We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Breakers Hotel to your Saves list
Breakers Hotel
250 Beachwalk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Syndey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. The rooms are good enough. Beds are comfortable showers strong and plenty of hot water and towels.

Our room 124 was next to the hotel restaurant which meant we got some noise in the evening but it was ok.

The AC is good but a little noisey better to use the fans and open the louvres

Close to all the shops, restaurants and beach without being in the high rises.

The grounds and pool are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    69
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
47
43
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you like family this is the place to stay. Regulars come back every year and it's easy to see why. I'm from Haw'aii and travel back annually to spend time with family. Oahu is known as the "Gathering Place" and this hotel is a wonderful place to experience that. It's a refuge in the heart of Waikiki. Lots of family's and friends stay there. You'll find them around the pool at all hours of the day. Although the rooms are comfortable, there's no internet and remotes to encourage you to stay in them. The kitchenettes make it convenient to prepare meals and drinks for family and friends to share in the pool area which has wireless connection. It's very relaxing. I stayed recently with my daughters and their friend for five nights and we all had a great time. The hotel design is Japanese as are many of it's guests, but that just adds to the exended family feel.
It's not perfect. Bath water can take a while to warm, parking is limited and it's a bit hard to make a reservation. However, the imperfections just makes the place feel more like a home away from home. Oh, and if you go, pay attention to the detail and care given to the landscaping. It's worth appreciating.

Room Tip: Get a room near the pool. A bit louder perhaps, but the lanai's overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The decore is dated, but everything else is phenomenal...

You won't find this kind of thing anymore, it's a sea of concrete in Waikiki... This place has a pool surrounded by 2 floor walkups... The only thing I'd see changed would be a little more soundproofing.

The owner of this place isn't interested in a property that generates maximum revenue, their interested in owning a place worth visiting :)

Room Tip: Get 'seaside' or 'coolside' (facing the ocean), preferably on the 2nd floor... The L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great location close to Waikiki. Convenient to numerous restaurants and shopping. Very friendly staff and clean rooms. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My son stayed here between the 23rd & 31 may as a cheap option. We did go check out his room & the staff also showed us other rooms
What we love. ...
The price. $130 for a single person in a ground floor room. 1xdouble & 1 xsingle bed. Shower sink & toilet. Kitchenette. Private courtyard. Tv. Small table n chairs. Drawers.

The position. Just behind the trump tower. Restaurants, abc & sandwich place within a few feet. Beach 2 minutes walk. Close to main strip.

The staff. ...friendly & helpful. Very homely feel.

The pool. Nice size with tables & chairs & loungers. Plenty sun.

It's just a 2 story old building. No elevators. Upstairs rooms have balcony overlooking pool. Downstairs rooms have year courtyards but most have a front door that opens to the pool area which is central.

On the downside...
Decor of the rooms is very tired. Clean enough tho. Feels old but not dirty. Rooms can seem a little dark. No air con. Portable fan.

It does depend on what u expect from your room. My husband & I think we may try it for 3 or 4 nights next trip. See if I can stop myself redecorating the room ! :).
My son said it suited his needs perfectly. All he needed was a shower n clean bed.

Worth considering.

Room Tip: We were shown a great room, perfect for a family or group of frends. Downstairs. Double bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Cool, unique, charming, retro. And yeah I agree, it really felt like a tiny oasis in the bustling neighborhood of Waikiki. After walking along the beach past the tall concrete hotels or spending the day shopping among swarms of tourists, it was such a relief returning to Breakers' calm sublimity.

Reasonably priced for a short stay at a well-run, clean and comfortable establishment. The management and staff were helpful and friendly.

We also liked the very local-flavored open-air front desk area with cute low entrance gate, endless flow of coffee, decent collection of left-behind books, and yes, a fat old cat (only saw one). Nice pool and area with a plump tree that provided shade in one corner. Didn't realize until the last day that there are inflatables (plus boogie boards) for use hidden under the stairs next to the tree. Inexpensive laundry facility with 1 dollar wash and dry (though we just hung our clothes out on the lanai). Free ice and wi-fi (unfortunately, only in pool area). Funky old TV with cable in the room. Room also had a safe but with a 2 dollar per night charge, which I wasn't aware of, or maybe I just didn't pay attention.

There's an ABC Store and 7-11 right across the street for things like booze, snacks and water. For real groceries, we took a bus to the mall and shopped at Walmart outside the mall (there's also a Foodland in the mall). Great little kitchenette with cool fold-down stove, and fully equipped cupboards made cooking convenient. Right across the street there was a decent Italian restaurant, which we tried, and a Japanese restaurant, which we didn't. On the same side of the street, on the other side of a parking lot towards the beach is a tiny ice cream, fruit and sandwich shop that's apparently been there forever. Delicious homemade ice cream and sandwiches. Everything (but drinks) is 5 bucks. But really, there are all sorts of dining options in the area, and bus stops conveniently behind the hotel. The restaurant at Breakers, Wasabi Bistro, which is independently owned, was too expensive and just OK. We tried the Rainbow sushi roll and an appetizer called Wasabi No. 1, kind of a crab cake. The white and mishmash (think outdoor furniture, faux columns and chandeliers) interior decor needs an overhaul.

Some minuses: our kitchenette drawers had an strong, old musty smell; maybe that's one of the drawbacks of staying in a vintage establishment. Also, not everything worked. Wooden blind shutters above the air-con was inoperable (would have been nice to open it up at night) and our toaster was dead. And the huge mirror next to the bed was disconcerting. Felt like a Japanese love hotel. Kinda creepy getting up half-asleep in the middle of the night to take a leak only to glance upon your dark figure in the mirror. Pillows were plentiful but flat and hard. Finally, while there were wash rags for the dishes, there were no sponges with scrubbers, which made cleaning pots and pans more of a chore.

Still, I'd recommend the place and will definitely consider staying there again. Wish they offered long-stay deals, though. It would make sense to do so, at least during the off season, as there were many vacancies.

Room Tip: Room in back heading toward rear gate and laundry room was quiet and large but didn't get much s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Most newlyweds choose the all-inclusives, resorts, or posh new hotels for their first (married) trip together. We did opt for mostly resort- style hotels during our stay in Hawaii, but The Breakers was our budget-friendly, mid-vacation break while we were in Honolulu.

For the two nights we were there, it was a great space in a great location, at a great price. It was also a great juxtaposition to trendy Waikiki.

The rooms (and showers!) are a great size. We stayed on the first floor, so our balcony/porch didn't have a great view, but who cares? A high-rise would have blocked it anyways.

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, especially the tubby cat on a leash who chases lizards around your feet while you check in.

It's a fun, kitschy, retro experience. Like stepping into a time warp back to the 60's, with digital cable boxes from the 21st century.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Hotel

Address: 250 Beachwalk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Breakers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Honolulu
Breakers Hawaii
Breakers Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.