We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
Save
You added Hale Koa Hotel to your Saves list
2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2004

The Hale Koa is the only place we will stay when visiting Oahu...the rooms, the view, the restaurants, bars all make for a wonderful, relaxing stay. It is like a honeymoon for us every time we stay and we highly recommend this hotel to all of our military friends and family. We also like to take advantage of the restaurants, exchanges and amenities at the other military installations on the island, such as Hickham's Sea Breeze. Enjoy, as we have, and relax!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    347
    89
    30
    14
See reviews for
426
455
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2004

We stayed at the Hale Koa for 7 days and really enjoyed our visit. The grounds are really pretty and there is a nice beach and picinic area. One day the naval band was performing in the lobby and that was really entertaining. It is a wonderful deal and it is nice that the military discount is extended to the families. You cannot stay anywhere nicer than this for the money and the staff is all very friendly. The hotel is beautiful and plenty of entertainment on the grounds. The rooms are clean but nothing special. All in all, you can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2004

We stayed at the Hale Koa in June. Everything was great! The Hotel personnel were courteous at all times. The room was great. Don’t miss the biking tour and rain forest tour. They were educational and entertaining! We will stay there again when we visit. If you qualify for the Hale Koa, you can’t go wrong staying there. Beach access was close. BX was really handy. We took advantage of the hotel visitor program that helped us plan where and what we wanted to do.

We enjoyed walking down the beach to the Shore Bird Restaurant at the Outrigger Reef Hotel for breakfast. We took advantage of the Entertainment book for Hawaii. It saved us several hundred dollars.

You can’t go wrong at the Hale Koa!

Scott Rumble

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2004

My wife and I stayed at the Hale Koa for our Honeymoon from June 9 - 18. We believe that we could not have made a better choice. We booked six months in advance and were only able to get a Ocean View Room, but when we arrived we were upgraded to an Ocean Front Room. The view from our bed was awesome. We stayed in the older tower. Our only complaints were that we had some ants on the dresser in our room and the bathroom could have used a little updating. Other than that, it was the perfect stay.

We loved eating at the Koca Cafe. One of the hostesses there even made a point of remembering our names. The service everywhere was great. The food was extremely reasonably priced. In almost every case, we both at for less than $15 (total) per meal. Room service was also reasonable priced, just don't expect dinner trays.

You could spend your whole vacation without leaving the property, it is that complete. We took in the Hale Koa Luau and the Magic Show. The Luau was okay, but the entertainment was a little cheesy. Evidently the host who replaced Danny Couch is fairly new, and he appears to be still perfecting hsi routine. The magic show was awesome. The magician, whose name I can't recall did a great job of appealing to audience members of all age groups. In fact, we got tickets to the Magic of Polynesia show that is playing at the Beachcomber by sitting in on a timeshare presentationi (a long story). Anyway, the magic of Polynesia tickets were valued at $40 each with no dinner. The Hale Koa show cost us $23 per person, plus we got an all you can eat buffet. We actually thought the Hale Koa show was much better.

There are tow pools. One for families, and one for adults only. It was nice being able to get away to a quiet place to swim and relax. Parking is only $4 a day for hale Koa guests. We rented a car a couple days to see the Island.

The bottom line is that the Hale Koa is a deal you cannot beat. I heard some say that you can stay at other hotels for a coparable price if you are above the rank of E-5, but I don't know why you would want to. No other hotel can offer all that the Hale Koa does for the price and convenience.

We spoke to several people who said that they tried to get into the Hale Koa, but it was full. That is the only possible drawback. It is har to get into for a reason, and now I know why. We definitely plan to come back and hope to experience a similarly great time.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2004

We've been to Hawaii 3 times and each time have stayed at the Hale Koa. It's definitely a great benefit for the armed forces. The staff is always friendly, the facilities are always beautiful, and you can't beat the price. The onsite PX is a definite plus. Hale Koa is the place to say when visiting Ohau.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Hale Koa on our honeymoon in late June/early July of 2003. It was the best honeymoon ever.

We were booked to stay at another hotel in the area which was very rude and very unhelpful...

We found the Hale Koa by accident and the staff was SO helpful. We honestly didn't think with it being fourth of July and all that there would be any rooms available... Well, Julie at the front desk helped us have the best honeymoon ever. We had the best view, we stayed in the new building, had our own private balcony in a corner room, overlooking the ocean. We were right over the gazebo and stage where they had the luau. We could leave our door open and hear the music. We watched several weddings from our room, it was so romantic.

The Hale Koa was more than awesome. The PX had everything and the prices were great. The staff was the best. Just sitting downstairs in the lobby reading the paper and drinking coffee or people watching was exciting. The resturants were top notch and everything was very clean.

We also thought the security was great. We knew that this was the best place on the island to stay.

For anyone to complain about not having a fridge or microwave is just ridiculous... it is called vacation for a reason!! You don't need those to have a good time...

We met great people at the pool, at resturants and at the luau.. Everyone was so nice...

We had such a good expirience that we were concidering moving to Hawaii, but because he is in the military it would have been hard for us!!!!

Well, I hope you get the picture and concider staying at the Hale Koa, I promise you will have the best time, we did. (And no we don't have a honeymoon baby!)

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2004

My wife and I decided to stay at the Hale Koa for our honeymoon May 21-28. This was the best decision of the entire trip. We stayed in a deluxe ocean view room in the newer tower. For the money it was an incredible deal compared to the Hilton Village. The room had a wrap around balcony and large windows. We also had a couch, mini fridge, and king bed. The decor was a little bright for my taste, but hey, you're in Hawaii. The room could have been a little bit bigger, but for the price on that room type I'm not going to complain. All of the restaurants on the property are affordable and reasonable. We went to the brunch on Sunday and it was great. We also used room service for breakfast most of the time and that was very cheap compared to any other room service I have ever had (no service charges!) Don't expect a cart or silverware, just a to-go box. Also take advatge of your military connection when they check you in and go to the PX to stock up on cheap beer/spirits/wine.

We spent half the time on the beach. If you know you will be out on the beach and need umbrellas and chairs, pre-pay so you get a price break. Be sure to hike Diamond Head, and the waterfalls by the university (can get muddy in places). Duke's Canoe Club and Roy's are good dining options. Beware of Paradise Cove Luau....very over priced and very crowded. Stay local or try Germaine's.

We also went to the Big Island and Maui. Be sure to bike down Haleakala......it is a rush, just don't make a wrong turn like we did! Not much to do on the Big Island except take an air tour of the volcano. Kind of a waste of the day, but where else can you see an active volcano.

All said and done we would return to the Hale Koa in a heart beat, but I think for our next trip we will stay on Maui and Kaui (more of what you think of when you say Hawaii, no big city)

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Koa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.