We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barefoot Bar ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Barefoot Bar ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We loved this bar right on the beach in sight of the Tuesday & Friday firework display. Drinks not cheap but the Guinness & cocktails were perfect. Food at the burger bar tasty & very cheap. Entertainment ok except for the rock/horror bank but it was Halloween .

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    658
    300
    74
    22
    13
See reviews for
360
406
30
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for 14 days. We enjoyed it so much we will be back, we had a garden ocean view room it was very nice and clean a small balcony with two chairs just perfect. The property was huge with gardens , flowers , picnic areas , two nice pools and also a small kiddy pool. Lots of staff and they were very nice for the most part any a couple grumpy ones. There was two snack bars and a beach bar with live music every night , local Hawaii singers very good and right on the beach for beautiful sunsets and the fireworks from the Hilton. There were two nice restaurant's and a few shops and a full exchange store. They had entertainment for purchase price most nights some for kids and some for adults. The beach was nice and the water refreshing there was a volley ball area and also a rent shop for water sports. This place had it all even a Army Museum . It is a short walk to town for shopping and local attractions it is also on the local bus and trolly routes a very good way to go everywhere. We enjoyed a very fun Halloween with family and friends in town what an interesting event. We will hang loose until we return:-)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I had heard good things about the Hale Koa but staying there surpassed my expectations. We had a room on the 11th floor of the Ilima Tower, which provided a very nice view of the gardens and the beach to the east.

For my wife, it was a great introduction to Hawaii ~ with the great ambience of the hotel, the beautiful stretch of sand, the entertaining luau, the friendly staff and the convenient commissary. We definitely look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Partial ocean view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hale Koa for 2 weeks in October. Everyone we dealt with at the hotel was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was great. We were on the 5th floor. The bed faced a wall of windows looking out on the ocean. We had a balcony that also had a nice view of the water as well as the park-like grounds. We also had a great view of the fireworks show. The Exchange onsite is great - souvenirs, food, etc. There was an adults only pool as well as a regular pool and kiddie pool. The adult pool was in a separate area and was very quiet. The Army Museum on the property was interesting (and free). The hotel location is great - right on the beach in Waikiki. There were travel/tour people onsite who were very helpful in arranging tours and giving information. Our room had a small refrigerator. The Koko Cafe served breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They had a breakfast buffet. They also had a salad bar for lunch and dinner. Also, on Friday/Saturday/Sunday nights they would have special buffet meals. And, the view, especially from the outside seating was great.

Room Tip: Look for rooms ending in 37 (i.e., 537) - had a nice view of the ocean. Also, if you can't fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Went to Hale Koa in Honolulu for the third time in August with husband, daughter & son-in-law for his 50th birthday (Hawaii-5-0!) and they got the ocean front while husband & I had ocean view. Perfect weather, perfect views. Good location, in the center of it all. Pretty grounds. Trolley stop out front and walking distance to downtown. They also have a tour desk and rental car desk. Still have to go back again to see the rest of what we missed the first 3 times around! Great price if you are eligible to stay.

Room Tip: Upper floor, near the ocean. Other side of building street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hale Koa for a few nights before traveling to Maui. Our experience was very good and we really had nothing at all to complain about. Unlike the reviewer prior to ours, we do not think that this hotel is a disgrace to the military. From the beginning when we checked in until the end when we checked out, all of the staff were very courteous and helpful. Our room was clean and nicely appointed. I can say that in my previous visits to Hawaii I have become accustomed to the outdated decor of many of the hotels here. I would not say that this is any thing to call a disgrace. The room decor and bedding were a little out of date but who really cares... we're in Hawaii to see Hawaii, not in Hawaii to see the Hale Koa. The grounds are spacious with lots of room to move around and well groomed. The two restaurants have average quality meals... the best thing was probably the breakfast buffet. I did notice that since we went after kids were back in school, the hotel did not seem to have any of the usual misbehaved kids that are often running up and down the hallways... it was very quiet. One note for those booking a room that "faces Diamondhead"...although your room may truly face the crater, there is a very good chance that you will be staring directly at the Trump Waikiki, with no view whatsoever of the crater. Overall we were quite pleased with oyr stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this wonderful area. Aloha

Room Tip: One note for those booking a room that "faces Diamondhead"...although your room may truly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii Kai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
599 helpful votes 599 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have been staying here off and on for over 20 years...so we know this property very well. We stayed here for 3 nights in early October 2013 on our way to Japan on a 3 week vacation. This is sadly what we found

Location is very good...right on Waikiki Beach, even if it is a bit west of the "main" action.

Guards checking id at the drive up gate, but yet, anyone can walk up the hotel from several other points. In fact, they allow non-patrons(no govt. id) to have drinks and food at the Barefoot Bar, etc. So, in fact, why bother?? Times are tough but "others"(no govt. id) should not be here, even if they charge a bit more for drinks or food. Are we "THAT" desperate? Bell staff held our luggage...either try to put a smile on your face or leave your job if it is that bad.

Check-in was about 1 hour before "official" check -in time. Could not go to the room. "Nothing" available or "cleaned" right now. Really...only ONE hour before check-in time and ALL the rooms are still dirty? We don't think so...

Went a had a drink at the Barefoot Bar. The "service" was bite your head off bad. Sat at one of the tables. The tables and chairs look SOOOO beat up and stained and bad. The paint coming off the tables. Pitiful Made one feel so dirty...nothing special here to celebrate that "first" drink on arrival in wonderful Hawaii. Cement floor area was dirty...garbage flowing outside the bin...yeah, memorable. But, I did get a paper umbrella in my drink :)

Go back to check in and finally got our room. Went up and we were located on the 2nd floor of the NEWLY renovated tower. (Ilima) One has to be kidding??? The floor is sectioned off behind glass as they liquated the other side for convention/conference rooms. The hallway was so freakin hot. The room was some VERY OLD outdated king bed antique room. NO SLIDING GLASS DOOR like almost ALL the other rooms in the hotel. One should be told of this and given a room discount, as it is a freak in the hotel room category. No window opened at all. Stained carpeting, old nylon thick comforter on the bed...wonder how many folks laid their luggage(or "other" items on this beauty)?
Bathroom was rather small and had no upgrades here, for sure. The tub drain plug sat on the tub bottom with some heavy chain...as if one was going to steal it. Cheap soap/shampoo. Hallway scuffs everywhere. Hardly any hangers in the closet.

Very nice exchange on site that has a wonderful selection of Hawaiian souvenirs, daily newspaper, food, drink, gifts, suntan lotion, cd's, etc. All reasonable.
Everywhere we went on property, the employees were rude...it was pitiful. Especially the Burger Shack next to the Barefoot Bar...NOT Happy's. The woman there should be fired. She ruined, my otherwise, delicious plate of nachos!

Restaurants not full, very limited menus, dirty floors and tables, pool had cement holes...the list goes on and on.

The price is definitely "right" at this hotel...plus there is NO tax or resort fee. But, the hotel has gone down SOOO much, I doubt we will stay here again, in the near future. Raise the rates, if needed. Clean up your act. The military folks deserve much better than this run-down hotel.

Not so good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Koa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hale Koa Hotel to your Saves list