii
Breakers Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.