We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Temecula, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

Just returned from a great stay at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We went to relax and that's what we did. I read many of reviews before booking this hotel and I'm glad that I did. When booking....(all hotels in Waikiki ) be sure to ask about construction. There is a lot and many hotels will not let you know unless you ask. The Outrigger was in the perfect spot and no construction. We rented the deluxe beach package every morning at 8:00am at the beach rental cabana. This costs $40.00 and includes two lounge chairs and an umbrella from 8:00 to 5:00pm. You can come and go all day. We were right on the ocean in the front row and it was well worth the money for the reserved space and location. We ate at Dukes, Chuck's Steakhouse, and the Hula Grill. Dukes bar was fun and the food was good. Chuck's was fairly average for the price. Hula Grill was incredible. It has great island decor and a limited menu but terrific food. Be sure to order the crab won tons and the shrimp scampi...they are excellent. There is also a small hidden deli to the far back left of the pool. It is down the walk and near the laundry. Great sandwiches for $5.00-$6.00. We found this and grabbed lunch at the "hidden" deli and ate on the beach. The food was great and we saved money so we could go for a nice dinner. We really loved the Outrigger. Excellent service and great location. I highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,547
    919
    232
    89
    36
See reviews for
787
1257
79
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

Stayed 11 to 19 Jan 2007. Excellent hotel on arrival we were upgraded from a ocean view room to an ocean front room on the second floor without asking. Room and bedding very clean had a great balcony in full sun all afternoon never needed to rent chairs on the beach. Complimentary everything tea, coffee, in room safe, bottled water on first day and even a daily newspaper. Must be one of the best hotels on the beach 4 star luxury but with a young and informal atmosphere, got breakfast included either in Duke's buffet or Hula grill. Prices for food and drinks probably about the same as Vegas i.e. pricy for US visitors but good value if your from the UK due to the exchange rate. The activities desk were excellent and we visited Pearl harbour on our 25th anniversary we will always remember what we did on that day! Also had a tour of the north shore (half a day) our guide Harry managed to squeeze everything in, including turtle beach where we were lucky to see one of the magnificant turtles sunbathing on the beach.
Flights were by Virgin on an airbus with on demand movies and TV, Hawaiin then flew us from LA to Honolulu rented a digeplayer for $15 (inc 2 headsets) good value as headsets for the plane TV (one film) were $5 each. Cabin crew on both airlines were excellent, previously had bad experience flying with Virgin but on this occasion everything was great and the crew could not have been more polite and helpful.




Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2007

The staff was wonderful. Very clean! You can call home for NOTHING on their phone whenever. They supply the postcards and postage. Very polite staff. Feel secure in the hotel. Center of attractions. Easy to get anywhere just ask for assistance. Beach is in back yard and beautiful. Can take surfing lessons, highly recommend no matter what age! I'm 49 and loved it. Took outrigger ride. Loved it. Reasonable. Sunsets are WOW! I had the cheapest room in the hotel and still had a beautiful view of the beach and Diamond Head volcano and the city. Always something to see. Can get a bus to almost anywhere for a reasonable price. Many excursions around the whole island from the hotel or very nearby. Oh, also a newspaper at your door when you get up every morning. Beds were very comfortable. Highly recommend. Also two boats come up on your beach to take you on a sunset sail or whenever. You never have to leave the hotel!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2007

We stayed here for a week over New Years. We had two city view rooms on the 8th floor. The rooms were big, clean and very nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable. The hotel staff was very accomodating, bringing us a microwave and replacing a tv that was bad. We had a problem with the internet connection that they worked on for two days. One room was on the cheesecake factory side. The roof top/fan was big and ugly but it was not really an issue for us. The walls were paper thin and this room had a very noisy family next door that was a real pain. Across the hall, in our other room, we never heard our neighbors. You could see the ocean/beach easily from the balconies in each room. My biggest complaint about this place was that the elevators were SLOW, and it was a pain having to use your room card to select the floor you wanted to go to. Hotel security seemed very diligent and did hallway inspections very frequently. We liked Hula Grill best, then Dukes, then Chucks. I know we were there at a very busy time, but it was difficult to enjoy the pool and beach because it was practically standing room only, If you didn't stake out a spot at 8:00 am you didn't get one. The hotel is nicely located across from marketplace and night time street performers. It is an easy walk to many restaurants. We had spent a week ocean front at Maui prior to our arrival in Oahu and the change to crowded, and busy was tough. We should have started with 3-4 days in Oahu and then spent the next 10 in Maui. If we go to Oahu again we would stay out of the City.

  • Liked — good restuarants on site
  • Disliked — elevators
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

Stayed at Outrigger Waikiki Dec 28 - Dec 31....Deluxe 1 bedroom suite. Stunnign view of beach and Diamond head.

We were amazed at how fast they get you and your luggage out of the car and check in was not even a 5 minute wait.

Room was large, clean and comfortable. All the staff we encountered we very friendly and welcoming

Our original plane was cancelled becauseof weather and they were very responsive in working with our new dates. I could not have asked for more.

Beach wasn't too bad during the week but the weekend was extrenely busy for space.

Dukes had a good breakfast. Wasn't to happy with the camera place downstair to develope film thought the gaged it dark so I would upload pictures at night from computer to Ritz in the Sheraton next store and pick them up later. Photo Album was complete before arriving home.

Would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Feeling welcomed
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh,pennsylvaina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

my husband and i stayed at the outrigger waikikki on the beach ln feb 2006 we had a super saver room but we had no complaints this hotel is gorgeous and is home to dukes canoe club great food!! the rooms are kept extremley clean and the maids are the friendliest i have ever seen. our room was just what we needed not to big and not to small with a wonderful little lanai which had a partial ocean view and city view beautiful at night!! I would reccomend this hotel to everyone that is going there. my husband an i renewed our wedding vows on the beach at there sister hotel just a block away from this hotel and we recieved a beautiful certificate that was signed by the hawaiian priest what a beautiful ceremony and it was complimentary!! If you go you will never want to go home!!!

  • Liked — close to beach and shopping and evening events
  • Disliked — there was nothing that i did't like
  • Tips/Secrets — walk around and find the little out of the way shops and find hawaiian shave ice
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

We stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki from December 13 through December 18th. We reserved 2 City View Rooms and had 1 child, 1 teenager, 1 senior and 2 adults staying here. I would not recommend it. I saw none of the Aloha spirit that I read in the guidebooks. We were not made to feel that welcome. The person who checked us in was not very friendly and was on the phone most of the time while he checked us in. One room was painfully smaller than the other room and it was hard to get any hot water. My friend who stayed there had much larger rooms, not sure how they pick and choose who stays in what room. The complaints about the slow elevators are true! They have 1 set of 3 elevators and if it was any busier during our stay we would have had difficulty getting one. It was very apparent on our last day when the busy Christmas rush was just arriving. Also, the walls ARE paper thin. Staff are not welcoming or helpful.

  • Liked — On the Beach
  • Disliked — Mediocre Hotel, more like a 2 star
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the Hyatt down the street and get the free breakfast
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.