We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
China Grove, NC
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

This was our first trip to Hawaii for our 35th anniversary. It was a great and eventfull vacation. I say eventfull because we were there for the earthquake and I guess this is what impressed us the most. The earthquake happen our first morning there. The power went out after the second shock but this didn't stop the hotel from operating as close to normal as possible. They lit up the stairs with glow sticks, the rooms with candles and made sure everyone had something to eat even the ocean front bar was open. To put this in the right perspective, the people from the fancy Hiton next door came over to our hotel for food.
During our entire trip the staff was always friendly and helpful both thoughout the hotel and in the resturants. We ate most of our meals at Koko's where they have serve your basic meals, nothing fancy but always good. We tried Biba's once but after waiting 20 minutes for our ice tea, we figured we would leave since we didn't want to see how long it took to serve a meal.
The rooms are your basic rooms, nothing fancy but everything in it was in good shape and kept very clean. The view was great, you could see the ocean or turn around and get a great view of the city.
The activities center will book any trip you want and at a great price. We did it for the tour of the island starting with the Arizona. It was a long day to travel aroung the whole island shore but it is a great way to see some places you would never think of seeing. Also highly suggest the Polynesian Culture center, but book that on your own and go for the super ambassador it is a lot more money but worth it with your own guide and front row seating.
All in all I feel sorry for the people that can't take advantage of this hotel, cheap rates and great service. If you qualify to go there do it.

  • Liked — Great price mixed with great location
  • Tips/Secrets — If you are staying in area do not rent car, too hard to find parking.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    657
    300
    74
    22
    13
See reviews for
360
406
30
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
OREGON
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

We stayed at the Hale Koa Hotel from Sept. 18 through the 26th. and could not have been more pleased with the accommodations. The rooms were very nice and roomy and we especially liked the private lanais where we sat watching the ocean every morning and evening. The staff was very friendly and helpful also.

Having the PX right there was also a plus and the activities office was so helpful at make arrangements for activities around the area. We toured the Pearl Harbor/Battleship Missouri combo tour and it was a very moving experience. We also took the Grand circle Island tour and really enjoyed that.

The grounds around the hotel are beautiful and it is just a short walk to the beach where they had all kinds of water toys to rent. We were there to celebrate our 50th anniversary and we had our whole family with us. Everyone of us enjoyed our stay there, We all attended the Luau and the Magic show which we thought were great. We also ate most of our meals right there at what we thought were very reasonable prices, we did try having a dinner in town and after that bad experience we decided we would just stay at the hotel for meals.

All in all it was a very great experience and we are all ready to do it again and we would definitly stay again at the Hale Koa. Our only regret is that we didnt do it years ago.

  • Liked — Close To The Beach
  • Disliked — Nothing To Complain About
  • Tips/Secrets — Just Go !!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

Hello. We stayed at the Hale Koa hotel Sept 22-28.
Like many others we have read the previous reviews and we have a few things to add or recommend. Do attend the guest orientation. You get a free Continental breakfast and get some insight to some tours that aren't covered in most travel guide books. Among other tours, we signed up for the Polynesian Cultural Center and opted for the tour bus ride to and from the site. (It's worth the extra $15 each you have a long ride home after a long day at the center). Our guide (cousin Pate, rhymes with Par-tay) was great.
We stayed on the ninth floor of the older tower. One thing we discovered was that there is a clothes washer and dryer ($1.25 each) down the hall. Had we known that we would have brought half the clothes. Laundry room opens at 6am.
Skip eating at the Koko cafe for dinner but go for breakfast, it's worth it for the buffet alone.
Service was wonderful. Please do consider leaving a $2 or $3 tip each day. The housekeepers work their tails off and they have a lot of rooms to do. Reception desk was helpful.
We were really surprised at the size and variety of items for sale at the mini-Exchange (Px). We were considering going to one of the military bases for gifts and other items but found everything pretty much right there. If you are wondering whether to bring snorkel gear (we did), they have a big selection right there!
Like most we were surprised that the rooms don't have a coffee maker. There is a coffee cart at the main level and they do a brisk business but we found the coffee rather weak.
If you want a good guide book for your vacation in Oahu we recommend 'Oahu Revealed' by Andrew Doughty and Harriett Friedman, published 2006. Don't know these folks from Adam but they have a great guide book.
If you go to the Aloha Statium swap meet (Wed, Sat and Sun)be aware that they do not haggle (or 'aggle in Monty Python speak). No fun!
Finally, wanted to say that overall we were very pleased with our stay at the Hale Koa. It truly is the best deal on the beach, probably on the island.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, great view
  • Disliked — No coffee maker, small refer
  • Tips/Secrets — Pack light...get a good guide book...forget dressy, go casual all the way
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2006

We stayed at the Hale Koa from Aug 25 to Sept 3rd and couldn't of been more satisfied. We went to Hawaii to celebrate our 25th anniversary, my son's 21st birthday who is stationed there and my youngest son's 18th birthday. The lobby is comfortable with sofas and chairs all out in the open looking over a magnificent banyan tree. Help was friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms are spacious and our balcony over looked the other high rises on the main streets and the mountains. Great rainbow one afternoon from our balcony! Refridgerator was dorm style. A Coffee maker in the room would of been nice but the coffee cart in the lobby was open at 5 am and was all we needed.

The gym was packed every time I walked by.
The pools were great. Lots of families use this hotel so kids all over.

A wedding was going on there every day at this hotel and sometimes several on the weekend. Very cool to watch.

