We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ewa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ewa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ewa Hotel to your Saves list
Ewa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 Cartwright Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ewa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently stayed at the Ewa Hotel in Waikiki....it is an older property but it was immaculately clean, and the housekeepers were super friendly and helpful..the only problem, no pool, but you are 1 block from the beach..also you are across the street from the Marriott which has numerous shops, so the location is superb......i thought it was great for the price, though the next time I go I will get a larger room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha Mimi C,

Thank you for your comments about our housekeepers. I will be sure to pass the comments along to them and I am sure that they will be thrilled. Hope you visit us soon!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    116
    79
    11
    23
See reviews for
51
83
71
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Van Alstyne, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The place was in a great location. Rooms were fine for the price. Nothing fancy but slept well in beds. Could use some updating. Front Desk staff were great. Pointed us to fine dining establishments and entertainment. Rented scooters and drove to see downtown Honolulu and Diamond Head.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha mjctex,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are in a perfect location. :-) Currently, we are slowly updating and refreshing our rooms. It is a slow process as we are now heading into the holiday season but hopefully will be done by your next visit!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at this smaller hotel recently and we enjoyed it. Although not fancy, it is clean, affordable, comfortable beds and the staff is very friendly - especially John at the front desk. Michelle, the senior housekeeping staff sees to it that the maids do their job. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel is very close to the beach - about a 2 miniute walk. It is also down at the quieter end of Waikiki Beach closer to Diamond Head. Still, plenty of hotels, restaurants and shops very nearby. We would definitely stay here again as it is affordable and you can even get a room witrh a kitchenette so that you can save money on eating out all the time if you so choose. My only negative comment is that it could use some renovations however some have already begun such as new carpeting - so hopefully they will continue upgrading some things such as the doors and some new wallcoverings. If you can overlook these things , which I'm sure they will get to, you will find it comfortable. Also it has a great roof top patio with a view of the ocean in between the surrounding tall buildings. We felt safe here as there is good security and the parking lot is patrolled. All in all a comfortable place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Aloha Zoedog46,

Mahalo Nui Loa for your great review. One of the best things about this property is that we are situated at what I like to call "the quiet end of Waikiki." :-) We are in the process of refurbishing and refreshing the property so hopefully when you come back, you'll see a very big improvement. I'll be sure to pass along your comments to Jon and Michele and I'm sure they will be very happy to hear that they've made your vacation enjoyable.

Thank you again,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Im not a hotel snob. Meaning i don't have to have egyptient cotton sheets and granite in the bathroom. All I need is cleanliness and affordability. Ewa hotel had all of these. I had a room with two twin beds with a kitchen/mini stove/refridgerator. Even though the beds were twins they were a lot more comfortable that where we stayed 5 nights previously (turtle beach hotel).
The hotel needs updating and there were lots of scrapes, dents and such in the walls. our outlet in the bathroom didn't work, but we made due. And come on now, how much are you really in your rooms while in Hawaii. The only thing I didn't like was that there was no safe in your room. however at the reception desk they had one in which they gave me the key too. the clerks stated that they do have them on order for all the rooms though. I paid $10 per day to park, but you can park for free next door at the zoo. The location was prime and Im really glad I stayed at Ewa hotel. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Aloha Tera4105,

Thank you so much for your great review of the property! We are currently in the process of purchasing new in-room safes and currently refreshing the guest rooms so hopefully by the time you visit us again, we would have that in place and those dents and scrapes have been fixed!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a whole week stay at this hotel in Honolulu. It is in the western side of Waikiki, close to the zoo. My hubby calls it the "back-alley" hotel as the entrance appears to be in an alley...nothing too pretty about it and seems to be in need of some upgrades (wall paper!) but definitely good value. It is very close to the beach, trolley stops for all 3 lines, restaraunts, fast food. Room was very clean and suprisingly pretty big. I was also surprised that it had a mini kichenette with a fridge, stove, sink and even dishes and cutlery! Definitely a place to brings kids. I am a little disappointed that wi-fi is not included...I would have liked it to plan for places to eat and rent a car, etc. Carpet was clean and relatively new, bed was very comfy but the wall paper needs to be replaced. Super friendly staff, who was available 24 hours and very helpful. Nothing fancy like a pool or restaurants or work-out gym but that's how they can keep the place price low. Overall ery positive experience and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Aloha YD01,

Mahalo for your review! We are currently refreshing all of our guest rooms so hopefully when you come back and visit us, we are better and definitely brighter! Aloha again!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I just returned from Honolulu and stayed at the Ewa for the first time. I enjoyed my week stay in September, 2012. The hotel itself is close to the beach for the surfers and swimmers. It is quiet and off the beaten track but close enough to the trolley stop to make it a great location. My room was very clean, but in need of a bit of paint and a door replacement for the bathroom. The hotel location is very quiet, and with the exception of noisy neighbors who I could hear talking clearly through the adjoining room door, until the wee hours one night, I had no complaints about the exterior hotel noise. The housekeeping staff are terrific but they started very early each morning vacuuming, which did not allow for sleeping in, so if you are an early riser, this would not be an issue. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for good value for a nice room with a kitchenette (two burners, a sink & fridge). No microwaves in the room though for reheating. They are available for an additional cost if you request one. The non stick frying pan was pretty rough but otherwise, a good set up. Bring your own spices & condiments, and ziplocks and you'd be good to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Aloha Runbambi,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are actually currently in the process of putting in microwaves in all of our Studio units (microwaves are already standard in our 1-bedroom units) and upgrading our cookwares slowly. Maybe the next time you visit us, this will be done!

I will definitely share your comments with the staff and I am sure they will be delighted!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel has the basic amenities that you need and is very close to the ocean. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful, taking time to give advice on sightseeing opportunities that went beyond the standard places. While replacing the locks on the doors, they provided security on each floor. They also provided lock boxes for valuables, because the safes in the rooms are to be replaced soon. The hotel posts quiet hours, and I slept very well without interruption or noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Aloha pianist12,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit ot O`ahu and Waikiki. I will definitely share your comments with the staff. I am glad you enjoyed yourself. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ewa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ewa Hotel

Address: 2555 Cartwright Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ewa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet side of Waikiki, Ewa Hotel Waikiki offers affordable, island-style accommodations just steps to Waikiki's diverse activities and entertainment including world-famous Waikiki Beach, Diamond Head, Kapiolani Park and the Honolulu Zoo. This charming hotel features an expansive rooftop sundeck where guests can soak up the warm Hawaiian sunshine or view spectacular Waikiki sunsets. Soothing pastels and rattan decor add tropical flair and island charm to the rooms. With our convenience fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Ewa Hotel Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. You'll also enjoy the 24-hour Front Desk, bicycle rack, and surfboard rack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ewa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ewa Hotel Honolulu
Ewa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ewa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.