We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another day in Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Marina Del Rey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another day in Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We travel all over the world and stay at some of the nicest hotels. However, The Outrigger on Waikiki is our favorite hotel as it is outstanding on every level. The rooms are beautiful and the view is spectacular. We go to sleep to the soothing sound of the waves and wake up to the same sound! We probably spend more time in our rooms at the Outrigger because of the amazing view (we always ask for the Diamond Head side), sip champagne mimosas on our bacony in the morning and have a mai tai before dinner in the evening and just enjoy at night. The Outrigger also has several amazing restaurants that we love and eat there every day of our 7 days trips. Duke's is right on the water and has the best sushi, calamari, mahi mahi and mai tai's on the beachfront. Always just a fun place you can walk in a bathing suit and sit and enjoy the open air ambiance. The Hula Grill located upstairs is beyond description.....the food is a culinary delight .....some of the best dishes in the world. As soon as we step off the plane all we are thinking about is Duke's for lunch and the Hula Grill for Dinner. You can rent umbrella and chaise lounges right in front of the hotel, a beautiful pool and jacuzzi and the most friendly staff we have ever met. There is a reason that they are one of the most successful hotels on Waikiki and the reason that people keep coming back. We were there six times last year.......our paradise!"

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    1,094
    273
    102
    42
See reviews for
969
1,489
91
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (949)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki from February 18th to the 25th. For the three days prior we stayed at another hotel. On the day we checked in we walked over from the other hotel at 10:30 am. The staff were amazing. We were able to check in and we got a room which they upgraded us to a partial ocean view for no fee so by 11:00 am we had our room and we were on the beach soaking up the sun.
The hotel is in a great location right on the beach and in the middle of all the action in Waikiki. The staff are very friendly and very accommodating. You are able get towels and beach mats for the beach. The pool was good and we were always able to find a spot even though it was busy.
The rooms are spacious and very clean with free internet in the room.
The hotel provides a hospitality room for getting all cleaned up if you are leaving later in the day to the airport.
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Our entire experience was awesome and we will and are coming back to stay at the Outrigger Waikiki.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

The Outrigger Waikiki can't be beat for location (right on Waikiki Beach), price (especially compared to the Royal Hawaiian and Moana Surfrider which flank it on each side), and friendliness and efficiency of the hotel staff. We have come to this hotel over 30 times in the past 20+ years and wouldn't consider staying at any other hotel in Waikiki. There are endless restaurants of all kinds and prices within walking distance, and right across the street is the International Marketplace--a casual shopper's paradise. The Honolulu Zoo and Aquariaum are a short walk down toward Diamond Head. If you go during the winter months, you are sure to see many friends who also stay there at the same time every year. The Outrigger staff knows how to make you feel really welcome, and you too may become "hooked" after one visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

absolutely amazing resort hotel. we were treated with respect and luxury from the moment we stepped into the lobby. the staff was friendly and professional, the rooms gorgeous.. PERFECT!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

The Outrigger on the beach was a great hotel in a convenient location at a very good rate. We arrived late in the evening on Christmas day and the hotel was completely sold out, so the first night we did not have the room we requested, but they did move us the next night. That was frustrating for the first night, but it does happen and we got such a great rate ($159/night between Christmas and New Year) that I didn't complain. The room we had for the remainder of the trip had a terrible view, but it was good size, the beds were very comfortable, the free internet access worked flawlessly; maids were efficient and accommodating with requests. Water pressure in the bathrooms was good. The on-site restaurants are excellent, locals hang out at the bar, great drinks too – I haven’t had a decent Mai Tai since! The back of the hotel sits directly on the beach - the front of the hotel is right across from the international market where you can find great deals on souvenirs. We bought so much I shipped some stuff home; there is even a post office in the international market.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Hotel is nice with great restaurants and good beach location, but rooms are way too noisy making it nearly impossible to sleep in without being woken up multiple times (we were on the sixth floor). Was interesting to read similar complaints.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We celebrated our 52nd wed anniversary in Honolulu staying several days at Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach - it was a glorious stay - We paid a little more for our ocean view room which opened out to the most beautiful view and surf sound below our balcony - We wanted a direct beach contact. Wonderful pool with plush towels and nice attendant. . Duke's breakfast and bar and their staff were outstanding in the open to the ocean dining rooms; the rental chaise/umbrellas made it so comfortable to be on their sunny beach or the hotel's chaise lounges located on their sunny palm shaded patio which was no charge- and the catameran and outrigger canoe rides plus surfing lessons available there were sooo fun and reasonable - All staff were so nice and enthusiastic - Food/drinks pricey but very tasty and presented beautfiully. Our room was very comfortable, clean and roomy. "Delight" at the registration desk was extremely charming and helpful. She made our stay in paradise perfect! A suggestion would be to do breakfast/room rate combination if eating at Dukes. It was very convenient to see the Society of Seven entertainment in the hotel's theater. Great energy and music. Our room offered balcony sitting and solitude for reading and TV and the beach and other amenities offered a fun time. Nice time all around. Just what we wanted - GREAT HOTEL ON THE BEACH

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.