We ate at Bibas - boring food, very mediocre, pricey for what you get. Koko's was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. And Happy's for quick snacks. The barefoot bar was fun at night with dancing on the weekends. Great drinks too! Lava flow my fav!

We went to the orientation breakfast (Muffins, pastries, juice and coffee...someone mentioned the coffee which I thought was fine) which I would highly recommend the first morning we were there. They give you insights and tips on tours and ideas of what to see at the best prices. Worth the 1 1/2 hrs! We booked 3 tours and LOVED THEM ALL!

Room had very comfortable beds. The PX is great for souvenirs. Best deals tho were at the Aloha Stadium flea market. A MUST. Loads of stuff for a fraction of the price. Get ready to barter. Also the NEX on the Navy base on Pearl Harbor. Bigger than any Base store I have ever been in.

Ist tour was the Home of the Brave Tour. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and a fantastic story teller. They take you to all the hot spots of the Pearl Harbor attack. Absolutely incredible tour!

2nd tour we booked to The Big Island. All day tour to see the volcano and lava flows. EXCELLENT Tour also! Went to the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Farm. 250,000 trees. Tour guide was excellent. Not cheap tho. About $250 a person but when will we ever see a real volcanoe was our theory!

3rd fun thing was the Atlantis submarine tour of the reef. EXCELLENT> It's 1/2 price for military people! Saw loads of sea turtles and other assorted fish. Just loved this.

We hiked up Diamond head - TAKE WATER. We hiked in the rain forest to Monoa falls. DO THIS! See bamboo growing and other very cool tropical things.

Next door is the Hilton and you HAVE to walk through it. The place is massive with a gazillion bars tucked here and there with singers singing Hawaii music. Largest resort on Waikiki. Loads of shops and restaurants. Nothing is cheap. Fireworks here Friday nights with fun stuff going on at the beach.

Best beach is past Bellows Fields at Lanikea. INCREDIBLE turquoise waters. Great for snorkeling. Sand like powdered sugar. Wonderful drive to get there. Backdrop of green cliffs. Too pretty for words!

Best view is a place our son took us too at Camp Smith. Go to the athletic field and you have a view up high over looking Pearl Harbor and downtown Waikii. You won't see anything like it anywhere on the island!


Make sure to drive up to the North Shore and eat at a shrimp shack. One of the best meals we ate our whole vacation! Get to Sandy beach and marvel at the daring people. Voted most dangerous beach in Hawaii and you will soon see why. Get to chinatown and watch the women make lei's.

We loved the Hale Koa. I'd much rather spend money doing and seeing things than on a hotel room . But you felt like a Queen staying here. Also the grounds are magnificent. Easy walk to Tony Romas, Cheeseburger in Waikiki, Kobo's steak. Parking across the street. THE BEST DEAL ON WAIKIKI!

  • Liked — The location, cost and satisfaction of previous people who satyed here
  • Disliked — none
  • Tips/Secrets — A gem on Waikiki!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, La
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a 2week vacation( 9 nights in Oahu and 6 nights in Maui). The hale koa was amazing. We booked the ocean front deluxe room in the Maile tower and it was great. Not the most luxurious room ever, but the view was fantastic! palm trees, beach, and ocean right in front our eyes! My husband and I enjoyed sitting on the lanai and watching the surfers, sail boats, and just taking in the beautiful water. And the price was the best part $160 a night (we paid $600 a night at the Ritz in maui and the view was not as good)

The grounds at the hale koa are really nice, lots of gardens complete with tropical flowers and tress. The beach at the hotel is wonderful, go early and rent a couple chairs and an umbrella from the stand to your left(its the only one) they give military discounts and give out buckets of ice to keep your drinks cold.

Things to do:
Pearl Harbor(very moving)
diamond head(prepare for a fairly exhausting hike, I whined the whole time!)
Hanauma Bay for snorkling
Mai Tai catamaran at sunset ( so fun and romantic)

Places to eat:
House without a key(great atmosphere!)
Dukes canoe club(very fun, good food)
Alan Wongs*****(expensive, but sooooo worth it)

All in all, I had a great time at the hale koa, for the price it can't be beat!

  • Liked — The location and price
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

The prior review was excellent, and I agree w basically everything stated, BUT it should be made clear that the Hale Koa Hotel is not open to the general public. Only active and retired military, plus department of defense persons, can reserve rooms. You have to show your ID in the restaurants as well.
But, if you qualify, go. It is an excellent value. (I had a massage out by the main pool and the woman working on me said, "This is the best deal on the whole island.") We had a family reunion with members ranging from 4 to 84 and everyone had a great time.
Donna

  • Liked — great ocean views from front tower
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Tips/Secrets — reservations must be made months in advance
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

We just returned from an 11 day visit to Oahu. We love the Hale Koa. We have stayed there many times before and we always enjoy it more every time we come back. We booked a year in advance and when we got there we were upgraded which was very nice. We love both pools and did a lot of relaxing this vacation. I have found from previous experience to buy most things at the post exchange that you may needespecially some souvenirs. Prices are great. The luau was good (we previously enjoyed Danny Couch) but the new singer was very good too. We loved the magic show and the food was very good. Staff was very friendly-- especially the waiters in KoKO's cafe. We enjoyed the meals at KoKo's Cafe . They are reasonably priced and nice portions. I would say the price is right for your stay in Hawaii--can't beat it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early. Make your reservations early for the magic show and luau also. We had front row seats for both--we booked them when we made our reservations.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Koa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hale Koa Hotel to your Saves list