We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome price !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome price !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

stayed here for the 3rd time and this was the best stay yet. got a better room this time and actually got to eat at koko cafe for the breakfast buffet. as usual, rooms are clean, awesome swimming pool, near the beach for a good price. checking in was a bit slow and location to the heart of waikiki is a little march. overall it was a very good stay and will stay again whenever we get a chance...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    656
    297
    74
    22
    13
See reviews for
358
405
30
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just read a bad revue of Hale Koa. Irks me. This place is great. Go every year, Last trip was Dec 2012. Loved the place, took my Dad who is Retired fed from Hamilton Air Force Base, and my wife .. Dad who is 87 and a WWII vet found old dudes to talk to year before, out by Gus the tree...Was here for Pearl Harbor Day and parade across the street....Met some Pearl Harbor survivors Great men and women... Going back for two weeks with my brother and his wife...In two weeks... This is Hawaii, Palm trees, Ocean Sunsets, Beer, Mai Tais and music. Yes the Hotel is seeing its age, BUT SO AM I. We rent a car and go every other day to someplace new. Great Beach Bar, Will be snorkeling again this year... First time I came here was in June of 1970, R & R from Bien Hoa RVN, stayed at a bungalow on the beach.. Came home alive and pretty much in one piece,,, I love this place see ya in two weeks... PS miss smoking cigars out by GUS**** John D

Room Tip: Ocean View is good get as high as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently took my two sons to Hawaii for a week, and being retired Air Force we stayed at the Hale Koa resort.

Our experience there was awesome. Great service by very friendly people. The amenities were very nice and the tours put together by the hotel were flawless.

The luau is second to none.

The only reason I am not giving an 'Excellent' rating is because the hotel is older and the age shows.

Thank you Hale Koa for a great week in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Even though I had a Garden View room, I had a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro,MD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I keep coming back to this resort because it is gorgeous, it has five restaurants, inside and outside restaurants and bars, two huge pools (one for adults only) nightly entertainment and the price is right.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on Ocean Front rooms. None of the rooms actually face the ocean, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have stayed in Waikiki several times but because we were at the mercy of the Navy, we never knew enough in advance to be able to make reservations at the HK. We admired the facilities though, and this year scheduled our week long family vacation well in advance. We booked two rooms. The rooms were spacious and had the views we were anticipating. The décor of the rooms was what you might expect from a beach hotel - comfortable but perhaps only slightly outdated. Bathrooms were a bit small, but everything worked great. Housekeeping was good (they skipped one of our rooms on one day). Restaurant were all great. The Barefoot Bar is one of my fav places in the whole world. (Although I think they could lose the TVs. Seriously? You're on the beach in Hawaii and there's a TV at the bar?) The activities desk was very helpful and the staff on the phones as we dealt with some scheduling snafu was extremely helpful as well. We enjoyed the luau. They have the BEST grounds of ANY hotel in Waikiki. This is a super value!! Criticisms: Lines at check in and out can be long and don't move terribly fast. Restaurant availability times seem a bit silly - they close for an hour? The adult pool closes at 8 - again, this seems random and inconvenient for guests. The gym is VERY small. Making reservations, as I stated above, can be tricky. Being active duty it's sometimes hard to know enough in advance to be able to get reservations for times when your service member is available. Peak times can book up to a year in advance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in the HK for several nights with our two grandsons, 9 and 7. Connecting rooms. The rates are wonderful. Some other reports on TA suggest security is a problem. There is a safe in every room, and if one is careful outside, just like any other big city, you're safe. The staff were courteous and very helpful. Since I am handicapped, I needed some extra attention at times and the staff anticipated my needs. Food in the hotel's restaurant is average, but handy. The beach is clean, the pools well policed and clean, too. Close to lots of activities and other restaurants. I rented an electric scooter (AAA Rentals) who delivered to the hotel and picked up. Took the island tour and it was perfect for the whole family. You should have no concerns about staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Even judging by civilian hotel standards this hotel is a very nice beach hotel, but it’s not 'perfect'. The luau is outstanding, I highly recommend it. The on site BX is super nice. The Koko Cafe is a decent place for breakfast. The Barefoot bar is cool & you can have your kids w/you there (no alcohol for them though). Nice little balconies on many of the rooms.

Some suggested tips for authorized users while staying at the Hale Koa:

- Be prepared for a slow check-in process and/or be prepared for incompetent desk staff

- Double check your room key(s) are coded correctly once you get settled in a bit (See below item)

- Hale Koa authorized guests can park across the street in the hotel's detached garage for $7 a day, but watch out for how the room key works as it’s your 'ticket' in/out of the garage via the garage's automated system. If the staff screws it up you’ll be stuck at the exit gate blocking traffic (no fun).

- Room thermostats. This bit us in the butt on the 1st night. I found out from the front desk at 0230hrs (after I got dressed and went down there) that thermostats turn themselves off when the sliding glass door in the rooms are not fully shut. We were roasting our rear ends off until I got that valuable piece of info.

- Do the complimentary ‘orientation brief’, which is done on everyday save for Sunday mornings if I remember correctly. Light continental breakfast served for free with a little mini Hawaii show and tour guide briefing that had some decent info in it. You’ll need your invite (see your check-in pkg). They also give away 2-3 ‘freebie’ tours to lucky folks who have their ticket pulled from the proverbial hat.

- Rent beach umbrellas, surf/boogie boards, chairs, kayaks etc right from the vendors on the beach around the Hale Koa. Don’t forget to tell them you’re military so you get the military rates.

Things we Didn't like:

- Front desk/Check in staff. Not enough staff and they totally botched our check-in. Ended up getting a personal visit from the night manager on night 1, at 2130-2200ish (we were trying to sleep) to ascertain whom we were and whether or not we were actually in the room. Mgr then phoned us back 15min later with more questions. Also, in-check person didn't properly code our room keys in regard to multiple areas but especially in regard to the on-site parking.... really created a mess the 1st time we tried to drive out of the garage.

- Street / courtyard noise that comes through your glass doors. You realize real quick that Honolulu is a big city and as such you can hear a lot of sirens all night long, trash trucks banging dumpsters, and ‘back-up’ beepers on vehicles…Really puts a damper on keeping the sliding door open all night.

- Koko Cafe for lunch or dinner. Terrible food for the $ charged. Way better places around for same or less $. Again, breakfast for about $10 per person or $14 for the buffet was decent enough that we did it multiple days, but the one dinner we ate there was so awful I felt completely ripped off.

- Snack bar located between the beach and the rear entrance of the hotel. It will keep you alive if on a slim budget, but just barely. With the exception of some pre-packaged salads it's all highly unhealthy / low-quality junk food.

- The fact they have no 'swap' area. So many military folks buy beach things (mats, towels, sunscreen, floaties etc), and then throw them away a few days later when they check out. This is wasteful, especially for lower ranking families struggling to vacation there in the 1st place. The Hale Koa really should offer some kind of ‘closet’ service for their guests.

- The tickets & tours hours leave something to be desired and the 1 lady we tried to interface with there was very rude and not very helpful. We found much better tips & activities advice here on Trip Advisor. Also, check out gohawaii.com for good info for the military vacationer.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view room worked for us even as 1st time Hawaii visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Koa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hale Koa Hotel to your Saves list